Results 1 to 6 of 6

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    CPU speed is changing to defualt settings after bootup

    I recently installed my Maximus Rog X Code into a new case with a new AIO liquid cooler (NZXT X72). Once completed, I clocked my i7 8700K to a stable 5.1GHZ @1.34 volts, just like its been the past year. My cpu boots and idles between 21c and 26c and on full load maxed at 60c. Yes its delided and has been so since Jan of last year . The problem I am having is that everytime I reboot my PC, it defaults back to 3.7ghz, this according to Dual Intelligent processor, core temp, CAM software and CPUID. Dual Intelligent Processor 5 seems to think that it is running at 5.1ghz but whenever I run a stress test on the CPU, it will not surpass 3.7ghz. If I reboot my PC into bios, it shows that its running at 5.1ghz, and when I saved the settings in the bios as is, then it boots back to the overclock settings at 5.1ghz and runs well. Its not until I start the computer to windows normally from a shut down that it defualts back to 3.7ghz. I'm not sure why this is happening but its bugging me. Can anyone help with this please?

    Troy
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos CPU clock.jpg  

    CPU clock1.jpg  


  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Looks like I got it resolved just by clearing CMOS.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Crap! It happened again

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Well its working again, and it was most likely my fault. I did not saved the settings in the bios so that it boots from the saved settings.

  5. #5
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Check your windows version and microcode updates. If you are on 1809 and all updates you should be good. There’s one point on 1803 after a microcode update that no matter what you set the OS over rides it.*

    Point two, are you using the BIOS or AI junk to OC?**It’s OK to look at things but too buggy to make BIOS writes with. Just make notes of your settings and go into the BIOS and apply your OC there. Software OC, regardless of which, is not a reliable option. I actually had AI junk brick a M8E board. Had to buy two replacement ROMS and flash them outside of the machine to get it going again.*

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Yup, set on 1809 and have all updates. Didn;t use the AI suite software to clock, just to monitor. Went straight to BIOS and did my clock from there. So far, I have had a few successful startups with out a hiccup.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •