Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    ASUS Maximus XI Apex - M.2 / DIMM.2 Questions

    Hi there,

    so two days ago I received my M11A Board. Before I was using the M11H so it was just a swap.

    I am using one M.2 NVME SSD (Samsung 970 Pro) and the only way to use one on the M11A seems to be through the DIMM.2 Module.

    My question is - is the DIMM.2 Module on the M11A wired to the CPU or to the PCH? Because if it is wired to the CPU wouldn't it decrease the available PCI-E Lanes to the GPU as there are only 16 available - making the GPU just run @ PCI-E 8x?
    The manual does explicitly say so, though hwinfo and gpu-z report my GPU using PCI-E 16x.
    I am thoroughly confused.

    Is there a wire diagram for the M11A like there was for other ROG Boards in the past?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Sorry I cant help but, where did you buy thr board. Im looking for this board since 2 month. refreshing google last 24h pages and I cant find it.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Interesting. Looking at the Specs page of Apex it says the DIMM.2 module uses "PCH_DIMM.2" so maybe it uses the chipset lanes not CPU lanes? That's different compared to the Gene and Extreme where it says "CPU_DIMM.2." Hence, GPU-Z still displaying x16 for your GPU.

    And yeah, care to share where you bought the board?
    Last edited by jelome1989; 01-17-2019 at 12:26 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Bought the board at the german etailer mindfactory for around 360€

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by jelome1989 View Post
    Interesting. Looking at the Specs page of Apex it says the DIMM.2 module uses "PCH_DIMM.2" so maybe it uses the chipset lanes not CPU lanes? That's different compared to the Gene and Extreme where it says "CPU_DIMM.2." Hence, GPU-Z still displaying x16 for your GPU.
    Yeah that's really confusing. Especially because the manual does mention the opposite...

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Damn, lucky you guys. Hope it gets available in Newegg/Amazon before the month ends.
    Looking at specs page of Apex

    Intel® Z390 Chipset :
    1 x ROG DIMM.2 Module support(PCH_DIMM.2), with M key, type 2242/2260/2280/22110 storage devices support (SATA & PCIE 3.0 x 4 mode)
    1 x ROG DIMM.2 Module support(PCH_DIMM.2), with M key, type 2242/2260/2280/22110 storage devices support (PCIE 3.0 x 4 mode)

    It's clear that it uses the chipset lanes and GPUZ confirms it so the manual is probably wrong then.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by jelome1989 View Post
    Damn, lucky you guys. Hope it gets available in Newegg/Amazon before the month ends.
    Looking at specs page of Apex

    Intel® Z390 Chipset :
    1 x ROG DIMM.2 Module support(PCH_DIMM.2), with M key, type 2242/2260/2280/22110 storage devices support (SATA & PCIE 3.0 x 4 mode)
    1 x ROG DIMM.2 Module support(PCH_DIMM.2), with M key, type 2242/2260/2280/22110 storage devices support (PCIE 3.0 x 4 mode)

    It's clear that it uses the chipset lanes and GPUZ confirms it so the manual is probably wrong then.
    Yeah, the manual does seem to be very "generic" on several topics, guess ASUS does need some "Manual QA" ;-)

    By the way, great Board. First Board where I could just load up the XMP Profile of my DDR4-4400 RAM and call it a day - impressive so far. Further tweaking in the upcoming days.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    hi,

    just want to confirm: if I want to use m.2 nvme drive on apex, I cant have 4x dimms installed?

  9. #9
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by crossbone View Post
    Hi there,

    so two days ago I received my M11A Board. Before I was using the M11H so it was just a swap.

    I am using one M.2 NVME SSD (Samsung 970 Pro) and the only way to use one on the M11A seems to be through the DIMM.2 Module.

    My question is - is the DIMM.2 Module on the M11A wired to the CPU or to the PCH? Because if it is wired to the CPU wouldn't it decrease the available PCI-E Lanes to the GPU as there are only 16 available - making the GPU just run @ PCI-E 8x?
    The manual does explicitly say so, though hwinfo and gpu-z report my GPU using PCI-E 16x.
    I am thoroughly confused.

    Is there a wire diagram for the M11A like there was for other ROG Boards in the past?

    Thanks in advance.
    The Apex DIMM.2 slot is wired to the PCH, not CPU PCIe.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array gogo974 PC Specs
    gogo974 PC Specs
    Motherboardrampage v extreme
    Processor5930K
    Memory (part number)G SKIL RIPJAWS 3000MHz 16 GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA TITAN X HYBRID
    Graphics Card #2EVGA TITAN X HYBRID
    MonitorROG PG278Q
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 850 PRO
    Storage #2SAMSUNG 850 PRO
    CPU CoolerCORSAIR 110 GTX
    CaseCORSAIR 900D
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AX 1500I
    OS WINDOWS 10 64B

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    50

    Quote Originally Posted by Special-Kthx View Post
    Sorry I cant help but, where did you buy thr board. Im looking for this board since 2 month. refreshing google last 24h pages and I cant find it.
    tu trouve case king alemagne j ai recu la mienne

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •