Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array BJBBJB PC Specs
    BJBBJB PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-2666C15Q-32GRR
    Graphics Card #1GTX560
    Storage #1Samsung Pro 950 SSD
    Storage #2Multiple Seagate Barracuda Drives
    CaseAntec P182
    Power SupplyEnermax Modu 82
    Mouse Logitech MX Master Wireless
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 5.1
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    Finally updating bios and drivers for Hero VIII - Microcode and update questions

    I have been very slow in updating my motherboard bios and drivers but I need to get to the most recent windows 10 Pro build so want to do it right. I have not yet updated for the Intel Microcode CPU issue either.

    I am running windows 10 64 bit pro with a Samsung NVMe SSD boot drive and various mechanical hard drives.

    I have notes from way back when I set the board up that the prevailing wisdom at the time was I did not need to install the INF update (chipset update) and RST or ME Management Engine drivers. Is this still the case or due to the microcode issue do I need to install them? No RAID, just regular SATA drives.

    What is the correct install order to make sure all goes well give the microcode issue? Same as normal? So usually I would do this:
    -Update bios - what is preferred method now? Still need to rename, etc?
    -Used to do chipset and ME, etc. but again....with this board and Win 10 was told not needed for a non-Raid SSD boot drive? Correct?
    - Intel Rapid Storage Technology Driver software?? Need this?
    -Ethernet
    -Realtek Audio driver - The most recent download just says driver...not sure if it includes sonic suite utility? I had conflicts with old version and Premier Pro that I do not think are fixed anyway. So I just close it but thought it came with the driver?
    -Video driver direct from NVIDIA

    The input from this group is most appreciated especially in relation to the microcode thing. I saw one of the bios versions said to install the new ME along with the new bios for the microcode fix. Do I assume correctly you HAVE to do the fix and take the performance hit?

    I love the ROG equipment and this is my second ROG board. I just leave things alone when they "work" and now, I need to do all of this at once.

    Thanks!
    BJBBJB





    -

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array BJBBJB PC Specs
    BJBBJB PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-2666C15Q-32GRR
    Graphics Card #1GTX560
    Storage #1Samsung Pro 950 SSD
    Storage #2Multiple Seagate Barracuda Drives
    CaseAntec P182
    Power SupplyEnermax Modu 82
    Mouse Logitech MX Master Wireless
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 5.1
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    Any help would be most appreciated. This forum has been so helpful since I went all ROG.
    BJBBJB

  3. #3
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,859

    Update BIOS however you need to for your board. If you do it in the BIOS no rename necessary, if using flashback it has to be named specifically to your board on a fat 32 formatted stick with nothing else on it.*

    As for install if you aren’t using raid you don’t need IRST. The chipset however is always needed and should be first followed by MEI. Then whatever. I like starting with the heavy stuff first like GPU. I’ve never heard of not installing chipset drivers. That leaves you to the mercy of M$ which may not be the best option and performance can suffer tremendously. *If you want to use the latest 1809 it’s best *to just go with the new microcode with both the BIOS and OS. It’s been improved since it’s first iteration.**
    Last edited by JustinThyme; 01-21-2019 at 05:10 AM.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array BJBBJB PC Specs
    BJBBJB PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-2666C15Q-32GRR
    Graphics Card #1GTX560
    Storage #1Samsung Pro 950 SSD
    Storage #2Multiple Seagate Barracuda Drives
    CaseAntec P182
    Power SupplyEnermax Modu 82
    Mouse Logitech MX Master Wireless
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 5.1
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    Update BIOS however you need to for your board. If you do it in the BIOS no rename necessary, if using flashback it has to be named specifically to your board on a fat 32 formatted stick with nothing else on it.*

    As for install if you aren’t using raid you don’t need IRST. The chipset however is always needed and should be first followed by MEI. Then whatever. I like starting with the heavy stuff first like GPU. I’ve never heard of not installing chipset drivers. That leaves you to the mercy of M$ which may not be the best option and performance can suffer tremendously. *If you want to use the latest 1809 it’s best *to just go with the new microcode with both the BIOS and OS. It’s been improved since it’s first iteration.**
    Justin,

    Thanks! I appreciate the input and will probably just do the bios update from the bios itself. Then Chipset, Intel Management Engine Interface Driver, Video and so on.

    I don't recall what the story was on the chipset drivers back then, I too always did it in the past and certainly will now. Who knows, I may have done it since then, but regardless is old!

    I know some bios updates are notorious for losing settings....I always document current settings but is this series of updates pretty good at keeping prior settings? Or do you need to reload?

    Thanks again,


    BJBBJB
    Last edited by BJBBJB; 01-21-2019 at 03:59 PM.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array mdzcpa PC Specs
    mdzcpa PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero XI
    Processor9900k @ 5.1Ghz All Core 1.315v AVX -2
    Memory (part number)Gskill GTZ 4133 C17 32GB (4x8GB)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 2080 TI OC
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorROG PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro M.2 512GB for OS & APPS
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro M.2 1TB for GAMES
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CasePhanteks Evolv X
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 1000W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Corsaur VOID Pro
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Wide Desk Mat
    OS WIN 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys VELOP
    Accessory #1 ROG 751JY Laptop for Moobile Gaming
    Accessory #2 Koolance EXC-800 Chiller
    Accessory #3 25+ years of overclocking

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    75
    Posts
    792

    I agree with JustinT comments:

    Update BIOS through board
    Load Win 10
    Chipset
    MEI
    LAN
    Audio/Video/etc

    Take note of your BIOS settings. They will not be saved.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array BJBBJB PC Specs
    BJBBJB PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-2666C15Q-32GRR
    Graphics Card #1GTX560
    Storage #1Samsung Pro 950 SSD
    Storage #2Multiple Seagate Barracuda Drives
    CaseAntec P182
    Power SupplyEnermax Modu 82
    Mouse Logitech MX Master Wireless
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 5.1
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    Quote Originally Posted by mdzcpa View Post
    I agree with JustinT comments:

    Update BIOS through board
    Load Win 10
    Chipset
    MEI
    LAN
    Audio/Video/etc

    Take note of your BIOS settings. They will not be saved.
    Thanks. I assume since I am just doing a windows update.....although a major version number jump one and using the MCT, I would do the Windows update last?

    BJBBJB

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •