Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Stuttering issues with second 1070 TI after RMA'ing first one

    Hello all,

    I created this account to post about this issue as I am now at a loss as to what to do.

    I bought an ASUS Strix 1070 Ti about 7 months ago and was disappointed with its performance in general and experienced a couple of significant issues. I was experiencing stuttering during game play with frames dropping to single digits for a second. This happened frequently enough to not be acceptable. I also experienced several crashes with blue square artifacts being displayed all over the screen.

    I tried everything I could find on these forums where people were experiencing similar issues and nothing fixed it. Sometimes things would seem to improve but then the next day back to stuttering.

    People were saying that my old CPU was probably throttling etc. so I even went as far as to upgrade Mobo, CPU and RAM and the experience was the same.

    Eventually after a month of back and forth with the tech support I managed to get an RMA number, sent the card off and very quickly received what I assume to be a new card in the mail.

    Oh repair report stated the Problem/Symptom was : “Garbage or crapped display with all output ports when boot up” Action : “RMA service policy direct credit/swap & no repair.”
    So I am also assuming that the card was indeed defective and they sent me a new one.

    While the new card does seem to be better and more stable, I am still experiencing the primary and most frustrating issue of stuttering in games, which otherwise would be lovely and smooth with a high frame rate.

    I took a screenshot of Assassin's Creed Origins with the performance overlay to illustrate the problem.

    I am open to the idea that I am doing something wrong and am able to fix this on my end but I do not know what to do at this point.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos Frame Drop 1070TI.jpg  

    Frame Drop 1070TI(2).jpg  


  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array panzlock PC Specs
    panzlock PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS X553M, ASUS Zenpad 10 Z300M, ASUS X542BA-DH99
    MotherboardASUS P8Z68-V LX, ASUS Z170-A, ASUS ROG Strix B350-F Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i5-2500K, Intel i7-6700K, AMD Ryzen R7 1700
    Memory (part number)8GB Kingston 1333MhzDDR3 C9, 16GB G.Skill Aegis 3000Mhz DDR4 C16, 16GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200Mhz C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 560Ti, ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1070 O8G OC, Sapphire Nitro+ RX Vega 56
    Monitor32" INSIGNIA 720p, 32" Samsung 1080p C32F391FWN, 32" ASUS 1440p VA32AQ
    Storage #1Seagate 150GB 7200RPM, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB 2.5" 6Gb/s Solid State Drive (X2)
    Storage #2Seagate 500GB 7200RPM, WD Blue 3TB - 5400 RPM SATA 6 Gb/s 64MB Cache 3.5 Inch
    CPU CoolerDeepcool GAMMAXX 300, Deepcool Lucifer V2, Wraith Spire
    CaseAntec Sonata, Deepcool Dukase V1, Deepcool Dukase V3
    Power SupplyATX 650, EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2 (X2)
    Keyboard Logitech K220, MSI Interceptor DS4200 (X2)
    Mouse Microsoft 1850, Microsoft 4500, Gamdias Erebos LE, MSI DS 100, Redragon M601 Centrophorus
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z313, Logitech Z506 (X2)
    OS Windows 10 Home X64, Windows 10 Pro X64 (X2)
    panzlock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    702

    What are your other specs? Are you using an SSD?

    What are system temps? Anything (CPU, GPU) being severely throttled?

    Windows 10? What version? I heard some versions caused stuttering.
    I'd like to deploy my troops in her country.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Hey, thanks for the reply.

    Windows 10 Professional (x64) Version 1809 (build 17763.253)
    Board: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. PRIME X370-A Rev X.0x
    CPU: 3.85 gigahertz AMD Ryzen 5 2600 Six-Core
    CORSAIR - Vengeance RGB PRO 16GB 3000ghz
    Intel SSD and TOSHIBA HDWD130 standard hdd

    Including screen shots of cpu and gpu temps etc. while Assassin's creed is running.

    Also want to note that while I was waiting on the RMA I went back to my EVGA 980 with everything else the same and it was perfectly stable, no stuttering whatsoever.

    Thanks again.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos gpuz screenshot.jpg  

    cpu temp.jpg  


  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array panzlock PC Specs
    panzlock PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS X553M, ASUS Zenpad 10 Z300M, ASUS X542BA-DH99
    MotherboardASUS P8Z68-V LX, ASUS Z170-A, ASUS ROG Strix B350-F Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i5-2500K, Intel i7-6700K, AMD Ryzen R7 1700
    Memory (part number)8GB Kingston 1333MhzDDR3 C9, 16GB G.Skill Aegis 3000Mhz DDR4 C16, 16GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200Mhz C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 560Ti, ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1070 O8G OC, Sapphire Nitro+ RX Vega 56
    Monitor32" INSIGNIA 720p, 32" Samsung 1080p C32F391FWN, 32" ASUS 1440p VA32AQ
    Storage #1Seagate 150GB 7200RPM, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB 2.5" 6Gb/s Solid State Drive (X2)
    Storage #2Seagate 500GB 7200RPM, WD Blue 3TB - 5400 RPM SATA 6 Gb/s 64MB Cache 3.5 Inch
    CPU CoolerDeepcool GAMMAXX 300, Deepcool Lucifer V2, Wraith Spire
    CaseAntec Sonata, Deepcool Dukase V1, Deepcool Dukase V3
    Power SupplyATX 650, EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2 (X2)
    Keyboard Logitech K220, MSI Interceptor DS4200 (X2)
    Mouse Microsoft 1850, Microsoft 4500, Gamdias Erebos LE, MSI DS 100, Redragon M601 Centrophorus
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z313, Logitech Z506 (X2)
    OS Windows 10 Home X64, Windows 10 Pro X64 (X2)
    panzlock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    702

    Temps are perfect.

    Hmmmmmmm.

    What about Windows power plan? Try setting the power plan to high performance.

    Probably a redundant suggestion but make sure your drivers are up to date (latest driver with no issues).
    I'd like to deploy my troops in her country.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Power plan is on high performance and latest drivers are installed.

    I have a 750W EVGA power supply too if that makes any difference.

    I have tried just about every suggestion I could find.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array panzlock PC Specs
    panzlock PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS X553M, ASUS Zenpad 10 Z300M, ASUS X542BA-DH99
    MotherboardASUS P8Z68-V LX, ASUS Z170-A, ASUS ROG Strix B350-F Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i5-2500K, Intel i7-6700K, AMD Ryzen R7 1700
    Memory (part number)8GB Kingston 1333MhzDDR3 C9, 16GB G.Skill Aegis 3000Mhz DDR4 C16, 16GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200Mhz C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 560Ti, ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1070 O8G OC, Sapphire Nitro+ RX Vega 56
    Monitor32" INSIGNIA 720p, 32" Samsung 1080p C32F391FWN, 32" ASUS 1440p VA32AQ
    Storage #1Seagate 150GB 7200RPM, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB 2.5" 6Gb/s Solid State Drive (X2)
    Storage #2Seagate 500GB 7200RPM, WD Blue 3TB - 5400 RPM SATA 6 Gb/s 64MB Cache 3.5 Inch
    CPU CoolerDeepcool GAMMAXX 300, Deepcool Lucifer V2, Wraith Spire
    CaseAntec Sonata, Deepcool Dukase V1, Deepcool Dukase V3
    Power SupplyATX 650, EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2 (X2)
    Keyboard Logitech K220, MSI Interceptor DS4200 (X2)
    Mouse Microsoft 1850, Microsoft 4500, Gamdias Erebos LE, MSI DS 100, Redragon M601 Centrophorus
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z313, Logitech Z506 (X2)
    OS Windows 10 Home X64, Windows 10 Pro X64 (X2)
    panzlock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    702

    Running out of ideas.

    PSU should be fine since this is not a problem with your 980. The 1070 draws less power.

    What about your RAM? Is it high? Check the RAM usage when gaming as that will affect performance. I remember War Tunder had a memory leak following an update. My 1070 handled it fine but the 560Ti on my other PC stuttered. Although again, your 980 runs this game without issue so probably not.
    Last edited by panzlock; 01-18-2019 at 08:49 PM.
    I'd like to deploy my troops in her country.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    So I checked the RAM usage and it is normal, but thinking about it I went into BIOS, updated it and OC'd the ram slightly.
    I fired up AC: Origins and it was running smoothly so I was pleasantly surprised, but this has fooled me before.

    I then tried Vermintide 2 and it was stuttering but infrequently, so I tried Battlefield 1 which had been the worst probably and it was stuttering away like crazy as usual and unplayable.

    This is so frustrating and sometimes I feel like I'm being unreasonable in my expectation. However having gone back to my 980 and not experiencing any of this I kinda wish I had just stuck with that. Granted the frame rates are a bit lower but it's smooth and stable.

    I really appreciate your replies and suggestions, thanks for taking your time.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Do ASUS people ever respond to posts like these?

    Is my only option RMA'ing again?

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array panzlock PC Specs
    panzlock PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS X553M, ASUS Zenpad 10 Z300M, ASUS X542BA-DH99
    MotherboardASUS P8Z68-V LX, ASUS Z170-A, ASUS ROG Strix B350-F Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i5-2500K, Intel i7-6700K, AMD Ryzen R7 1700
    Memory (part number)8GB Kingston 1333MhzDDR3 C9, 16GB G.Skill Aegis 3000Mhz DDR4 C16, 16GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200Mhz C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 560Ti, ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1070 O8G OC, Sapphire Nitro+ RX Vega 56
    Monitor32" INSIGNIA 720p, 32" Samsung 1080p C32F391FWN, 32" ASUS 1440p VA32AQ
    Storage #1Seagate 150GB 7200RPM, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB 2.5" 6Gb/s Solid State Drive (X2)
    Storage #2Seagate 500GB 7200RPM, WD Blue 3TB - 5400 RPM SATA 6 Gb/s 64MB Cache 3.5 Inch
    CPU CoolerDeepcool GAMMAXX 300, Deepcool Lucifer V2, Wraith Spire
    CaseAntec Sonata, Deepcool Dukase V1, Deepcool Dukase V3
    Power SupplyATX 650, EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2 (X2)
    Keyboard Logitech K220, MSI Interceptor DS4200 (X2)
    Mouse Microsoft 1850, Microsoft 4500, Gamdias Erebos LE, MSI DS 100, Redragon M601 Centrophorus
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z313, Logitech Z506 (X2)
    OS Windows 10 Home X64, Windows 10 Pro X64 (X2)
    panzlock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    702

    The only other thing I can think of is that something might be bottlenecking your 1070 Ti.
    I'd like to deploy my troops in her country.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    I'm with you man, this is why I upgraded my motherboard, cpu and RAM.
    Alas the issue persists.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •