Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    NVMe Installed in DIMM.2_1 - Slow speeds

    Hello All,

    Been trying to figure out my updated storage setup. I have a HP EX920 1TB installed in the DIMM.2_1 slot and an Intel Optane module installed in the M.2_1 slot accelerating my 6TB secondary spinner. I have successfully got my Optane module working and am booting properly into the 1TB NVMe drive. *I am NOT attempting to accelerate my NVMe SSD with the Optane module.

    * However, running CrystalDisk shows that my speeds for the 1TB drive is underwhelming. My read speeds are ~1500mb/s instead of the ~3100mb/s read speed. I have the source for DIMM_2.1 set to PCH and tried to switch it to CPU in BIOS (since I have no U.2 or Dimm.2_2 installed), but windows fails to boot. PCIX8 is set to Auto. I have Intel RST (RAID) instead of AHCI set to properly manage the Intel Optane module.

    What am I missing? Any suggestions?

    Thanks a lot.
    Last edited by Haans249; 01-19-2019 at 05:53 PM.

  2. #2
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,854

    If you are using an optane memory module to cache an SSD go to a mirror and repeat this over and over

    I
    M
    We
    Tall
    Did

    Optane memory modules are accelerators meant for spinners to get them closer to SSD performance. They will slow down every SSD there is and cease to show any improvement on spinners once the cache is saturated.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    If you are using an optane memory module to cache an SSD go to a mirror and repeat this over and over

    I
    M
    We
    Tall
    Did

    Optane memory modules are accelerators meant for spinners to get them closer to SSD performance. They will slow down every SSD there is and cease to show any improvement on spinners once the cache is saturated.
    Sorry for my confusion. I am not acclerating my NVMe SSD with the Optane. My optane is accelerating my 6TB secondary drive. I stated my current config (m.2 installed into two locations) incase it makes a difference. I’ll update my post.*

  4. #4
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,854

    Yes makes a difference. Now what drive is giving sub par performance? Is the speed you are referring to as subpar the spinner with the Optane cache?

    Help can be better provided with specifics
    All system specs
    Bench runs of both drives with and without the Optane stick.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,338

    Also remember that it make take a few runs of programs and such for the Optane to get used to your usage on the Spinner drive.
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator RGB 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p / Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Chakram
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    Yes makes a difference. Now what drive is giving sub par performance? Is the speed you are referring to as subpar the spinner with the Optane cache?

    Help can be better provided with specifics
    All system specs
    Bench runs of both drives with and without the Optane stick.
    I understand my first post was confusing prior to my edits. But, I clearly stated that the speed test was on the NVMe 1TB drive. I have no concerns re: Optane. I simply mentioned it because it is another item installed using PCIe lanes.

    System specs; R6E, 7940X, a single 1080Ti.

    1TB NVMe is installed in the DIMM.2-1 slot with source PCH set in BIOS. This is my boot drive.
    Optane installed in M.2-1 slot accelerating my 6TB spinner. *PCH set to Intel RST (Raid) for proper function of Optane. *

    I’m not sire what else you need to know. Windows 10 version 1709. All standard setup.

    Thank you**

  7. #7
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,854

    Couldn't have been too clear if it wasn't understood. I wasnt the context of the post as much as the bouncing information.


    If you have DIMM.2_1 set to PCH then its sharing bandwidth with the optane stick on the DMI bus. meaning 2 4X devices sharing 4X bus to the CPU. Set it to CPU instead and make sure all PCIE devices are set to GEN 3 instead of auto and nothing in the bottom PCIE slot and you will be golden. The statement given about 24 lanes on the PCH is misleading. Sure there are 24 lanes BUT and its a HUGE BUT those are all downstream of the PCH and the PCH connects via the DMI bus to the CPU on 4 Lanes hence the term bottle neck. Same reason why its useless to run raid0 on NVME drives downstream. They are already at or very close to the total bandwidth of the DMI bus. Everything else is downstream too. USB ports. sound etc.

    This isnt the exact diagram but add in DIMM.2_2 always on the PCH and a switch on DIMM2.1 putting it down the same lanes with PCIEx16_4 or on the PCH.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	5fadcc5a-3c3f-44cb-ba43-1d792e7180d3.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	401.2 KB 
ID:	78324
    Last edited by JustinThyme; 01-20-2019 at 07:40 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    That is helpful informtaion.*

    I have switch the DIMM.2-1 to CPU for source and Windows 10 will no longer boot. I also moved the drive to DIMM.2-2 and still wont boot. The only way the drive boots is if BIOS is set to PCH for DIMM.2-1 with NVMe installed in DIMM.2-1.

    When i got the NVMe drive, i did a copy of the original Windows 10 SSD to the NVMe and removed the original SSD. Is there a way to save my original i stallation or will I need to completely reinstall windows?

    Thank you*

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •