Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Deltaphi PC Specs
    Deltaphi PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Microsoft Surface Pro
    MotherboardASUS Maximus XI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-9900K
    Memory (part number)CMW32GX4M4C3200C14
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 980 Ti Seahawk
    Sound CardASUS Xonar DX
    MonitorASUS PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512GBx2
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 256GBx2
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H110i Extreme
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 650D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Rapidfire
    Mouse Corsair M65
    Headset Corsair Void Pro RGB USB
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Extended
    Headset/Speakers Yamaha 2.1 Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
    Network RouterSpeedport Entry 2i
    Accessory #1 HDD WD Black 2TB + 3TB
    Accessory #2 Canon Pixma iP6700D
    Accessory #3 Canon CanoScan LiDE 210
    Deltaphi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Smile Maximus XI Extreme Dimm.2 RAID 0 with Samsung 970 Pro nvme SSDs

    Hello to anyone who reads this.

    I would appreciate any help in clarifying whether you can use Samsung SSDs on the DIMM.2 slot for RAID 0 bootable configuration, or does it work only with Intel branded SSDs.

    Thanks for any help.

    Dimitris

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array btrach144 PC Specs
    btrach144 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero Wi-Fi
    ProcessorIntel i7 8086K @ 5.3 GHz 1.38V
    Memory (part number)32 GB G.Skill DDR4 3200MHz C16
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Titan X (Pascal)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Titan X (Pascal)
    MonitorASUS PG27UQ
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 950 Pro 512 GB
    CPU CoolerCustom EK loop
    CaseCorsair 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Mouse Pad Logitech Powerplay
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z905 5.1 surround
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterASUS 88U

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    126

    Yes, Samsung SSDs will work. It just uses Intel RST to create and manage the RAID 0. Most NVMe drives should work without trouble. The main goal is to have 100% matching NVMe drives.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Deltaphi PC Specs
    Deltaphi PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Microsoft Surface Pro
    MotherboardASUS Maximus XI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-9900K
    Memory (part number)CMW32GX4M4C3200C14
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 980 Ti Seahawk
    Sound CardASUS Xonar DX
    MonitorASUS PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512GBx2
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 256GBx2
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H110i Extreme
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 650D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Rapidfire
    Mouse Corsair M65
    Headset Corsair Void Pro RGB USB
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Extended
    Headset/Speakers Yamaha 2.1 Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
    Network RouterSpeedport Entry 2i
    Accessory #1 HDD WD Black 2TB + 3TB
    Accessory #2 Canon Pixma iP6700D
    Accessory #3 Canon CanoScan LiDE 210
    Deltaphi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Talking Thanks

    Quote Originally Posted by btrach144 View Post
    Yes, Samsung SSDs will work. It just uses Intel RST to create and manage the RAID 0. Most NVMe drives should work without trouble. The main goal is to have 100% matching NVMe drives.
    Thank you for the prompt reply

  4. #4
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,859

    Intel SSDs only apply to VROC so you don’t have to worry about that. My question is though why are you going raid0? If it’s for a performance boost you won’t see it on NVME drives as they already saturate the DMI bus as standalone. You will also take a hit on the low que depth speeds due to the latency of raid.*

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array Deltaphi PC Specs
    Deltaphi PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Microsoft Surface Pro
    MotherboardASUS Maximus XI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-9900K
    Memory (part number)CMW32GX4M4C3200C14
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 980 Ti Seahawk
    Sound CardASUS Xonar DX
    MonitorASUS PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512GBx2
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 256GBx2
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H110i Extreme
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 650D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Rapidfire
    Mouse Corsair M65
    Headset Corsair Void Pro RGB USB
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Extended
    Headset/Speakers Yamaha 2.1 Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
    Network RouterSpeedport Entry 2i
    Accessory #1 HDD WD Black 2TB + 3TB
    Accessory #2 Canon Pixma iP6700D
    Accessory #3 Canon CanoScan LiDE 210
    Deltaphi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Raid nvme

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    Intel SSDs only apply to VROC so you don’t have to worry about that. My question is though why are you going raid0? If it’s for a performance boost you won’t see it on NVME drives as they already saturate the DMI bus as standalone. You will also take a hit on the low que depth speeds due to the latency of raid.*
    I was planning to use cpu lanes dropping gpu to X8 as it doesn't affect frames so much. With 980 Ti I was running on X58 board X16 pcie 2.0 which is about the same as X8 pcie 3.0. Do you think it is a bad idea to go this way?

  6. #6
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,859

    No, you’re OK at X8 on the GPU as the 2080Ti is the first card to saturate PCIE Gen 3.0 X8 bandwidth and only by a little. You won’t be able to do raid 0 with one in the CPU and the other on the PCH though. *Like I said though it’s pointless. If your board allows both on CPU which I don’t think it does you still can’t raid them up and make it bootable. Only way to do that is on X299 and it has to be Intel drives.
    Last edited by JustinThyme; 01-21-2019 at 05:45 PM.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array Deltaphi PC Specs
    Deltaphi PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Microsoft Surface Pro
    MotherboardASUS Maximus XI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-9900K
    Memory (part number)CMW32GX4M4C3200C14
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 980 Ti Seahawk
    Sound CardASUS Xonar DX
    MonitorASUS PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512GBx2
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 256GBx2
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H110i Extreme
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 650D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Rapidfire
    Mouse Corsair M65
    Headset Corsair Void Pro RGB USB
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Extended
    Headset/Speakers Yamaha 2.1 Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
    Network RouterSpeedport Entry 2i
    Accessory #1 HDD WD Black 2TB + 3TB
    Accessory #2 Canon Pixma iP6700D
    Accessory #3 Canon CanoScan LiDE 210
    Deltaphi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Smile Raid 0 Dimm.2

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    No, you’re OK at X8 on the GPU as the 2080Ti is the first card to saturate PCIE Gen 3.0 X8 bandwidth and only by a little. You won’t be able to do raid 0 with one in the CPU and the other on the PCH though. *Like I said though it’s pointless. If your board allows both on CPU which I don’t think it does you still can’t raid them up and make it bootable. Only way to do that is on X299 and it has to be Intel drives.
    That brings this thread to my original question that started it:

    Bootable Raid 0 on Dimm.2 using 8 CPU lanes for 2 Samsung 970 Pro NVMe SSDs, dropping GPU slot to X8 is not possible? or is it?

    The motherboard User Manual has this on the Dimm.2 section:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Dimm.2.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	228.6 KB 
ID:	78382

    Thanks for your help.

  8. #8
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,859

    Booting from CPU lanes with anything but Intel drives in VROC is not possible. Software raid only with non intel drives. *Trust me when I say all this has been tested and beaten to death. Myself and several others tried every configuration possible. *This board and it’s design are an intel chipset so they control the patent and implementation. At launch they wouldn’t even get off of what VROC keys would work and many were tried. Only one will work but it’s not needed for bootable raid zero. BUT Intel drives are mandatory. You want the speed you have to pony up. Two 480 GB drives are not all that much more than 2 1TB Samsung 970 pro drives. Yes get half as much but that’s just the way it is. The intel drives can’t be touched to random low que depth performance which is the most important of heavy workloads and OS operations. Samsung owns the large file sequential reads. My rig is set up with intel drives for the OS and general software while all games and anything with large files gets installed to a single Samsung 1TB 960 pro in DIMM.2_1 set to CPU as the source. *I’m about to change it all though as after going to 2080 Ti cards they actually do saturate X8 bandwidth so I’m ditching VROC completely and using a single intel U2 drive, changing the DIMM.2_1 to PCH so I get *16 on PCIE16X16_1 and PCIEX16_3.*

    Bottom line no matter how you slice it is if you want bootable raid on CPU Lanes it must be intel drives, if you want raid on PCH you can use whatever drives you want. Search VROC X299 section, sit back grab your favorite libation and read a bit. We pounded this hard at product launch Q4 2017.*

    The reference to Optane in the last sentence is optane Memory sticks. *Refer to the section in A X299 manual VROC for info about raid on CPU lanes.*

    Intel isn’t about to allow the same functions on consumer or prosumer boards that are available to enterprise solutions that makes them 10 times more per machine. *If they did that we wouldn’t be having this conversation as enterprise customers would have already depleted all stock of motherboards if they can do the same at a fraction of the cost.*

    By all means feel free to try it. Maybe you can outsmart Intel and share with the rest of us. I’m not optimistic on any such endeavor though.
    Last edited by JustinThyme; 01-22-2019 at 12:36 AM.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array Deltaphi PC Specs
    Deltaphi PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Microsoft Surface Pro
    MotherboardASUS Maximus XI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-9900K
    Memory (part number)CMW32GX4M4C3200C14
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 980 Ti Seahawk
    Sound CardASUS Xonar DX
    MonitorASUS PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512GBx2
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 256GBx2
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H110i Extreme
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 650D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Rapidfire
    Mouse Corsair M65
    Headset Corsair Void Pro RGB USB
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Extended
    Headset/Speakers Yamaha 2.1 Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
    Network RouterSpeedport Entry 2i
    Accessory #1 HDD WD Black 2TB + 3TB
    Accessory #2 Canon Pixma iP6700D
    Accessory #3 Canon CanoScan LiDE 210
    Deltaphi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Thanks a million!

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    Booting from CPU lanes with anything but Intel drives in VROC is not possible. Software raid only with non intel drives. *Trust me when I say all this has been tested and beaten to death. Myself and several others tried every configuration possible. *This board and it’s design are an intel chipset so they control the patent and implementation. At launch they wouldn’t even get off of what VROC keys would work and many were tried. Only one will work but it’s not needed for bootable raid zero. BUT Intel drives are mandatory. You want the speed you have to pony up. Two 480 GB drives are not all that much more than 2 1TB Samsung 970 pro drives. Yes get half as much but that’s just the way it is. The intel drives can’t be touched to random low que depth performance which is the most important of heavy workloads and OS operations. Samsung owns the large file sequential reads. My rig is set up with intel drives for the OS and general software while all games and anything with large files gets installed to a single Samsung 1TB 960 pro in DIMM.2_1 set to CPU as the source. *I’m about to change it all though as after going to 2080 Ti cards they actually do saturate X8 bandwidth so I’m ditching VROC completely and using a single intel U2 drive, changing the DIMM.2_1 to PCH so I get *16 on PCIE16X16_1 and PCIEX16_3.*

    Bottom line no matter how you slice it is if you want bootable raid on CPU Lanes it must be intel drives, if you want raid on PCH you can use whatever drives you want. Search VROC X299 section, sit back grab your favorite libation and read a bit. We pounded this hard at product launch Q4 2017.*

    The reference to Optane in the last sentence is optane Memory sticks. *Refer to the section in A X299 manual VROC for info about raid on CPU lanes.*

    Intel isn’t about to allow the same functions on consumer or prosumer boards that are available to enterprise solutions that makes them 10 times more per machine. *If they did that we wouldn’t be having this conversation as enterprise customers would have already depleted all stock of motherboards if they can do the same at a fraction of the cost.*

    By all means feel free to try it. Maybe you can outsmart Intel and share with the rest of us. I’m not optimistic on any such endeavor though.
    So I might as well use single Samsung 970 Pros than RAID 0 for Windows OS and Apps+Games separately.

    Thanks for all your trouble to provide such detailed information, it was an eye opener.

    All the best,

    Dimitris

  10. #10
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,859

    That would be my advice. If I were you would leave a single on CPU lanes for OS and the other on PCH for large app installs.*

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •