Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Z370-F Gaming: Problem with extremely slow upload speed (Intel I219-V)

    OS: Win 10 x64 Pro (Build 1803)
    BIOS: 1601
    Motherboard: Z370-F
    NIC: Intel I219-V
    Driver for above: 12.15.25.6 (2017-03-21)

    Hello,

    I have 1000/1000Mbit and when connecting with another computer (as my ISPs tech just did) I get around 900/900 where I get around 800/10.
    It is ALWAYS the upload that is slow, never the download.

    I DID NOT install any drivers at all from Asus after the fresh reinstall. Earlier I tried every single ethernet driver from Asus and also ran Intels update tool to get the latest drivers = Still slow upload.
    I connect using a CAT6 ethernet cable (tried different cables = same problem) and when I boot into safe mode I get the speed I should get (i.e. around 800/800) and I even did a complete reset of Windows and got the desired speed after the reinstallation.

    Sweet then it should be resolved right?
    Oh no, nonononono.

    I installed the following and did a speedtest after each to try and identify which application (if any) caused it:

    * Nvidia Geforce Experience
    * Battle.net and Heroes of the Storm
    * Sophos Home Premium Antivirus
    * Razer Synapse and Razer Cortex

    However I did not reboot after each installation and even after uninstalling everything and rebooting I now get the same slow upload speed.

    So its not hardware (my NIC or my cables) since it works in "safe mode" and after a complete reset.
    My bet is either for some Windows Update happening in the background or a driver update that comes automatically.

    Have anyone of you experienced the same?

    Would be greatful for any help, going to reinstall again and check the driver it has during the very first initial boot and then reboot every time after I reinstalled something and check speedtest every time - TheSwede86

    Edit:

    Just reinstalled the OS again, the driver that seems to be there after the fresh install is:

    Fresh initial boot (19-01-21):
    OS Build: 1803 (1734.523)
    Intel I219-V: 12.17.10.7 (2018-05-02)

    However the ONLY applications I have installed are:
    * Chrome
    * Battle.net (and downloaded HotS)
    and the build and driver above gave me around 853/945 but with no changes except above I now get 866/10.

    Extremely wonky
    Any ideas?

    Trying to install the "latest" (Version 12.17.10.7, 2018/07/25) ethernet drivers from Asus;
    "AsusSetup.exe" does not even start and the "readme" is not exactly helpful or even applicable:
    "
    You can install Intel's Ethernet Universal Windows Drivers using the SetupBD.exe utility.
    1) Download the latest Ethernet driver package and extract it to a temporary directory.
    2) Copy all the files from <temporary directory>\<device family>\Win32|Winx64\NDIS65\Universal to <temporary directory>\<device family>\<Win32|Winx64>\NDIS65\. This will replace the standard drivers with the Universal Windows Drivers.
    3) Run <temporary directory>\APPS\SETUP\SETUPBD\Win32|Winx64\SetupBD .exe
    "

    Running the "Install.batch" gives me:
    "
    Please wait while installing drivers. Do not turn off or unplug the computer power during the installation...
    Microsoft PnP Utility

    Adding driver package: e1d65x64.inf
    Driver package added successfully.
    Published Name: oem41.inf
    Driver package matches devices that already have their drivers up to date.

    Total driver packages: 1
    Added driver packages: 0
    "

    Update (again):

    Intel® Network Adapter Driver for Windows® 10
    Version: 23.5.1 Date: 12/14/2018
    ^ Installed above from Intel; no change.
    Last edited by TheSwede86; 01-21-2019 at 03:34 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array x-rated PC Specs
    x-rated PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XI Formula - Intel Z390
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-9900K @ 5 GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z F4-3600C16D-16GTZR - 4x 8 GB, 4 GHz, 18-18-18-38
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FE - 2,1/15,6 GHz
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD
    MonitorDell UP2715K - 5120x2880, AH-IPS, 10bit
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro - 1 TB, 3,5/2,1 GB/s
    Storage #2WD Red WD40EFRX - 4 TB, 64 MB, 5400 RPM
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 Blackout TG
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i - 1 KW, 83 A, 80Plus Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G810 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G403 Prodigy Wired
    Headset Sennheiser HD 660 S
    Mouse Pad Razer Manticor
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterHuawei HG8245H @ 1 Gb/s FTTH GPON
    Accessory #1 EKWB Velocity + Vector
    Accessory #2 EKWB XRES 140 Revo D5 PWM + 2x CoolStream XE 360
    Accessory #3 6x Noiseblocker NB-eLoop Fan B12-PS
    x-rated's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    203

    in my case device manager shows me driver version 12.18.8.4, so try to update to the latest version
    + increase transmit and receive buffers to 2048 via device manager

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by x-rated View Post
    in my case device manager shows me driver version 12.18.8.4, so try to update to the latest version
    + increase transmit and receive buffers to 2048 via device manager
    Hi, thanks for your answer.

    Just checked and I had the same driver version (12.18.8.4) as you now and I tried those settings (Receive Buffers from 512 > 2048 and Transmit Buffers from 512 > 2048 and it didn't do anything; Tested my speed again and I got 771/10.
    Last edited by TheSwede86; 01-21-2019 at 05:58 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array x-rated PC Specs
    x-rated PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XI Formula - Intel Z390
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-9900K @ 5 GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z F4-3600C16D-16GTZR - 4x 8 GB, 4 GHz, 18-18-18-38
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FE - 2,1/15,6 GHz
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD
    MonitorDell UP2715K - 5120x2880, AH-IPS, 10bit
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro - 1 TB, 3,5/2,1 GB/s
    Storage #2WD Red WD40EFRX - 4 TB, 64 MB, 5400 RPM
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 Blackout TG
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i - 1 KW, 83 A, 80Plus Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G810 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G403 Prodigy Wired
    Headset Sennheiser HD 660 S
    Mouse Pad Razer Manticor
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterHuawei HG8245H @ 1 Gb/s FTTH GPON
    Accessory #1 EKWB Velocity + Vector
    Accessory #2 EKWB XRES 140 Revo D5 PWM + 2x CoolStream XE 360
    Accessory #3 6x Noiseblocker NB-eLoop Fan B12-PS
    x-rated's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    203

    so try another settings - speed & duplex 1 Gb/s full duplex

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by x-rated View Post
    so try another settings - speed & duplex 1 Gb/s full duplex
    Speed & Duplex from "Auto-Negotiation" to "1.0 GBps Full Duplex" , no change.

    Update:

    Bought an Intel Gigabit PCIE NIC (using the Intel® 82574L Gigabit Ethernet Controller) and I STILL GET THE SAME THING.
    Tried upping the Transmission and Receive Buffers from 512 to 2048 but did nothing I still get 10Mbit upload and 800Mbit down.

    Update: Bought an external USB-C > Gigabit Ethernet adapter having a Realtek-chipset and it was the same.
    Tried it on my work computer and got like 300/300.

    Tried booting into Ubuntu and tried the built-in NIC and got consistent results of 800/800.
    So something in Windows, something with either the OS or a driver from Intel.
    Reset my BIOS-settings to "optimized defaults" but no change.

    Edit:

    I tried the default settings for the NIC and tested against speedtest (by Okta, their Windows 10-app) and also fast.com and there I get the the expected speed of around 900/900.
    If I run "bredbandskollen"s CLI-tool I also get the expected speed so the problem only occurs when using their website.
    I tried contacting them to bring this to their attention but received an automatic reply :/

    So everything is good, if another Swede reads this then try the CLI-Tool here:
    http://www.bredbandskollen.se/om/mer...ndskollen-cli/
    or another service such as either:
    https://fast.com/ (press "Show more info" after the test to measure your upload-speed)
    or
    https://www.speedtest.net/sv
    Last edited by TheSwede86; 02-07-2019 at 06:26 PM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •