Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array rajthampi PC Specs
    rajthampi PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS PRIME Z390-P
    Processori7-8700
    Memory (part number)Kingston KVR24N17D8/16 DDR4 (32GB)
    Graphics Card #1STRIX GTX 1050Ti
    Sound CardSound Blaster Zx
    MonitorSamsung S22F340
    Storage #1Transcend TS128GMTS400S M.2 SSD
    Storage #24TB TOTAL, 3 Mechanical disks
    CPU CoolerCOOLER MASTER HYPER T4
    CaseCOOLER MASTER
    Power SupplyXFX 850W
    Keyboard Microsoft Wireless
    Mouse Microsoft Wireless
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64Bit

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Question PRIME Z390P Monitor will not wake up after long standby/sleep

    Hi guys

    Recently I built a new box with PRIME Z390P motherboard and STRIX GTX 1050ti. I am not a gamer, database developer & occasionally enjoy editing family videos. Now I have an issue. Once I shutdown my desktop machine (mostly by 10pm every day), next morning when I turn it on, the monitor doesn't wake up! I have to push the power button of the monitor (subsequent start ups doesn't have this issue) to bring the display.
    I read an article discussing about PLL Over voltage (https://www.maketecheasier.com/fix-a...p-after-sleep/). Does it apply to my motherboard? I checked for the BIOS area for the specifics those are mentioned in the article, however the parameter ""Internal PLL OverVoltage"" does not allow me to change from auto (no other values available)

    Please help me to resolve this problem. My monitor is Samsung s22f350fhm, which works perfectly with my other computer.

    regards,
    Last edited by rajthampi; 02-26-2019 at 06:49 AM. Reason: Spelling

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array rajthampi PC Specs
    rajthampi PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS PRIME Z390-P
    Processori7-8700
    Memory (part number)Kingston KVR24N17D8/16 DDR4 (32GB)
    Graphics Card #1STRIX GTX 1050Ti
    Sound CardSound Blaster Zx
    MonitorSamsung S22F340
    Storage #1Transcend TS128GMTS400S M.2 SSD
    Storage #24TB TOTAL, 3 Mechanical disks
    CPU CoolerCOOLER MASTER HYPER T4
    CaseCOOLER MASTER
    Power SupplyXFX 850W
    Keyboard Microsoft Wireless
    Mouse Microsoft Wireless
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64Bit

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    No responses!

    Quote Originally Posted by rajthampi View Post
    Hi guys

    Recently I built a new box with PRIME Z390P motherboard and STRIX GTX 1050ti. I am not a gamer, database developer & occasionally enjoy editing family videos. Now I have an issue. Once I shutdown my desktop machine (mostly by 10pm every day), next morning when I turn it on, the monitor doesn't wake up! I have to push the power button of the monitor (subsequent start ups doesn't have this issue) to bring the display.
    I read an article discussing about PLL Over voltate (https://www.maketecheasier.com/fix-a...p-after-sleep/). Does it apply to my motherboard? I checked for the BIOS area for the specifics those are mentioned in the article, however the parameter ""Internal PLL OverVoltage"" does not allow me to change from auto (no other values available)

    Please help me to resolve this problem. My monitor is Samsung s22f350fhm, which works perfectly with my other computer.

    regards,
    Strange to see that nobody else is having the same issue?! Well, today I've had the firmware and drivers for the Monitor updated and will post whether it is a firmware related issue. Hoping to resolve the weird issue forever.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array rajthampi PC Specs
    rajthampi PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS PRIME Z390-P
    Processori7-8700
    Memory (part number)Kingston KVR24N17D8/16 DDR4 (32GB)
    Graphics Card #1STRIX GTX 1050Ti
    Sound CardSound Blaster Zx
    MonitorSamsung S22F340
    Storage #1Transcend TS128GMTS400S M.2 SSD
    Storage #24TB TOTAL, 3 Mechanical disks
    CPU CoolerCOOLER MASTER HYPER T4
    CaseCOOLER MASTER
    Power SupplyXFX 850W
    Keyboard Microsoft Wireless
    Mouse Microsoft Wireless
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64Bit

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Firmware update fixed the issues

    Quote Originally Posted by rajthampi View Post
    Strange to see that nobody else is having the same issue?! Well, today I've had the firmware and drivers for the Monitor updated and will post whether it is a firmware related issue. Hoping to resolve the weird issue forever.
    Okay guys, I did the firmware update for Samsung S22F340 monitor & it looks like the issues ARE currently addressed. I've kept the monitor switched on after shutting down the PC for almost 12 hours and it came online as soon as the PC was restarted. The firmware update did reset the settings though.

    regards,

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array XYchromosone PC Specs
    XYchromosone PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)DELL Inspiron 15 5559 + HP Pavilion dv6 3032tx
    MotherboardASUS Maximux XI Extreme [BIOS 1105]
    Processori9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengance RGB 16GB CMR16GX4M2C3466C16 V4.31
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix Gaming GTX1080Ti 11GB
    MonitorAOC AG271QG 27" 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro NVMe 1TB M.2 SSD
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Floe Riing 360 Premium AIO
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard RAZER Blackwidow X Tournament Chroma
    Mouse RAZER Lancehead [ambidextrous] Chroma
    Headset Sennheiser RS165 Wireless
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 + UbuntuStudio 18.04
    Network RouterASUS DSL-AC68U on ADSL2+, Technicolor DJA0230TLS Gateway NETGEAR CABLE ADAPTER CM450
    XYchromosone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    151

    that's great that you were able to work this out and thaNk you for posting your solution. Recently my AOC AG271QG monitor does not show nothing at post or after waking up from sleep unless I press the input source from the menu key built into the screen. But it works as it should once I force it to understand the source output from the mobo, which is HMDI through the iGPU.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array rajthampi PC Specs
    rajthampi PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS PRIME Z390-P
    Processori7-8700
    Memory (part number)Kingston KVR24N17D8/16 DDR4 (32GB)
    Graphics Card #1STRIX GTX 1050Ti
    Sound CardSound Blaster Zx
    MonitorSamsung S22F340
    Storage #1Transcend TS128GMTS400S M.2 SSD
    Storage #24TB TOTAL, 3 Mechanical disks
    CPU CoolerCOOLER MASTER HYPER T4
    CaseCOOLER MASTER
    Power SupplyXFX 850W
    Keyboard Microsoft Wireless
    Mouse Microsoft Wireless
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64Bit

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    I had to recollect the same situation with my SonyTV

    Quote Originally Posted by XYchromosone View Post
    that's great that you were able to work this out and thaNk you for posting your solution. Recently my AOC AG271QG monitor does not show nothing at post or after waking up from sleep unless I press the input source from the menu key built into the screen. But it works as it should once I force it to understand the source output from the mobo, which is HMDI through the iGPU.
    My SonyTV is almost 8 years old, the first one to have ARC. I used to bring laptops from work and plug to HDMI and amazed to see that this TV used to remember the resolution & other display properties for each of those laptops each time I connected them after months, or may be after years. I knew that "THESE" bloody things can "REMEMBER"

    As I didn't get any responses from ASUS, I decided to check about the monitor, remembering during Windows XP days we used to install color profiles for ViewSonic CRT monitors. Anyway, I think this time I truly hit a jackpot by searching for Monitor firmware and duly updating it, causing the Monitor to flush the old settings completely and to recognize the new display parameters. I love to believe that, the monitor was remembering something about my old display card (nVidia GT550) & that was the root cause of all the troubles I had.

    Hope you will find a solution soon for your monitor as well.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array Partially PC Specs
    Partially PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Prime z370-A
    Processori5-8600k
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-16GVK
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1080 ROG STRIX
    MonitorAsus ROG PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212 LED
    Power Supply750W
    Keyboard Asus ROG Claymore Core
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Hyperx Cloud 2
    OS win 10
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC88U

    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    I had same problem with my monitor. Fixed it by changing the PSU. Read that someone had fixed his problem the same way so tried it and it worked.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array rajthampi PC Specs
    rajthampi PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS PRIME Z390-P
    Processori7-8700
    Memory (part number)Kingston KVR24N17D8/16 DDR4 (32GB)
    Graphics Card #1STRIX GTX 1050Ti
    Sound CardSound Blaster Zx
    MonitorSamsung S22F340
    Storage #1Transcend TS128GMTS400S M.2 SSD
    Storage #24TB TOTAL, 3 Mechanical disks
    CPU CoolerCOOLER MASTER HYPER T4
    CaseCOOLER MASTER
    Power SupplyXFX 850W
    Keyboard Microsoft Wireless
    Mouse Microsoft Wireless
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64Bit

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Thank you

    Quote Originally Posted by Partially View Post
    I had same problem with my monitor. Fixed it by changing the PSU. Read that someone had fixed his problem the same way so tried it and it worked.
    Nice addition to the contributions that is slowly growing . My case, I have a XFX 850w PSU, that I believe is rock solid and holding the huge RIG I have.

    thanks for your input.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array rajthampi PC Specs
    rajthampi PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS PRIME Z390-P
    Processori7-8700
    Memory (part number)Kingston KVR24N17D8/16 DDR4 (32GB)
    Graphics Card #1STRIX GTX 1050Ti
    Sound CardSound Blaster Zx
    MonitorSamsung S22F340
    Storage #1Transcend TS128GMTS400S M.2 SSD
    Storage #24TB TOTAL, 3 Mechanical disks
    CPU CoolerCOOLER MASTER HYPER T4
    CaseCOOLER MASTER
    Power SupplyXFX 850W
    Keyboard Microsoft Wireless
    Mouse Microsoft Wireless
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64Bit

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Nailing the culprit

    Hello guys

    I replaced my work monitor with a 24" S24F350 (the same series that I have at home) which had the exact issues as described with the initial post! I did live chat with Samsung support and they asked me to take the monitor to nearest workshop as this model is yet to have a fresh firmware!
    Then I did the thing most of us don't do...going through the user manual & came to an area that narrates about "Off Timer". By default this option is turned on, with a four(4) hours interval. Ie, after 4 hours of idling, the monitor is turned OFF & the USER MUST press the power on button behind the monitor to turn it on. I believe Samsung understood this issue & OFF Timer defaults were changed to "OFF", which made me believe it was all about the firmware for my S22F350

    I posted this finding, hoping it might help few others out there. So prior pulling your hairs off, check whether your particular monitor manages the power saving things itself.

    regards,

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •