cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Crosshair V Formula-Z will never cold boot, but always boots after pressing reset

cbj4074
Level 7
Hi all!

Problem synopsis:

I have an ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z mainboard (with latest available BIOS version) that exhibits precisely the behavior described here:

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/291220-28-computer-start-cold-boot-works-press-reset-buttons

After I do a cold boot, the computer starts when I either press the reset button or if I manually shut down by pressing power button and immediately pressing it again to turn my computer back on. It seems like some computer component needs to warm/charge up in order to boot?

I've been building computers for 15 years and I've never seen a component that needs to "warm-up" to boot the machine, but that's exactly what seems to be happening here.

Unfortunately, that individual who posted about this on Tom's Hardware so long ago never solved the problem.

More detail:

Whenever I cold boot the machine, it stops with Q-Code 98, which, according to the manual, is "Console input devices connect". The video display is never initialized, so the monitor doesn't come on.

If I simply hit the reset button, the machine boots-up just fine. This happens 100% of the time. The behavior is absolutely consistent.

Whenever I put the machine to sleep, e.g., in Windows 10 (which I believe to be S3 mode), and then I try to wake the machine, it stops with Q-Code 30 ("Reserved for ASL (see ASL Status Codes section below))". When I consult that section, 0x30 is "System is waking up from the S3 sleep state". But, of course, the process never completes.

When I put the machine in hibernation, and then try to wake it, it stops on Q-Code 78 ("ACPI module initialization").

Another twist is that if I cold boot but the machine has been on recently (say, in the previous hour or so), it stops on Q-Code 71 ("PCH DXE SMM initialization is started").