Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 52

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array R0x0r PC Specs
    R0x0r PC Specs
    MotherboardZ390-Z
    Processori9-9900k @3.6
    Memory (part number)DDR4 - 3200
    Graphics Card #12080Ti

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    9900k OC, trying to make sense of it all

    Hello fellow ROG overclockers,

    I’m a new overclocking, I am experiencing some difficulty and I like to tap into your breadth of knowledge and advice. I would appreciate your patience and understanding if I am breaking any unspoken rules.

    First the important build deets:
    MOBO: ASUS ROG STRIX Z390-E Gaming
    CPU: Intel i9-9900K @3.6 ghz (Cooling Noctua-NH-D15)
    RAM: 32 DDR4 GB G.Skill 3200 mhz
    GPU: Asus 2080TI
    PSU: 750W
    Storage: 1) 1TB EVO SSD 2) 250 EVO SSD 3) 3TB HDD 4) 3TB HDD (no, no RAID unfortunately))
    OS: Windows 10 edu

    After reading up on the guide found here: https://rog.asus.com/articles/overcl...-overclocking/ I decided to embark on my OC journey…I’ve also done a fair amount of reading for similarity (see: https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...n-overclocking)

    At stock clock settings, I ran the RealBench tool to stress the system to calculate the cooler score, which after several stress tests, went from 97 -> 167 and finally had landed on 197.

    Based on that cooler score, the AI Optimized settings predicted that the OC could ramp all the way to 5.2 ghz, which as a surprise to no one, when the AI was enabled, failed to load into the OS. After several BSOD errors, I figured I needed to try something different. Therefore, after some manual tweaking, I found that the manually modifying the AI Optimism setting to 90 (equivalent to 4.8 ghz) would successfully load the OS and again, and, after several stress tests, the OC has proven stable never surpassing 79*C under stress.

    With this information in front of you, I have 2 questions:
    1. What are the steps I need to take to OC my XMP enabled ram from its current speed at 2666 mhz to its rated speed of 3200 mhz?
    a. From what I understand I cannot leverage the AI AND XMP
    2. Is there a better way intervene on the AI prediction rather than modifying the Optimism score? What would you recommend?

    A final statement, as an enthusiast I want to squeeze out as much performance as possible, but a realist, I only play games (PUBG, FO76, CoD, BF, and so on) on the PC (granted would love to play at 4K and VR in the future, along with Anthem and Division 2). Would any other realists like to talk me out of pushing the chip any further?

    Thanks for your advice ahead of time!

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array x-rated PC Specs
    x-rated PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XI Formula - Intel Z390
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-9900K @ 5 GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z F4-3600C16D-16GTZR - 4x 8 GB, 4 GHz, 18-18-18-38
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FE - 2,1/15,6 GHz
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD
    MonitorDell UP2715K - 5120x2880, AH-IPS, 10bit
    Storage #1Sabrent Rocket - 4 TB, 3 GB/s
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 Blackout TG
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i - 1 KW, 83 A, 80Plus Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G810 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G403 Prodigy Wired
    Headset Sennheiser HD 660 S
    Mouse Pad Razer Manticor
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterHuawei HG8245H @ 1 Gb/s FTTH GPON
    Accessory #1 EKWB Velocity + Vector
    Accessory #2 EKWB XRES 140 Revo D5 PWM + 2x CoolStream XE 360
    Accessory #3 6x Noiseblocker NB-eLoop Fan B12-PS
    x-rated's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    203

    i would suggest you not to use AI oc at all, you have to adjust just a few things manually
    you can start with this, everything else leave as it is
    dont forget to reset bios to its defaults first
    Code:
    EXTREME TWEAKER:
    AI Overclock Tuner.................................XMP I
    SVID Behavior......................................Best-Case Scenario
    1-Core Ratio Limit.................................50
    Max CPU Cache Ratio................................50
    CPU Core/Cache Voltage.............................Adaptive Mode
    Additional Turbo Mode CPU Core Voltage.............1.350
    
    
    EXTREME TWEAKER -> EXTERNAL DIGI+ POWER CONTROL:
    CPU Load-line Calibration..........................Level 6
    CPU Current Capability.............................170% (or as much as possible)
    
    EXTREME TWEAKER -> INTERNAL CPU POWER MANAGEMENT:
    Long Duration Package Power Limit..................4095
    Package Power Time Windows.........................127
    Short Duration Package Power Limit.................4095
    IA AC Load Line....................................0.01
    IA DC Load Line....................................0.01
    Last edited by x-rated; 01-22-2019 at 07:50 PM.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array R0x0r PC Specs
    R0x0r PC Specs
    MotherboardZ390-Z
    Processori9-9900k @3.6
    Memory (part number)DDR4 - 3200
    Graphics Card #12080Ti

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by x-rated View Post
    i would suggest you not to use AI oc at all, you have to adjust just a few things manually
    you can start with this, everything else leave as it is
    dont forget to reset bios to its defaults first
    Code:
    EXTREME TWEAKER:
    AI Overclock Tuner.................................XMP I
    SVID Behavior......................................Best-Case Scenario
    1-Core Ratio Limit.................................50
    Max CPU Cache Ratio................................50
    CPU Core/Cache Voltage.............................Adaptive Mode
    Additional Turbo Mode CPU Core Voltage.............1.350
    
    
    EXTREME TWEAKER -> EXTERNAL DIGI+ POWER CONTROL:
    CPU Load-line Calibration..........................Level 6
    CPU Current Capability.............................170% (or as much as possible)
    
    EXTREME TWEAKER -> INTERNAL CPU POWER MANAGEMENT:
    Long Duration Package Power Limit..................4095
    Package Power Time Windows.........................127
    Short Duration Package Power Limit.................4095
    IA AC Load Line....................................0.01
    IA DC Load Line....................................0.01
    Indeed, I'll ensure to reset BIOS--Thanks so much for the advice! I'll update this evening on progress.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array djmarks PC Specs
    djmarks PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)PC Specialist Optimus i7 6700HQ
    MotherboardRog Maximus XI Hero
    Processori9 9900k
    Memory (part number)Corsair 16GB DDR4 Vengeance LPX 3200MHz PC4-25600 16-18-18-36
    Graphics Card #1ROG STRIX GTX1070TI A8G GAMING
    MonitorROG Strix XG32VQ
    Storage #1WD 500GB Black NVMe M.2
    Storage #2SanDisk SDSSDX120GG25 & ST2000DM001
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H150i PRO RGB
    CaseThermaltake Suppressor F31
    Power SupplyAntec HCG 750 Watt 80+ Bronze
    Keyboard Element Gaming
    Mouse Roccat Tyon
    Headset Element Gaming PC Headset
    Mouse Pad Akasa Venom XL mat
    Headset/Speakers Otone Soundbar
    OS Windows 10 Home 64bit
    Network RouterCrappy EE router - not even fibre 8-(
    Accessory #1 Razer Tartarus v2
    Accessory #2 Coffee.... lots and lots of coffee!

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Quote Originally Posted by R0x0r View Post
    Indeed, I'll ensure to reset BIOS--Thanks so much for the advice! I'll update this evening on progress.

    Hi R0x0r - just wondering how you got on as I have the same cpu!

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array R0x0r PC Specs
    R0x0r PC Specs
    MotherboardZ390-Z
    Processori9-9900k @3.6
    Memory (part number)DDR4 - 3200
    Graphics Card #12080Ti

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    DJMarks and X-Rated:

    Here's an update: After following X-Rated's suggestion I was able to successfully boot into Windows. Shortly after, I ran additional stress tests and benchmarks using RealBench.

    The image below shows the bench score from 1/19 (when I was running ~4.8 ghz) next to the bench stats pulled after X-rated's suggestions
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Annotation 2019-01-22 185311.jpg 
Views:	11 
Size:	90.4 KB 
ID:	78411

    Interestingly, the CPU doesn't seem to be OC'd at all, so after I post this, I'm going to go into BIOS to confirm all the settings have saved. You can also note that the Max temp after both Benching and Stress capped at 48*C so I have a feeling that I need to tweak further.

    I'll update shortly.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array R0x0r PC Specs
    R0x0r PC Specs
    MotherboardZ390-Z
    Processori9-9900k @3.6
    Memory (part number)DDR4 - 3200
    Graphics Card #12080Ti

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    I’ll admit, when trying to find the 1-core ratio limit as X-rated suggested, I had a difficult time. *Images below are the settings I updated.*


    * Click image for larger version. 

Name:	82CE5572-2A13-4424-8ABD-EDF0C6CA41A0.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	32.6 KB 
ID:	78413Click image for larger version. 

Name:	AB1CEFE6-559A-40DB-8702-129B01BC5321.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	32.2 KB 
ID:	78412

    See my options from the choices in the next image
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_5453 (1).JPG 
Views:	83 
Size:	119.0 KB 
ID:	78414
    Is the highlighted option the one I want to modify to sync all cores?
    Last edited by R0x0r; 01-23-2019 at 01:19 AM.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array bmickey PC Specs
    bmickey PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG STRIX Z390E Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i9-9900k
    Memory (part number)F4-4000C18D-16GTZKW
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Nvidia 1080 GTX 8GB GDDR5x
    Storage #1Samsung 970 m.2 1TB
    CPU CoolerKraken NZXT x72 360mm AIO
    CasePhanteks Evolv
    Power SupplySeasonic 750FX
    Mouse Steelseries Rival 600
    Headset Astro A50
    OS Windows 10 Home 64bit

    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Hello all! I tried these exact settings and my PC wouldn't boot. "The system has POSTed in safe mode... Press F1 to run Setup.". Once I loaded Optimized Defaults it booted just fine. I then did the same setup as below but went and manually changed memory from 4000 to 3600 frequency with the below settings and it booted fine. Any ideas why I can't get to 4000 with my ram?

    My Specs are:
    Asus Rog Strix Z390-e mobo, Samsung 970 EVO m.2 HD, 2x 8gb G.Skill Tridentz DDR4-4000 PC4-32000 (F4-4000C18D-16GTZKW) , Intel i9-9900k cpu, Corsair 750FX power supply. NZXT Kraken x72 (360mm) AiO.


    QUOTE=x-rated;756842]i would suggest you not to use AI oc at all, you have to adjust just a few things manually
    you can start with this, everything else leave as it is
    dont forget to reset bios to its defaults first
    Code:
    EXTREME TWEAKER:
    AI Overclock Tuner.................................XMP I
    SVID Behavior......................................Best-Case Scenario
    1-Core Ratio Limit.................................50
    Max CPU Cache Ratio................................50
    CPU Core/Cache Voltage.............................Adaptive Mode
    Additional Turbo Mode CPU Core Voltage.............1.350
    
    
    EXTREME TWEAKER -> EXTERNAL DIGI+ POWER CONTROL:
    CPU Load-line Calibration..........................Level 6
    CPU Current Capability.............................170% (or as much as possible)
    
    EXTREME TWEAKER -> INTERNAL CPU POWER MANAGEMENT:
    Long Duration Package Power Limit..................4095
    Package Power Time Windows.........................127
    Short Duration Package Power Limit.................4095
    IA AC Load Line....................................0.01
    IA DC Load Line....................................0.01
    [/QUOTE]

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array rjbarker PC Specs
    rjbarker PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Extreme (BIOS 0605)
    Processor9900K @ 5.1 Ghz w EK Velocity
    Memory (part number)32 GB -Dominator Platinum 3200 Mhz CAS 16
    Graphics Card #1Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Graphics Card #2Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Sound CardOnboard Realtek
    MonitorDell Alienware 34" Ultra wide 120Hz Gsync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512G M.2 NNMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 512G & 256G
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Copper w Nickel Plating
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1600i
    OS W10 HP x64
    Accessory #1 480 * 360 * 240 XSPC Radiators (15 Fans) w 4 Channel 200W Fan Controller
    Accessory #2 XSPC Photon Rez / Vario Pump combo
    Accessory #3 Fesser Flex Tubing - Bits Power Fittings & EK SLi Terminal
    rjbarker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    290

    Quote Originally Posted by bmickey View Post
    Hello all! I tried these exact settings and my PC wouldn't boot. "The system has POSTed in safe mode... Press F1 to run Setup.". Once I loaded Optimized Defaults it booted just fine. I then did the same setup as below but went and manually changed memory from 4000 to 3600 frequency with the below settings and it booted fine. Any ideas why I can't get to 4000 with my ram?

    My Specs are:
    Asus Rog Strix Z390-e mobo, Samsung 970 EVO m.2 HD, 2x 8gb G.Skill Tridentz DDR4-4000 PC4-32000 (F4-4000C18D-16GTZKW) , Intel i9-9900k cpu, Corsair 750FX power supply. NZXT Kraken x72 (360mm) AiO.


    QUOTE=x-rated;756842]i would suggest you not to use AI oc at all, you have to adjust just a few things manually
    you can start with this, everything else leave as it is
    dont forget to reset bios to its defaults first
    Code:
    EXTREME TWEAKER:
    AI Overclock Tuner.................................XMP I
    SVID Behavior......................................Best-Case Scenario
    1-Core Ratio Limit.................................50
    Max CPU Cache Ratio................................50
    CPU Core/Cache Voltage.............................Adaptive Mode
    Additional Turbo Mode CPU Core Voltage.............1.350
    
    
    EXTREME TWEAKER -> EXTERNAL DIGI+ POWER CONTROL:
    CPU Load-line Calibration..........................Level 6
    CPU Current Capability.............................170% (or as much as possible)
    
    EXTREME TWEAKER -> INTERNAL CPU POWER MANAGEMENT:
    Long Duration Package Power Limit..................4095
    Package Power Time Windows.........................127
    Short Duration Package Power Limit.................4095
    IA AC Load Line....................................0.01
    IA DC Load Line....................................0.01
    [/QUOTE]


    OC'ing 101 ......all chips are slightly different...(Memory maybe different)........one persons settings wont necessarily work on someone else's system....use the above as a "Guide" not gospel...and go from there....trying to OC and run Memory at high frequencies will likely require you to manually set / adjust barious Memory Parameters...such as vDimm ....VCCIO and System Agent....may even require you to relax Timings....in all honesty better to stick to 3200 - 3800 Mhz Memory with lower CAS
    Last edited by rjbarker; 02-06-2019 at 01:28 AM.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array bmickey PC Specs
    bmickey PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG STRIX Z390E Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i9-9900k
    Memory (part number)F4-4000C18D-16GTZKW
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Nvidia 1080 GTX 8GB GDDR5x
    Storage #1Samsung 970 m.2 1TB
    CPU CoolerKraken NZXT x72 360mm AIO
    CasePhanteks Evolv
    Power SupplySeasonic 750FX
    Mouse Steelseries Rival 600
    Headset Astro A50
    OS Windows 10 Home 64bit

    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Appreciate the input and I'm def new at this. I figured it would be close and understand there prob are differences.

    In saying all that, if it seems stable with all these settings as original poster suggested is there any issue with just changing my frequency to 3600 from 4000? I didn't mess with any of those other settings you mentioned because it booted and after a couple stress tests seems to be fine.

    Thanks for the help!


    OC'ing 101 ......all chips are slightly different...(Memory maybe different)........one persons settings wont necessarily work on someone else's system....use the above as a "Guide" not gospel...and go from there....trying to OC and run Memory at high frequencies will likely require you to manually set / adjust barious Memory Parameters...such as vDimm ....VCCIO and System Agent....may even require you to relax Timings....in all honesty better to stick to 3200 - 3800 Mhz Memory with lower CAS[/QUOTE]

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array djmarks PC Specs
    djmarks PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)PC Specialist Optimus i7 6700HQ
    MotherboardRog Maximus XI Hero
    Processori9 9900k
    Memory (part number)Corsair 16GB DDR4 Vengeance LPX 3200MHz PC4-25600 16-18-18-36
    Graphics Card #1ROG STRIX GTX1070TI A8G GAMING
    MonitorROG Strix XG32VQ
    Storage #1WD 500GB Black NVMe M.2
    Storage #2SanDisk SDSSDX120GG25 & ST2000DM001
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H150i PRO RGB
    CaseThermaltake Suppressor F31
    Power SupplyAntec HCG 750 Watt 80+ Bronze
    Keyboard Element Gaming
    Mouse Roccat Tyon
    Headset Element Gaming PC Headset
    Mouse Pad Akasa Venom XL mat
    Headset/Speakers Otone Soundbar
    OS Windows 10 Home 64bit
    Network RouterCrappy EE router - not even fibre 8-(
    Accessory #1 Razer Tartarus v2
    Accessory #2 Coffee.... lots and lots of coffee!

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Quote Originally Posted by bmickey View Post
    Hello all! I tried these exact settings and my PC wouldn't boot. "The system has POSTed in safe mode... Press F1 to run Setup.". Once I loaded Optimized Defaults it booted just fine. I then did the same setup as below but went and manually changed memory from 4000 to 3600 frequency with the below settings and it booted fine. Any ideas why I can't get to 4000 with my ram?

    My Specs are:
    Asus Rog Strix Z390-e mobo, Samsung 970 EVO m.2 HD, 2x 8gb G.Skill Tridentz DDR4-4000 PC4-32000 (F4-4000C18D-16GTZKW) , Intel i9-9900k cpu, Corsair 750FX power supply. NZXT Kraken x72 (360mm) AiO.


    QUOTE=x-rated;756842]i would suggest you not to use AI oc at all, you have to adjust just a few things manually
    you can start with this, everything else leave as it is
    dont forget to reset bios to its defaults first
    Code:
    EXTREME TWEAKER:
    AI Overclock Tuner.................................XMP I
    SVID Behavior......................................Best-Case Scenario
    1-Core Ratio Limit.................................50
    Max CPU Cache Ratio................................50
    CPU Core/Cache Voltage.............................Adaptive Mode
    Additional Turbo Mode CPU Core Voltage.............1.350
    
    
    EXTREME TWEAKER -> EXTERNAL DIGI+ POWER CONTROL:
    CPU Load-line Calibration..........................Level 6
    CPU Current Capability.............................170% (or as much as possible)
    
    EXTREME TWEAKER -> INTERNAL CPU POWER MANAGEMENT:
    Long Duration Package Power Limit..................4095
    Package Power Time Windows.........................127
    Short Duration Package Power Limit.................4095
    IA AC Load Line....................................0.01
    IA DC Load Line....................................0.01
    [/QUOTE]

    Hi you could try to increase dram voltage to stabalise you memory woes. I know if I put XMP II profile on and set dram frequency to auto, I can get 4000+mhz on my 3200mhz sticks, but it takes a dram voltage of 1.45v which is too high for me.
    So try setting you dram at 4000mhz then starting off with dram voltage @ 1.35v and slowly add 0.05 volts until your stable/get past the post.
    Currently I've my 3200mhz sticks running at 3500mhz on 1.35v , vccio 1.1v and SA 1.1v and my cpu 5ghz @ 1.30v.

    Or - try setting XMP II and dram frequency to auto. When it reboots, check in cpu-z memory tab and the dram frequency listed there needs to be double to get your "true(??)" dram frenquency (mine says 1750.0mhz so x2 = 3500mhz). Then reboot and go back into bios and see what your dram voltage is set at. Hopefully it won't be in red. Quite possibly XMP II will give you a dram frequency higher than your memory is rated at. With that info, you can reset your dram frequency to stock and just gradually reduce dram voltage till it won't post then revert back to last dram voltage . That way you'll have your dram @ 4000mhz and hopefully the lowest working voltage .


    Hope some of this helps. I've been in a similar position as yourself regarding wondering what goes where and why lol but with the great advice from the guys here, I've managed to get a nice oc.
    Good luck

    ps - be a good idea to add your pc specs to your profile so people on here can help you better knowing your setup
    Last edited by djmarks; 02-06-2019 at 01:11 PM.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •