Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 52
  1. #11
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    54

    Quote Originally Posted by djmarks View Post
    Hi Eclipt. I'm avidly reading this thread as I've a very similar rig to R0x0r.
    I've a question about your reference to the offset - what value do you suggest and can you explain (briefly) it's purpose with adaptaive voltage?

    Cheers
    TL;DR: If you set Adaptive voltage mode, enter your desired voltage and see that in cpu-z your real voltage is higher, you need to use the negative offset available in the adaptive mode.

    Generally, your CPU has a built in table, which tells it what "stock" voltage it use for a particular clock speed. If you input anything lower in Adaptive mode, your CPU will not go lower than the value in its' SVID table. That is why you should use the offset option also available in your Adaptive mode.

    Example: I have my 9700k running at 4.9GHz totally stable at 1.31v in manual mode. I set it do Adaptive mode, input 1.31v, but CPU-Z still pops it up to 1.36v at times. So I reckon 1.36v is probably the default voltage for 4.9GHz dialed in the CPU. I then type in 1.36 in my adaptive voltage settings and add an offset of -0.05. Now my voltage only reaches 1.31v~ in CPU-Z during normal usage.

  2. #12
    ROG Enthusiast Array djmarks PC Specs
    djmarks PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)PC Specialist Optimus i7 6700HQ
    MotherboardRog Maximus XI Hero
    Processori9 9900k
    Memory (part number)Corsair 16GB DDR4 Vengeance LPX 3200MHz PC4-25600 16-18-18-36
    Graphics Card #1ROG STRIX GTX1070TI A8G GAMING
    MonitorROG Strix XG32VQ
    Storage #1WD 500GB Black NVMe M.2
    Storage #2SanDisk SDSSDX120GG25 & ST2000DM001
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H150i PRO RGB
    CaseThermaltake Suppressor F31
    Power SupplyAntec HCG 750 Watt 80+ Bronze
    Keyboard Element Gaming
    Mouse Roccat Tyon
    Headset Element Gaming PC Headset
    Mouse Pad Akasa Venom XL mat
    Headset/Speakers Otone Soundbar
    OS Windows 10 Home 64bit
    Network RouterCrappy EE router - not even fibre 8-(
    Accessory #1 Razer Tartarus v2
    Accessory #2 Coffee.... lots and lots of coffee!

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Quote Originally Posted by Eclipt View Post
    TL;DR: If you set Adaptive voltage mode, enter your desired voltage and see that in cpu-z your real voltage is higher, you need to use the negative offset available in the adaptive mode.

    Generally, your CPU has a built in table, which tells it what "stock" voltage it use for a particular clock speed. If you input anything lower in Adaptive mode, your CPU will not go lower than the value in its' SVID table. That is why you should use the offset option also available in your Adaptive mode.

    Example: I have my 9700k running at 4.9GHz totally stable at 1.31v in manual mode. I set it do Adaptive mode, input 1.31v, but CPU-Z still pops it up to 1.36v at times. So I reckon 1.36v is probably the default voltage for 4.9GHz dialed in the CPU. I then type in 1.36 in my adaptive voltage settings and add an offset of -0.05. Now my voltage only reaches 1.31v~ in CPU-Z during normal usage.
    So many thanks Eclipt! I now understand offset!! Your explanation is fantastic!! Cheers!!

  3. #13
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    54

    Quote Originally Posted by djmarks View Post
    So many thanks Eclipt! I now understand offset!! Your explanation is fantastic!! Cheers!!
    It would be great if you could report whether this solved your problem and you have your voltage under control

    P.S. My 1.36v was left off from my 5GHz setup, so for 4.9GHz the SVID value would probably be lower for 9700k Still does the job great for me.

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array rjbarker PC Specs
    rjbarker PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Extreme (BIOS 0605)
    Processor9900K @ 5.1 Ghz w EK Velocity
    Memory (part number)32 GB -Dominator Platinum 3200 Mhz CAS 16
    Graphics Card #1Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Graphics Card #2Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Sound CardOnboard Realtek
    MonitorDell Alienware 34" Ultra wide 120Hz Gsync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512G M.2 NNMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 512G & 256G
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Copper w Nickel Plating
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1600i
    OS W10 HP x64
    Accessory #1 480 * 360 * 240 XSPC Radiators (15 Fans) w 4 Channel 200W Fan Controller
    Accessory #2 XSPC Photon Rez / Vario Pump combo
    Accessory #3 Fesser Flex Tubing - Bits Power Fittings & EK SLi Terminal
    rjbarker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    291

    Great explanation of the Adaptive and Offset feature...was wondering why my idle vcore was higher on my desktop then what i set in Adaptive.....prior to Adaptive...back in the X58 and X79 days....the voltage would drop slightly when idle on your desktop...this was referred to as vDrop.....then of course lower still under load is vDroop....good stuff.

  5. #15
    ROG Enthusiast Array djmarks PC Specs
    djmarks PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)PC Specialist Optimus i7 6700HQ
    MotherboardRog Maximus XI Hero
    Processori9 9900k
    Memory (part number)Corsair 16GB DDR4 Vengeance LPX 3200MHz PC4-25600 16-18-18-36
    Graphics Card #1ROG STRIX GTX1070TI A8G GAMING
    MonitorROG Strix XG32VQ
    Storage #1WD 500GB Black NVMe M.2
    Storage #2SanDisk SDSSDX120GG25 & ST2000DM001
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H150i PRO RGB
    CaseThermaltake Suppressor F31
    Power SupplyAntec HCG 750 Watt 80+ Bronze
    Keyboard Element Gaming
    Mouse Roccat Tyon
    Headset Element Gaming PC Headset
    Mouse Pad Akasa Venom XL mat
    Headset/Speakers Otone Soundbar
    OS Windows 10 Home 64bit
    Network RouterCrappy EE router - not even fibre 8-(
    Accessory #1 Razer Tartarus v2
    Accessory #2 Coffee.... lots and lots of coffee!

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Quote Originally Posted by Eclipt View Post
    It would be great if you could report whether this solved your problem and you have your voltage under control

    P.S. My 1.36v was left off from my 5GHz setup, so for 4.9GHz the SVID value would probably be lower for 9700k Still does the job great for me.
    Hi Eclipt. I'm assuming it's the "Additional Turbo Mode CPU Core Voltage" I should be adjusting?! I've changed it down to 1.33v and as you can see from my attached pic, hwinfo shows the vid voltages as max of 1.34v and 1.335v for a relatively idle result (relatively as there's various programs running ion the background - anti-virus, ramcache, mouse and keyboard software etc). Are these the voltages I should be looking at or the vcore voltage?

    Cheers,Derek

  6. #16
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    54

    Quote Originally Posted by djmarks View Post
    Hi Eclipt. I'm assuming it's the "Additional Turbo Mode CPU Core Voltage" I should be adjusting?! I've changed it down to 1.33v and as you can see from my attached pic, hwinfo shows the vid voltages as max of 1.34v and 1.335v for a relatively idle result (relatively as there's various programs running ion the background - anti-virus, ramcache, mouse and keyboard software etc). Are these the voltages I should be looking at or the vcore voltage?

    Cheers,Derek
    You are correct, the only point where you can input voltage in adaptive is "additional turbo mode cpu core voltage" (actually I don't remember, but it really is the only input except for offset ). You must look at core voltage for your actual voltage - vcore in this case.

  7. #17
    ROG Enthusiast Array djmarks PC Specs
    djmarks PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)PC Specialist Optimus i7 6700HQ
    MotherboardRog Maximus XI Hero
    Processori9 9900k
    Memory (part number)Corsair 16GB DDR4 Vengeance LPX 3200MHz PC4-25600 16-18-18-36
    Graphics Card #1ROG STRIX GTX1070TI A8G GAMING
    MonitorROG Strix XG32VQ
    Storage #1WD 500GB Black NVMe M.2
    Storage #2SanDisk SDSSDX120GG25 & ST2000DM001
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H150i PRO RGB
    CaseThermaltake Suppressor F31
    Power SupplyAntec HCG 750 Watt 80+ Bronze
    Keyboard Element Gaming
    Mouse Roccat Tyon
    Headset Element Gaming PC Headset
    Mouse Pad Akasa Venom XL mat
    Headset/Speakers Otone Soundbar
    OS Windows 10 Home 64bit
    Network RouterCrappy EE router - not even fibre 8-(
    Accessory #1 Razer Tartarus v2
    Accessory #2 Coffee.... lots and lots of coffee!

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Quote Originally Posted by Eclipt View Post
    You are correct, the only point where you can input voltage in adaptive is "additional turbo mode cpu core voltage" (actually I don't remember, but it really is the only input except for offset ). You must look at core voltage for your actual voltage - vcore in this case.
    Cheers eclipt!
    Of course I forgot to attch the pic I was referring to lol

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	hwinfo1.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	87.0 KB 
ID:	78556

  8. #18
    ROG Enthusiast Array djmarks PC Specs
    djmarks PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)PC Specialist Optimus i7 6700HQ
    MotherboardRog Maximus XI Hero
    Processori9 9900k
    Memory (part number)Corsair 16GB DDR4 Vengeance LPX 3200MHz PC4-25600 16-18-18-36
    Graphics Card #1ROG STRIX GTX1070TI A8G GAMING
    MonitorROG Strix XG32VQ
    Storage #1WD 500GB Black NVMe M.2
    Storage #2SanDisk SDSSDX120GG25 & ST2000DM001
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H150i PRO RGB
    CaseThermaltake Suppressor F31
    Power SupplyAntec HCG 750 Watt 80+ Bronze
    Keyboard Element Gaming
    Mouse Roccat Tyon
    Headset Element Gaming PC Headset
    Mouse Pad Akasa Venom XL mat
    Headset/Speakers Otone Soundbar
    OS Windows 10 Home 64bit
    Network RouterCrappy EE router - not even fibre 8-(
    Accessory #1 Razer Tartarus v2
    Accessory #2 Coffee.... lots and lots of coffee!

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Sorry Roxor if it seems like I'm hijacking your thread lol.

    Eclipt - I've ran a xtu stress test overnight with 1.33v and no problems. Looking at the pic I attached in previous post, do I need to use an offset and at what value?

    Also, when I run prime 95 or realbench test, my cpu temps hit 100c so I'm going to re-do the thermal paste when I get home from work later

    Edit - rolled back to prime 26.6 and temps much better now - only maxing at 85c which is much less scary than 100c previously lol
    Last edited by djmarks; 01-29-2019 at 02:10 PM.

  9. #19
    ROG Enthusiast Array djmarks PC Specs
    djmarks PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)PC Specialist Optimus i7 6700HQ
    MotherboardRog Maximus XI Hero
    Processori9 9900k
    Memory (part number)Corsair 16GB DDR4 Vengeance LPX 3200MHz PC4-25600 16-18-18-36
    Graphics Card #1ROG STRIX GTX1070TI A8G GAMING
    MonitorROG Strix XG32VQ
    Storage #1WD 500GB Black NVMe M.2
    Storage #2SanDisk SDSSDX120GG25 & ST2000DM001
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H150i PRO RGB
    CaseThermaltake Suppressor F31
    Power SupplyAntec HCG 750 Watt 80+ Bronze
    Keyboard Element Gaming
    Mouse Roccat Tyon
    Headset Element Gaming PC Headset
    Mouse Pad Akasa Venom XL mat
    Headset/Speakers Otone Soundbar
    OS Windows 10 Home 64bit
    Network RouterCrappy EE router - not even fibre 8-(
    Accessory #1 Razer Tartarus v2
    Accessory #2 Coffee.... lots and lots of coffee!

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Ok - i've the volatge down to 1.31v which i can see reflected in the vcore section.

    X-rated explained the difference between vid and vcore as "vid is what cpu would like to use, vcore is what it gets", so shouldn't I really be setting vcore at 1.33 or 1.34v?

    I'll run an extended stress test in a bit but do I need to use an offset and if so, how much?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	volts.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	83.7 KB 
ID:	78567

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array x-rated PC Specs
    x-rated PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XI Formula - Intel Z390
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-9900K @ 5 GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z F4-3600C16D-16GTZR - 4x 8 GB, 4 GHz, 18-18-18-38
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FE - 2,1/15,6 GHz
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD
    MonitorDell UP2715K - 5120x2880, AH-IPS, 10bit
    Storage #1Sabrent Rocket - 4 TB, 3 GB/s
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 Blackout TG
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i - 1 KW, 83 A, 80Plus Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G810 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G403 Prodigy Wired
    Headset Sennheiser HD 660 S
    Mouse Pad Razer Manticor
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterHuawei HG8245H @ 1 Gb/s FTTH GPON
    Accessory #1 EKWB Velocity + Vector
    Accessory #2 EKWB XRES 140 Revo D5 PWM + 2x CoolStream XE 360
    Accessory #3 6x Noiseblocker NB-eLoop Fan B12-PS
    x-rated's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    203

    Quote Originally Posted by djmarks View Post
    Edit - rolled back to prime 26.6 and temps much better now - only maxing at 85c which is much less scary than 100c previously lol
    no need to use obsolete prime95, you can easily disable advanced cpu features in latest prime95 settings if you have insufficient cooling

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	prime.png 
Views:	1 
Size:	16.5 KB 
ID:	78568
    Last edited by x-rated; 01-29-2019 at 05:44 PM.

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •