Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    157

    GT-AX11000 New Firmware - Discussion thread

    Gt-AX11000 is still on firmware 3.0.0.4.384.5252 released on 2018/11/22
    Meanwhile, the RT-ax88u has had multiple firmware updates and is now on 3.0.0.4.384.5640 released on 2019/01/18.
    When will we see new firmware for the flagship ??
    Last edited by broncogr; 03-29-2019 at 07:08 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array stefan063 PC Specs
    stefan063 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)EUROCOM X6W
    MotherboardIntel Z170
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)32GB
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GTX980
    Graphics Card #2None
    Graphics Card #3None
    Graphics Card #4None
    Sound CardRealtek
    Monitor17" LG
    Storage #1256GB Samsung EVO 960 NvME
    Storage #2256GB Samsung EVO 960 NvME
    CPU CoolerStock
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Logitech G933
    Mouse Pad Logitech
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterASUS GT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    95

    Quote Originally Posted by broncogr View Post
    Gt-AX11000 is still on firmware 3.0.0.4.384.5252 released on 2018/11/22
    Meanwhile, the RT-ax88u has had multiple firmware updates and is now on 3.0.0.4.384.5640 released on 2019/01/18.
    When will we see new firmware for the flagship ??
    It may be flagship by HW and SW, but that's where "flagship" ends... It is the same story like with GT-AC5300... They are fixing and updating more cheaper router from line-up, because they have sold 1000x more, cheap WiFi device than expensive ones. So, son't bother to ask for new FW...

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    157

    Do you own one?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array stefan063 PC Specs
    stefan063 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)EUROCOM X6W
    MotherboardIntel Z170
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)32GB
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GTX980
    Graphics Card #2None
    Graphics Card #3None
    Graphics Card #4None
    Sound CardRealtek
    Monitor17" LG
    Storage #1256GB Samsung EVO 960 NvME
    Storage #2256GB Samsung EVO 960 NvME
    CPU CoolerStock
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Logitech G933
    Mouse Pad Logitech
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterASUS GT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    95

    Quote Originally Posted by broncogr View Post
    Do you own one?
    I own GT-AC5300. I wanted to sell GT-AC5300 and buy GT-AX1100, but after reading few reviews and forums I decided not to. Since it will probably have "childhood" problems like GT-AC5300, which by the way still has.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    157

    No issues with either the RT-AX88U or GT-AX11000 for me.
    I have them running in mesh at the moment
    One thing to have in mind for the GT-AX11000 is that you cant do the initial setup if your pc is connected to the 2.5 ethernet port, as part of the setup assigns that port to either Lan or Wan (with Wan being the default I gather)

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array Shazbat PC Specs
    Shazbat PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI
    ProcessorProcessor Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-7980XE CPU @ 2.60GHz, 2601 Mhz, 18 Core(s), 36 Logical Processor(s)
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-3200C14Q2-128GTZSW
    Graphics Card #1Titan X (Pascal)
    Graphics Card #2Titan X (Pascal)
    MonitorPreditor X34
    CaseLian LI DK-05
    Shazbat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    I got mine working but it was a pain and I am still tinkering.

    I have Two working together in a mesh. But I cannot seem to get my old GT5300 to work with them. (yet)

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    2.5GB port issues

    For the most part mines stable. I am not using Mesh. What is giving me issue is the 2.5GB ethernet port. I am using the ROG Areion 10GB card with a Cat 7 50ft cable. I was trying to download Battlefield V and it would stop every 2 mins. It would say cable is connected but no internet. If I disabled and reenabled the nic, it was fine for 2 mins and then would die again. I tried something large on Steam and same thing. The first cable I had was (Below #1) then I swapped it for (#2). Have not tested it out since I just got the new cable. Both cables are 50ft versions.

    So yes I am wondering the same thing. When are we getting a new firmware. I get it they sell 1000 cheap Asus router compared to this, but at $450 they are making more profit. So they can afford to do updates. The people who buy $100 routers, keep them for 5+ years. They make $20 and have to keep updating it. At $450 I would guess they make $150+, those people are going to get the new model every year. They are also your techie customers who need less customer support, which means more profit.


    1. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
    2. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

  8. #8
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    I'm having some issues with the GT-AX11000 (mesh host) and RT-AX88U (mesh node). Looking at client list in network map, I see all my wireless connections completely drop off for a few seconds and they slowly start repopulating. The RT-AX88U is in my garage/guest house and it has a strong connection to the GT-AX11000, 4 devices connected to it, 3 roku and 1 garage door opener. The Roku devices are having constant buffering issues from what I can only imagine is the GT-AX11000 dropping all the wireless devices every so often. You'd think spending that much on networking devices would mean less problems, but I guess you don't always get what you pay for. I'd imagine this can be solved by a firmware update on the 11000, but seeing as we're almost 3 months out from the last one... Help?

  9. #9
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Found this on a UK site:
    I have from ASUS been given this latest beta firmware for the GT-AX11000 to share.
    No changelog etc, but hopefully addresses a few of the main issues currently associated with the ASUS GT-AX11000
    Usual UKTechHub.com Beta Firmware Policy applies (top of forum)
    GT-AX11000_9.0.0.4_384_5781-g59be799_cferom_ubi.w
    https://www.asuswebstorage.com/navig...3814E0DA2C0D6Y
    Source: https://uktechhub.com/forums/topic/a...beta-firmware/

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Quote Originally Posted by broncogr View Post
    No issues with either the RT-AX88U or GT-AX11000 for me.
    I have them running in mesh at the moment
    One thing to have in mind for the GT-AX11000 is that you cant do the initial setup if your pc is connected to the 2.5 ethernet port, as part of the setup assigns that port to either Lan or Wan (with Wan being the default I gather)
    Thank you very much for this tip on the 2.5GE port! Having tried unsuccessfully to use this port for the initial setup, I thought that it was defective or that there was a bug in the firmware and did not bother trying again once the router was up and running. After numerous frustrating and futile exchanges with ASUS technical support, I came across this thread which provided me with the simple and straightforward explanation that I was looking for! I only wish ASUS had included this important point in their documentation.

    I am curious, though, whether or not the default 1GE WAN port could be used as a 5th LAN port if the 2.5GE port were used for WAN instead of LAN? Any thoughts on this?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •