Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Can you say soiled drawers?

    So im just farting around with my cards nothing heavy tweaking a little with GPU tweak trying to find a sweet spot. Between decent clock and lower temps until I can get under water with my pair of 2080Ti O11G cards. The after applying the last setting I go to load port royal and the screen locks then starts and it wont load the bench. I launch GPUZ and that locks it up. So reboot, and uninstall GPU Tweak and wipe it (this is getting old as it keeps causing problems) and im none the better. OK so lets reinstall drivers.....nope loader fails. reboot and the cards have big yellow triangles in device manager. Im like great.....DDU.....nope....several attempts and then reboot, cards lights are flashing red and no display. Im like great.....$3000 worth of cards cooked. So try them one at a time....nope. Now Im thinking my PSU has crapped the bed as even though its 1500 watts these cards pull some serious juice. So pull them and put in my trusty back up and I get a display and im like great they really are cooked. Well booting into widows the circling dots stop circling.....brand new 905P drive just put it in. So hard power off and start again and disk check and repair commences all by itself, when it finishes I boot up, it loads default drivers then I install a clean install of the drivers. OK now that card is up. So lets see what happens when I yank it and put in one of the 2080Tis. It went OK, booted and reloaded drivers again and it benched a run at default no problems. Install second card and Nvlink bridge, reload again because for whatever reason it doenst like initiating SLI manually, wants you to shut down half dozen back ground apps that makes no sense and reboot....reload is just easier. So it takes no problems and I can wipe my shorts out. Ive had it do strange things but not to this level. Like it harshed the direvers and the kernel and the MBR. new drive makes me wonder but this is not the first episode with GPU tweak on these cards where it just locks in messed up whatever and I have to jump through flaming hoops to recover. Im thinking Im going to sit back a bit and not install it again until a new release comes out. It had its little quirks with pascal cards but its majorly going fubar on these 2080Ti's. Maybe needs some optimization. it wasnt clocks as I dialed it back to 1700 from 1805 just trying to ge to where I still get some decent performance without having to open my door. I guess 1650 will do for now.

  2. #2
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    294
    Posts
    7,439

    Not that I want you to soil your drawers again but it would be interesting to know if the same series of changes in another vendor's tool would cause the same issue. I guess I mean, is it the tool or does Nvidia's firmware have some issues? I suppose we'll find out if anyone else encounters this.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  3. #3
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    Not that I want you to soil your drawers again but it would be interesting to know if the same series of changes in another vendor's tool would cause the same issue. I guess I mean, is it the tool or does Nvidia's firmware have some issues? I suppose we'll find out if anyone else encounters this.
    I cant seem to get After Burner or Precision X to work on these cards. Precision X installs but with errors about detection and afterburner installs lets you move sliders but wont apply any settings. That was my first try when The issue I was having was freezing in bench runs and artifacts and putting it back to default values and applying did nothing.

    Im going to try Afterburner again today to see what I get. At least it didn't make my machine go bat sheet crazy. I would love to post up screenshots but its not possible when everything is just freezing up with screen going black, the sound of disconnecting hardware then the screen comes back and it eventually takes a hard reset. I tried setting BIOS to default values with no luck either. Im going to stay off of GPU tweak II for some time as I cant say for sure that this is the culprit, only that every time was after a change in settings, applying those settings, then BAM. Even GPUZ locks up or takes a very long time to load and shows default values when it should not or OC values when it should be default. If I stay off it and have no more such issues then I would have to say there is something going on with GPU tweak and Turing core.

    I still have until the end of January to return for replacement but think Ill get a refund instead as their stock and prices are bouncing like crazy. Last batch they had listed at $1399, right now they are at $1379. I got mine for $1329 and jumped on them like a jack rabbit. I hate crypto miners!!! I picked same cards in 1080Ti flavor before they went through the roof for $650 each from Micro center Sequential serial numbers even. Now you cant even get the 1080Ti cards for anything less than $1200. Add Ti to it and the price doubles due to miners sucking up all the stock. I wish there was a way they could disable mining on these cards and force them to buy the $2500+ cards instead of putting these out of reach for most people. Even DOD is using GPUs for compute power for anything from weather models at NOAA to things Im not allowed to talk about but they arent using consumer grade stuff. All Quadro top dogs which makes more sense but cost on those makes these chump change with MSRP at like $9K per card.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array panzlock PC Specs
    panzlock PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS X553M, ASUS Zenpad 10 Z300M, ASUS X542BA-DH99
    MotherboardASUS P8Z68-V LX, ASUS Z170-A, ASUS ROG Strix B350-F Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i5-2500K, Intel i7-6700K, AMD Ryzen R7 1700
    Memory (part number)8GB Kingston 1333MhzDDR3 C9, 16GB G.Skill Aegis 3000Mhz DDR4 C16, 16GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200Mhz C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 560Ti, ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1070 O8G OC, Sapphire Nitro+ RX Vega 56
    Monitor32" INSIGNIA 720p, 32" Samsung 1080p C32F391FWN, 32" ASUS 1440p VA32AQ
    Storage #1Seagate 150GB 7200RPM, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB 2.5" 6Gb/s Solid State Drive (X2)
    Storage #2Seagate 500GB 7200RPM, WD Blue 3TB - 5400 RPM SATA 6 Gb/s 64MB Cache 3.5 Inch
    CPU CoolerDeepcool GAMMAXX 300, Deepcool Lucifer V2, Wraith Spire
    CaseAntec Sonata, Deepcool Dukase V1, Deepcool Dukase V3
    Power SupplyATX 650, EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2 (X2)
    Keyboard Logitech K220, MSI Interceptor DS4200 (X2)
    Mouse Microsoft 1850, Microsoft 4500, Gamdias Erebos LE, MSI DS 100, Redragon M601 Centrophorus
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z313, Logitech Z506 (X2)
    OS Windows 10 Home X64, Windows 10 Pro X64 (X2)
    panzlock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    701

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    ...$3000 worth of cards...
    I shhhoiled myself when I read the price.
    I'd like to deploy my troops in her country.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    Justin,
    Do you have issues using AB, or Precision with one card only or only with 2 cards as I have no issues with either and one 2080ti.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array mdzcpa PC Specs
    mdzcpa PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero XI
    Processor9900k @ 5.1Ghz All Core 1.315v AVX -2
    Memory (part number)Gskill GTZ 4133 C17 32GB (4x8GB)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 2080 TI OC
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorROG PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro M.2 512GB for OS & APPS
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro M.2 1TB for GAMES
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CasePhanteks Evolv X
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 1000W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Corsaur VOID Pro
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Wide Desk Mat
    OS WIN 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys VELOP
    Accessory #1 ROG 751JY Laptop for Moobile Gaming
    Accessory #2 Koolance EXC-800 Chiller
    Accessory #3 25+ years of overclocking

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    79
    Posts
    914

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    Justin,
    Do you have issues using AB, or Precision with one card only or only with 2 cards as I have no issues with either and one 2080ti.
    I have had no issue with either GPU Tweak II or AB on my 2080 Ti Strix cards in either single or SLI. Of note, I tend not to run the latest NVidia drivers unless a specific fix is needed. I'm usually a few versions back. I'm running 417.22 ATM. Also, when testing SLI one card was an OC version and the other Advanced. Didn't seem to mind it.

  7. #7
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    Justin,
    Do you have issues using AB, or Precision with one card only or only with 2 cards as I have no issues with either and one 2080ti.
    *tried with both.
    Problem with afterburner is resolved. Has to be latest beta version or it’s a no go. Currently running the bejesus out of it without issues. Right now tweaking to get the max out of it while staying just under the power limit.*

    Getting hot in herre! Had to rig a fan blowing in the back of the PCIE slots to get the temps down on the top card. Window behind PC open, it’s about 40F out. Good thing I put a window AC in that window for the summer!*

    It will run up to +160 core with zero volts increases in AB. Hits power limit repeatedly so that’s pointless. *
    Last edited by JustinThyme; 01-24-2019 at 09:52 PM.

  8. #8
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Quote Originally Posted by mdzcpa View Post
    I have had no issue with either GPU Tweak II or AB on my 2080 Ti Strix cards in either single or SLI. Of note, I tend not to run the latest NVidia drivers unless a specific fix is needed. I'm usually a few versions back. I'm running 417.22 ATM. Also, when testing SLI one card was an OC version and the other Advanced. Didn't seem to mind it.
    normally that just defaults to the slower card.*

  9. #9
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    AB seems to work on settings but Im not so sure the power and power limit graphs are correct. I actually underclocked to 1450 Turbo and still hit power limit according to their graphs like as soon as I load it up on the primary card. GPU tweak didnt show a power limit until I hit past 1780 where it was hitting it here and there and averaging 2050 output.
    So in the meantime Ill just go with mediocre as I know I can hit +155 stable on air. Ill just leave it stock or maybe +100 and call it a day until I can get blocks.


    EKWB replied to my email asking when on their blocks and I didnt even get a time frame at all. I got I know we are making them and to keep watching the news page for the announcement.
    https://www.ekwb.com/news/

  10. #10
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    294
    Posts
    7,439

    FWIW, there are free services to notify you when a site changes. It'd be better if manufacturers had a Notify Me option, but such is life.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •