Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Question Rampage VI Omega - where t put M.2 when using SLI and 9800x

    So

    I'm finally assembling my beast and I'm looking to optimise the NVME

    I have Samsung 970 pro that I'm really not sure how best to optimise

    The PCIe slots are set up with dual RTXti and I will probably put my sound blaster in the X4 slot.

    I'm a bit foggy on how the PCIe lanes thing works with the m.2 locations.

    Where is the best place to put the m.2 without impacting either the soundcard or the two x16 slots ?

    I know this should be obvious but I'm second guessing myself

    Thanks all

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Where did you placed your cards?

    GPU1 => PCIE 3.0 x16_1
    GPU2 => PCIE 3.0 x16_2

    Due to space issue you can install the sound card only in PCIE 3.0 x16_3 - or is this not the case?*if I read the manual correctly, then you would have 16x 8x with the graphics cards and not 16x 16x - which brings only a small loss with it (fps). But maybe I'm wrong... you will see it as soon as you bring up your system.

    The lower M.2 slot share the bandwith with the U.2 and use PCH instead of CPU lanes. So the best way should be to install the NVMe on the upper M.2 slot or on the DIMM.2 card. This is what I'm understanding if I read the manual and specifications on the ASUS homepage.

    I have my Omega here and will start to install my SLI / VROC in the next days.
    *
    Last edited by shark75; 01-27-2019 at 09:25 AM.

  3. #3
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,857

    The RTX 2080Ti is the first card to actually saturate X8 bandwidth. If your installation cuts one of the cards back to X8 expect to take a 5% or so performance hit.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    I found the following video on YT:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=84OkcOYmXOk&t=7s

    *

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by shark75 View Post
    Where did you placed your cards?

    GPU1 => PCIE 3.0 x16_1
    GPU2 => PCIE 3.0 x16_2

    Due to space issue you can install the sound card only in PCIE 3.0 x16_3 - or is this not the case?*if I read the manual correctly, then you would have 16x 8x with the graphics cards and not 16x 16x - which brings only a small loss with it (fps). But maybe I'm wrong... you will see it as soon as you bring up your system.

    The lower M.2 slot share the bandwith with the U.2 and use PCH instead of CPU lanes. So the best way should be to install the NVMe on the upper M.2 slot or on the DIMM.2 card. This is what I'm understanding if I read the manual and specifications on the ASUS homepage.

    I have my Omega here and will start to install my SLI / VROC in the next days.
    *

    Yeah - I've put the Samsumg Pro into 2_1 on the DIMM.2 for that reason. Again my assumption is the DIMM.2 isn't sharing the CPU lanes with the x4 slot either.

    The not being able to access the x4 slot is the design flaw I hate in the Omega (unlike others I'm actually a fan) but this bit sucks as no one is doing a 100mm NVLink bridge (at least as far as I know - let me know if you know otherwise). Its annoying enough that I cant use my 4 slot bridge from the my Rampage V which is what I've been using on the Twin2080Ti up to now.

    In fact as I've put EK Vectors on both the cards they are single slot cards now - bit obviously the back/input plate blocks the x4 and i'm wary of removing one …
    Last edited by Gaspode; 01-27-2019 at 03:00 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    The RTX 2080Ti is the first card to actually saturate X8 bandwidth. If your installation cuts one of the cards back to X8 expect to take a 5% or so performance hit.
    Yep - no way I'm using the x16 slot for a sound card … so what I need is a 100mm NVlink bridge...
    Last edited by Gaspode; 01-27-2019 at 03:01 PM.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Where did you want to install your sound card if not in the PCIE 3.0 x16_3?*
    *

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by shark75 View Post
    Where did you want to install your sound card if not in the PCIE 3.0 x16_3?*
    *
    in the PCIE3x4 slot directly below the 16_2 - which is what I did on the RAMPAGE V x99 - its a 4 slot NVLink option so the soundblaster slots in nicely in between on the V - whereas on the VI Omega you don't have the 4 slot option for x16 - just 3 and 5 - so if someone did a 5slot 100mm NVLink bridge that would work.
    Last edited by Gaspode; 01-27-2019 at 04:29 PM.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    But a NVLINK bridge (100mm), which is needed for that setup, are not available on the market :-(
    The maximum is actually 80mm.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by shark75 View Post
    But a NVLINK bridge (100mm), which is needed for that setup, are not available on the market :-(
    The maximum is actually 80mm.
    Yep - kind of my point

    It's somewhat annoying - Asus really didn't think this through. Which is a shame as I think the Omega is great apart from the x4 slot location.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •