Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    ROG Rampage VI Apex / NV FE 3090 , Bios from 3006 to 3201, impact on fps

    hi and greetings from germany

    as first sorry for my engl but i hope this is understanable , so i did a update from bios v3006 to 3201 , no problems with the update , had no problems with 3006 and also 3201 works fine so far

    did no major changes within the bios while i was on 3006 and now 3201 both have the same settings allmost everything is stock , only xmp was switched on and turned of some rgb , and i made sure the every other setting within the bios is the same

    this bios had a major impackt on my frames i lost round 2000 graphics score benchmarking 3dmark time spy

    https://www.3dmark.com/compare/spy/1.../spy/15296456#

    this 8 benchmarks show , the first to the left is on 3006 , the next 6 are 3201 , the last to the right is the second bios on my board what i updated to 3006

    the same witth other benchmark for example the valley benchmark , the left is 3006 and the right is 3201

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Valley.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	153.3 KB 
ID:	86854


    my pc settings

    ASUS ROG Rampage VI Apex
    Ram 32 gig quad kit 3000mhz
    nvidia 3090 fe

    as first i thougt the while on the new bios the pcie x 16 3.0 dosent work fine , while running a game ans also gpu-z it jumped to 16 3.0 but sometimes it diped down to 2.0 ........ i tought nothing of it may the dip is when the card is not pushed enough .... this dips are just a part of a second went down and right backl up so i think this is normal behavior

    edit

    like i said i compared both bios setting i did with 3006 and 3201 everything is set so the same .
    Last edited by scryed; 11-15-2020 at 11:28 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    83

    they will never care about us .

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    maybee i should fill the Bug Form.... I did post this while hoping some mods would see this, i hope they do

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by scryed View Post
    hi and greetings from germany

    as first sorry for my engl but i hope this is understanable , so i did a update from bios v3006 to 3201 , no problems with the update , had no problems with 3006 and also 3201 works fine so far

    did no major changes within the bios while i was on 3006 and now 3201 both have the same settings allmost everything is stock , only xmp was switched on and turned of some rgb , and i made sure the every other setting within the bios is the same

    this bios had a major impackt on my frames i lost round 2000 graphics score benchmarking 3dmark time spy

    https://www.3dmark.com/compare/spy/1.../spy/15296456#

    this 8 benchmarks show , the first to the left is on 3006 , the next 6 are 3201 , the last to the right is the second bios on my board what i updated to 3006

    the same witth other benchmark for example the valley benchmark , the left is 3006 and the right is 3201

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Valley.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	153.3 KB 
ID:	86854


    my pc settings

    ASUS ROG Rampage VI Apex
    Ram 32 gig quad kit 3000mhz
    nvidia 3090 fe

    as first i thougt the while on the new bios the pcie x 16 3.0 dosent work fine , while running a game ans also gpu-z it jumped to 16 3.0 but sometimes it diped down to 2.0 ........ i tought nothing of it may the dip is when the card is not pushed enough .... this dips are just a part of a second went down and right backl up so i think this is normal behavior

    edit

    like i said i compared both bios setting i did with 3006 and 3201 everything is set so the same .
    You made me curious we have almost identical systems but i'm still on 2002 Bios cause that is the only one that has TSX support everything beyond that TSX its disabled.

    Here is my score for Valley with same 3090FE GPU and RVI Apex

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Valley_Bench.PNG 
Views:	0 
Size:	37.8 KB 
ID:	86861

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    130

    X299-XE with 7820x on 3201 and TSX detected on latest cpu-z 1.94

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by SirWaWa View Post
    X299-XE with 7820x on 3201 and TSX detected on latest cpu-z 1.94
    Not for 10980xe only for 7xxx

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Forgot to mention this my CPU is a 10940x at Stock also the gpu is stock, for TSX i can Look for IT later this Day

    @gamingarea could you run 3d Mark timespy

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by scryed View Post
    Forgot to mention this my CPU is a 10940x at Stock also the gpu is stock, for TSX i can Look for IT later this Day

    @gamingarea could you run 3d Mark timespy
    https://www.3dmark.com/spy/14368879

    Also please let me know if TSX is enabled for you. Thanks

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Hello,

    In this version of the bios I have the same problem as in 3105. The processor has much higher temperatures under load, which means it has to reduce its clock speed. This is clearly visible on the screens I attached to the report with the BIOS 3105:

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...ge3#post813618

    In the 3006 version, the results were significantly better due to much lower temperatures under full load. This is definitely a problem for verification by ASUS engineers.

    My system:
    ASUS STRIX X299-E GAMING
    Intel i7 7820X processor
    RAM memory G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 4 x 16 GB 3600 MHz 17-19-19-39-2T 1.350V @ 3600 MHz 16-19-19-39-1T 1.350V
    CPU cooler Scythe Fuma 2 + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut
    PC housing EVGA DG-87 + 8 x 140 mm fans

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array FireRx PC Specs
    FireRx PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel 7900 X
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMD32GX4MA2800c16
    Graphics Card #1EGVA RTX 2080ti
    Sound Cardonboard
    MonitorLG 34" curved
    Storage #1Samsung 960 M2 SSD 1 terabyte
    Storage #2Samsumg 850 PRO SSD 1Tb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i
    CaseLian Li VS2000
    Power SupplyThermaltake 1200 modular
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Logitech
    Headset Powerbeats Pro
    Mouse Pad Xtrac Ripper XL
    Headset/Speakers logitech
    OS Windows 10 Pro 19037
    Network RouterNetGear
    Accessory #1 Logitech G940 FLight gear
    FireRx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    711

    welp, that answers my question. Staying right on the bios I am now on. these new ones I come here to find how it going for others first before I update. I have a RTX 3090 FE too. I don't want to lose any performance gains I have now.

    Thanks, Guys!
    Intel Core i9 10900X @4.7ghz @1.182v
    Asus Rampage VI Extreme [bios 3105]
    LG (34U97-s) Monitor 3440 x1440
    Nvidia RTX 30909 FE
    Windows 10 Pro
    32gbz Memory

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •