Page 42 of 54 FirstFirst ... 32 40 41 42 43 44 52 ... LastLast
Results 411 to 420 of 536
  1. #411
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array tistou77 PC Specs
    tistou77 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme Encore
    Processor10980XE @4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorDell U2417H
    Storage #1Intel Optane 905P PCIe
    Storage #2Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    CPU CoolerWatercooling
    CaseLian Li A77F
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech LIK
    Mouse Logitech MX revolution
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    tistou77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    103
    Posts
    1,580

    Quote Originally Posted by gridironcpj View Post
    Got it. Any chance you can also modify 3006 with microcode 49? Also, any idea if using old microcodes could result in instability of any kind? Not necessarily hardware instability.

    https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/m...-ASUS-3006.zip

    Also, my idle temperatures are about 5C above fluid temperature in my loop when using newer microcodes, whereas idle temps are the same as my fluid temperature when using microcode 49. The latter obviously makes sense and has always been the case with any CPU I've water cooled.
    I'm doing this to you tomorrow for the 49

    No problem using it with a CPU 7000 (just that it is not up to date for the latest vulnerabilities, but these vulnerabilities have been around for more than 10 years and have only been discovered recently)

    There would just be a bug with the AVX512 if greater than 4200mhz, if I remember correctly (never tested)
    Not using any programs supporting the AVX512, I always set this frequency @stock

    @vmanuelgm
    The Asus also have this "option" since the release of the R6E (if we talk about the same thing in Gigabyte's post)
    It's just if we want to have a "protection" temperature different from that applied by the TJmax but it does not modify the TJMax (only the microcode can do it)
    Some had set to 90° (the CPU goes into safety at this temperature)
    Sorry for my english


    Case: Lian Li A77F
    MB: Rampage VI Extreme Encore
    CPU: i9 10980XE
    RAM: G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    GPU: EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    OS: Intel Optane 905P PCIe
    DATA: Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    SOUND: Asus Xonar Phoebus

  2. #412
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array vmanuelgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    315

    Since I didn't have an Asus from the beginning, don't know if Asus had a 120 degrees limit for CPU protection, but Gigabyte did under TJMax temperature parameter. Windows would only report 105 degrees because of the Microcode limitation in that time. Having a parameter like this is what really matters, in order to avoid processor throttling=practical differences.

    U opened threads and threads, Intel or Aida webs for example, they never say bug, u still using Microcode 49. Intel says in its FAQ there is no problem nowadays reaching the TJMax cos of Processor protections. MC 49 bugged for AVX512, obsolete, doesn't protect against anything, performance is similar (u can get 50 points more in Cinebench at most)...

    A bit stubborn???


    What is Tjunction max temperature?
    What is Tcase max temperature?
    Could my processor gets damaged from overheating?
    It's unlikely that a processor would get damaged from overheating, due to the operational safeguards in place. Processors have two modes of thermal protection, throttling and automatic shutdown. When a core exceeds the set throttle temperature, it will reduce power to maintain a safe temperature level. The throttle temperature can vary by processor and BIOS settings. If the processor is unable to maintain a safe operating temperature through throttling actions, it will automatically shut down to prevent permanent damage.

    Does Intel provide temperature ranges for each processor?
    How can I check the Tjunction max or Tcase max for my processor?
    Is it bad if my processor frequently approaches or reaches its maximum temperature?
    Not necessarily. Many Intel® processors make use of Intel® Turbo Boost Technology, which allows them to operate at very high frequency for a short amount of time. When the processor is operating at or near its maximum frequency it's possible for the temperature to climb very rapidly and quickly reach its maximum temperature. In sustained workloads, it's possible the processor will operate at or near its maximum temperature limit. Being at maximum temperature while running a workload isn't necessarily cause for concern. Intel processors constantly monitor their temperature and can very rapidly adjust their frequency and power consumption to prevent overheating and damage.

    How can I check if my system cooling solution is adequate?
    Where can I find more information if my computer is overheating?


    https://www.intel.com/content/www/us...rocessors.html
    Last edited by vmanuelgm; 02-28-2020 at 11:11 PM.
    Omega, 7980xe, G.Skill 3600, 2080Ti, SM951 256, 970 PRO, 860 EVO
    Intel 750, WD SN750 Black, 840 Pro, 2xSkyhawk 4TB, 7200.14, 207EBK
    EVGA T2 1600, Silverstone TJ11, Custom LC. @Acer Predator x34

  3. #413
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array tistou77 PC Specs
    tistou77 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme Encore
    Processor10980XE @4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorDell U2417H
    Storage #1Intel Optane 905P PCIe
    Storage #2Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    CPU CoolerWatercooling
    CaseLian Li A77F
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech LIK
    Mouse Logitech MX revolution
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    tistou77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    103
    Posts
    1,580

    I don't care about all that
    I do not do "the hunt" at temperatures (watercooling, etc ...) to have a microcode that heats up more

    If you have trouble understanding this, I can't help you
    Pass to another thing
    Sorry for my english


    Case: Lian Li A77F
    MB: Rampage VI Extreme Encore
    CPU: i9 10980XE
    RAM: G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    GPU: EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    OS: Intel Optane 905P PCIe
    DATA: Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    SOUND: Asus Xonar Phoebus

  4. #414
    ROG Enthusiast Array gridironcpj PC Specs
    gridironcpj PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme Omega
    Processori9 7980XE @ 4.8GHz
    Memory (part number)Trident Z RGB 4000 CL16 32GB
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080 Ti
    MonitorROG PG27UQ
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 960 Evo 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G502 RGB
    Headset Sennheiser HD 650
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 Schiit Valhalla 2 Tube Amp
    Accessory #2 Schiit Modi 2 Uber DAC
    Accessory #3 Blue Yeti Blackout Edition
    gridironcpj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Quote Originally Posted by tistou77 View Post
    I'm doing this to you tomorrow for the 49

    No problem using it with a CPU 7000 (just that it is not up to date for the latest vulnerabilities, but these vulnerabilities have been around for more than 10 years and have only been discovered recently)

    There would just be a bug with the AVX512 if greater than 4200mhz, if I remember correctly (never tested)
    Not using any programs supporting the AVX512, I always set this frequency @stock

    @vmanuelgm
    The Asus also have this "option" since the release of the R6E (if we talk about the same thing in Gigabyte's post)
    It's just if we want to have a "protection" temperature different from that applied by the TJmax but it does not modify the TJMax (only the microcode can do it)
    Some had set to 90° (the CPU goes into safety at this temperature)
    Thank you! I appreciate it. I haven't run across ant issues with AVX-512 loads with frequencies higher than 4200MHz. In fact, a few months ago I was running 3dmark Time Spy Extreme's CPU test with the instruction set changed to AVX-512 for a "bench-a-thon" with some other folks and everything ran fine. This was all with microcode 49.

  5. #415
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    @tistou77, thanks for the releases. Wonderful.

    I see that MC69 is the latest release. Are you going to update R6E 3006 bios with MC69?

  6. #416
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array vmanuelgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    315

    Avx512 is buggy in MC 49. U can try ycruncher and u'll see it ends stopping upon an error above 4200, or even at lower clocks.

    @Tistou77
    So u don't care after going around several webs and having been told it must be intentional, also after multiple MC revisions which confirm there is no bug=stubborn.

    Then u say u don't want to heat up, who wants to heat up??? Not me, I just checked if your beloved MC is really important to achieve better overclocks , and found it isn't. What it is=obsolete and buggy.

    I even tried 2E, before any mitigations to find it is also buggy.
    Last edited by vmanuelgm; 02-29-2020 at 11:27 AM.
    Omega, 7980xe, G.Skill 3600, 2080Ti, SM951 256, 970 PRO, 860 EVO
    Intel 750, WD SN750 Black, 840 Pro, 2xSkyhawk 4TB, 7200.14, 207EBK
    EVGA T2 1600, Silverstone TJ11, Custom LC. @Acer Predator x34

  7. #417
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array restsugavan PC Specs
    restsugavan PC Specs
    MotherboardRAMPAGE VI EXTREME
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 7980XE 2.6GHz
    Memory (part number)64GB GSKILL 3.2 GHz 16-16-18-36 2T
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG POSEIDON 1080Ti
    MonitorSAMSUNG UD590D
    Storage #1INTEL600P 1TB
    Storage #2WD 4TB External HDD
    CPU CoolerNZXT KRAKEN 62
    CaseCorsair Carbine 540
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Microsoft
    Mouse Microsoft
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Sony
    OS Windows 10 2021 Insider Preview 19592.1001
    Network RouterD-LINK
    restsugavan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    517

    After discussing with Intel Engineer many time. The storyline is very tiny @vmanuelgm

    The guy that you havens seen on Intel forum is me not master tistou77.

    Idata@intel had told me these by mail since that time 0200004D microcode release.

    We’re planning to release solder (STIM) version processors that many user requests soon.
    ( I guessed he meant the Core X i9 9XXX series aka Skylake X refresh ).
    The new microcode design for new processors and compatible with existing products.
    It was a little bit higher temperatures but not harmful existing products.*
    *
    Core i9 7980XE / R6E 3006 MODDED / Intel 02006906 MCU 2020-04-24 / VROC VMD 7.5.0.1030 / RST 17.8.3.4687 / ME FW 11.12.77.1664 DV 2021.14.0.1615 / 64GB GSKILL @3.2GHz 16-18-18-38 2T / POSEIDON 1080i GTX + NVIDIA Driver 455.41 WHQL / AX1200i / 1TB NVME 600P + OMS Driver 17.9.1.1009 WHQL / Microsoft Windows 10 Version 2004 Build 20161.1000 / i219 V PHY UNDI OROM / Boot Agent 0.0.29 / 0.1.16 / 12.18.9.23 WHQL WHQL AQC 107n FW 3.1.109 + AQC 2.1.21.0 WHQL. CAM 4.8.0 Realtek HD 6.0.8960.1 WHQL

  8. #418
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array vmanuelgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    315

    So if that was a real engineer, he was saying Microcode 4D was inducing higher temperatures, no bug, no damage danger as they also say in their FAQ (nowadays u don't break a CPU because of temperatures, but sustained volts/amps). Did he mention the specific reason to have higher temperatures???
    Omega, 7980xe, G.Skill 3600, 2080Ti, SM951 256, 970 PRO, 860 EVO
    Intel 750, WD SN750 Black, 840 Pro, 2xSkyhawk 4TB, 7200.14, 207EBK
    EVGA T2 1600, Silverstone TJ11, Custom LC. @Acer Predator x34

  9. #419
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array tistou77 PC Specs
    tistou77 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme Encore
    Processor10980XE @4.6Ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardXonar Phoebus
    MonitorDell U2417H
    Storage #1Intel Optane 905P PCIe
    Storage #2Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    CPU CoolerWatercooling
    CaseLian Li A77F
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech LIK
    Mouse Logitech MX revolution
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    tistou77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    103
    Posts
    1,580

    Quote Originally Posted by gridironcpj View Post
    Thank you! I appreciate it. I haven't run across ant issues with AVX-512 loads with frequencies higher than 4200MHz. In fact, a few months ago I was running 3dmark Time Spy Extreme's CPU test with the instruction set changed to AVX-512 for a "bench-a-thon" with some other folks and everything ran fine. This was all with microcode 49.
    Quote Originally Posted by GTi-6 View Post
    @tistou77, thanks for the releases. Wonderful.

    I see that MC69 is the latest release. Are you going to update R6E 3006 bios with MC69?
    Done
    Sorry for my english


    Case: Lian Li A77F
    MB: Rampage VI Extreme Encore
    CPU: i9 10980XE
    RAM: G.Skill Trident Z RGB Royal 4x8Gb @4000 C16
    GPU: EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
    PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
    OS: Intel Optane 905P PCIe
    DATA: Samsung 970 EVO Plus
    SOUND: Asus Xonar Phoebus

  10. #420
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array restsugavan PC Specs
    restsugavan PC Specs
    MotherboardRAMPAGE VI EXTREME
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 7980XE 2.6GHz
    Memory (part number)64GB GSKILL 3.2 GHz 16-16-18-36 2T
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG POSEIDON 1080Ti
    MonitorSAMSUNG UD590D
    Storage #1INTEL600P 1TB
    Storage #2WD 4TB External HDD
    CPU CoolerNZXT KRAKEN 62
    CaseCorsair Carbine 540
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Microsoft
    Mouse Microsoft
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Sony
    OS Windows 10 2021 Insider Preview 19592.1001
    Network RouterD-LINK
    restsugavan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    517

    Quote Originally Posted by vmanuelgm View Post
    So if that was a real engineer, he was saying Microcode 4D was inducing higher temperatures, no bug, no damage danger as they also say in their FAQ (nowadays u don't break a CPU because of temperatures, but sustained volts/amps). Did he mention the specific reason to have higher temperatures???
    Nothing at all.

    From my opinion, Skylake X and Refresh are the same chip model. They’d factory overclock based clock higher around
    400-600MHz each models then apply STIM to keep it idle operation temperatures at same level of original models.
    The microcode 0200004D and higher may increase TJ Max from 105 to 110 to fit the Skylake X refresh models above.
    **
    Core i9 7980XE / R6E 3006 MODDED / Intel 02006906 MCU 2020-04-24 / VROC VMD 7.5.0.1030 / RST 17.8.3.4687 / ME FW 11.12.77.1664 DV 2021.14.0.1615 / 64GB GSKILL @3.2GHz 16-18-18-38 2T / POSEIDON 1080i GTX + NVIDIA Driver 455.41 WHQL / AX1200i / 1TB NVME 600P + OMS Driver 17.9.1.1009 WHQL / Microsoft Windows 10 Version 2004 Build 20161.1000 / i219 V PHY UNDI OROM / Boot Agent 0.0.29 / 0.1.16 / 12.18.9.23 WHQL WHQL AQC 107n FW 3.1.109 + AQC 2.1.21.0 WHQL. CAM 4.8.0 Realtek HD 6.0.8960.1 WHQL

Page 42 of 54 FirstFirst ... 32 40 41 42 43 44 52 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •