Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
  1. #11
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    300
    Posts
    7,440

    Quote Originally Posted by evo4ever86 View Post
    It's kinda weird cos no matter how many volts I throw at 5100mhz it juts wont stabilise. I mean it boots into windows fine but as soon as I apply any sort of stress is BSOD'd almost immediately! I guess I'll stick with 5000mhz, an extra 100mhz aint worth the stress imo. I was thinking about swapping my 8700K for a 8086K what do u think? Do the 8086K's clock any higher than the 8700K's? Im guessing they dont. After all 8086K's are just cherrypicked 8700K's anyway.. so maybe,..
    Well, the cherry picking is potentially going to give you a better shot but I haven't seen anyone do a side-by-side comparison with multiple samples of both. Any single sample could be golden under either sku.

    That said, my personal goal is great gaming. I will overclock if I think it will give me a better gaming experience but I'm not chasing the upper echelon. If you want to overclock for bragging rights then go for it. If you just want a good gaming experience that 5ghz is going to be plenty.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  2. #12
    ROG Member Array evo4ever86 PC Specs
    evo4ever86 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero Z370 (1801 BIOS)
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 8700K Coffee Lake @ 5100MHz
    Memory (part number)16GB Kingston Hyper X Fury @ 3333mhz C16
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce RTX 2080 Gaming X Trio @ 130/1000
    Sound CardIntegrated Realtek HD 7.1
    MonitorLG 42' Inch 4K UHD @ Game Mode
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO M.2 NVMe 250GB
    Storage #22x 256GB Samsung SSD 850 EVO @ RAID0
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i Extreme AIO
    CaseNZXT Noctis 450 MIDI
    Power SupplyCougar GX V3 1050W Plus Gold Modular
    Keyboard Corsair Gaming K63 RGB with Corsair K63 Lapboard
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Corsair HS60 7.1 Gaming Headset
    Mouse Pad N/A
    Headset/Speakers Corsair HS60 7.1 Gaming Headset / No Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterISP Provided DOCSIS 3.1 Cable Router
    Accessory #1 256GB SANDISK SDCZ880 Extreme Pro USB 3.1 SSD Flash Drive
    Accessory #2 Bluetooth USB Dongle

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    Well, the cherry picking is potentially going to give you a better shot but I haven't seen anyone do a side-by-side comparison with multiple samples of both. Any single sample could be golden under either sku.

    That said, my personal goal is great gaming. I will overclock if I think it will give me a better gaming experience but I'm not chasing the upper echelon. If you want to overclock for bragging rights then go for it. If you just want a good gaming experience that 5ghz is going to be plenty.
    Yeah I totally agree but im one of those ppl who want to extract as much performance out of their investment as possible. It's not about bragging rights either, as I said if I can get a free boost ill apply it all day long lol! According to AI suite ive got a 35% overclock which aint too shabby

  3. #13
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    If you are using AI suite to OC that’s half of not all of your problem. I’m not even confident enough with it to set up fans. Just something about writing to BIOS from the OS that I dont like added to my not so pleasant experiences with it. It’s also VERY difficult to eradicate once it’s installed. If you still have the same installation of it on a new BIOS that’s almost a certainty that this is your problem.

    If you must use it I’d recommend uninstalling, deleting the orphaned folders as the uninstall doesn’t do much of anything but remove it from the start menu. Then follow behind that with Ccleaner to wipe all traces of it in the registry and if you must.......this is where I cringe....install a fresh copy. Talk to any partially experienced overclocker and they will tell you not to use software to overclock. Use the BIOS. *There lots of guides around. The principle is the same for the basics regardless of the board.*
    Last edited by JustinThyme; 01-30-2019 at 12:02 AM.

  4. #14
    ROG Member Array evo4ever86 PC Specs
    evo4ever86 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero Z370 (1801 BIOS)
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 8700K Coffee Lake @ 5100MHz
    Memory (part number)16GB Kingston Hyper X Fury @ 3333mhz C16
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce RTX 2080 Gaming X Trio @ 130/1000
    Sound CardIntegrated Realtek HD 7.1
    MonitorLG 42' Inch 4K UHD @ Game Mode
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO M.2 NVMe 250GB
    Storage #22x 256GB Samsung SSD 850 EVO @ RAID0
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i Extreme AIO
    CaseNZXT Noctis 450 MIDI
    Power SupplyCougar GX V3 1050W Plus Gold Modular
    Keyboard Corsair Gaming K63 RGB with Corsair K63 Lapboard
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Corsair HS60 7.1 Gaming Headset
    Mouse Pad N/A
    Headset/Speakers Corsair HS60 7.1 Gaming Headset / No Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterISP Provided DOCSIS 3.1 Cable Router
    Accessory #1 256GB SANDISK SDCZ880 Extreme Pro USB 3.1 SSD Flash Drive
    Accessory #2 Bluetooth USB Dongle

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    If you are using AI suite to OC that’s half of not all of your problem. I’m not even confident enough with it to set up fans. Just something about writing to BIOS from the OS that I dont like added to my not so pleasant experiences with it. It’s also VERY difficult to eradicate once it’s installed. If you still have the same installation of it on a new BIOS that’s almost a certainty that this is your problem.

    If you must use it I’d recommend uninstalling, deleting the orphaned folders as the uninstall doesn’t do much of anything but remove it from the start menu. Then follow behind that with Ccleaner to wipe all traces of it in the registry and if you must.......this is where I cringe....install a fresh copy. Talk to any partially experienced overclocker and they will tell you not to use software to overclock. Use the BIOS. *There lots of guides around. The principle is the same for the basics regardless of the board.*

    Yes I agree Ill only change settings in the BIOS when it comes to overclocking. The reason I use AI is for monitoring. Do u think I should totally remove AI Suite?

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array jab383 PC Specs
    jab383 PC Specs
    Motherboard24/7 rig : Maximus VI Extreme
    Processori7 4790K
    Memory (part number)16GB Mushkin Redline 2400 10-12-12-28 + 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2400 10-12-12-31
    Graphics Card #1AMD Firepro W5000
    Sound CardM6E Supreme FX
    MonitorDell U2413
    Storage #1Kingston SH103S3240G SSD
    Storage #2Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom water loop, Delidded, Liquid Metal TIM
    CaseCoolerMaster HAF XM
    Power SupplyCorsair HX-750
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech M705
    OS Windows 7 64 Pro
    jab383's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    107
    Posts
    848

    If you're not using AI Suite to overclock, I think it's best to remove it completely. I use Aida 64 for monitoring - does a better job without risk of inadvertently messing with BIOS settings. If you don't want to pay for Aida 64, there are HWMonitor and several other free programs that do no more than monitor.

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Code
    ProcessorIntel 8086K @ 5.1Ghz
    Memory (part number)32 GB (2x16) G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200 MHz CL14 @ 3733 16-16-36
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 2070 Super A8G
    MonitorEIZO Coloredge CG2730 and Dell
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID 0, 6 TB WDC Black HDD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 Chromax
    CaseFractal Design R4 w/ tempered glass
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium
    Keyboard CM Quickfire Rapid TKL
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Bose
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, ML Dynamo 300
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    364

    You can't entirely roll back past 1704 - there was an Intel Management Engine update going into 1704 that you can't roll back.

    You may just need to fiddle around with other voltages.

    You could also be suffering from degradation due to electromigration. Did you run it at high load a lot (high current)? Did you use defaults for VCCIO and VCCSA?

    Yes the 8086k can clock higher at less voltage in general because they are cherry-picked.

  7. #17
    ROG Member Array evo4ever86 PC Specs
    evo4ever86 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero Z370 (1801 BIOS)
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 8700K Coffee Lake @ 5100MHz
    Memory (part number)16GB Kingston Hyper X Fury @ 3333mhz C16
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce RTX 2080 Gaming X Trio @ 130/1000
    Sound CardIntegrated Realtek HD 7.1
    MonitorLG 42' Inch 4K UHD @ Game Mode
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO M.2 NVMe 250GB
    Storage #22x 256GB Samsung SSD 850 EVO @ RAID0
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i Extreme AIO
    CaseNZXT Noctis 450 MIDI
    Power SupplyCougar GX V3 1050W Plus Gold Modular
    Keyboard Corsair Gaming K63 RGB with Corsair K63 Lapboard
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Corsair HS60 7.1 Gaming Headset
    Mouse Pad N/A
    Headset/Speakers Corsair HS60 7.1 Gaming Headset / No Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterISP Provided DOCSIS 3.1 Cable Router
    Accessory #1 256GB SANDISK SDCZ880 Extreme Pro USB 3.1 SSD Flash Drive
    Accessory #2 Bluetooth USB Dongle

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Quote Originally Posted by geneo View Post
    You can't entirely roll back past 1704 - there was an Intel Management Engine update going into 1704 that you can't roll back.

    You may just need to fiddle around with other voltages.

    You could also be suffering from degradation due to electromigration. Did you run it at high load a lot (high current)? Did you use defaults for VCCIO and VCCSA?

    Yes the 8086k can clock higher at less voltage in general because they are cherry-picked.


    TBH my CPU hasnt done much since I bought it I havent done any massive gaming sessions or intensive benchmarking over long periods of time, and half the time its been running at stock! So I HIGHLY doubt its down to degradation, heck my GPU has barely been any action either lol. In a nutshell my PC has been used predominantly for light loads and the very occasional heavy loads.

    Yeah ive always ran VCCIO and VCCSA at default volts, i dont even know what they're meant to do lol

    Plus I REALLY dont see my sense in buying a 8086K tbh. If I was gonna upgrade my CPU Id go straight for the 9900K seen as though my board supports it.
    Last edited by evo4ever86; 01-31-2019 at 05:05 AM.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •