Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 51
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array wonderin PC Specs
    wonderin PC Specs
    MotherboardX99 Strix Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i7 6850k
    Memory (part number)HX430C15PB3K2/32
    Graphics Card #1Strix 1080 Ti OC
    MonitorDell S2417DG @165
    Storage #1Samsung Evo 960 m.2
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken x62
    CaseCorsair 780
    Power SupplySeaSonic Prime 750W Titanium
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma 2
    Mouse Razer Death Adder Elite
    Headset HyperX Cloud
    Mouse Pad Razer Gigantus
    OS Windows 10
    wonderin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Broadwell-E expirienced overclocking help needed

    hey pro overlockers, noob needs some advices here.

    Recently I've decided to push my 6850k a bit further (within the common sense).

    For 2 years it's been running @4000 mhz all cores via XMP profile for my 3000mhz ram (with 3125 cache). Xmp changes the blck to 125 (as far as I know, broadwell-E are stable with high frequency RAM at 125 bclk) and vcore to 1.222.
    I've tried to push it a bit to 4.250, setting 1.282 value to vcore manually, seems stable. mobo is strix x99, temperatures are sitting <60c after 30 mins realbench stress test (with nzxt kraken x62).

    I'm wondering, should I also change other settings like vcore offset agent etc., should I overlock cache?
    And, in general, should I push frequency further regarding I'm mostly playing competetive games and working with Adobe software (AE, PS, IL)?

    Just trying to understand my cpu/system better. like a good parent *

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ThrashZone PC Specs
    ThrashZone PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS x99 sabertooth & x299 Rampage VI Apex
    Processori7-5930k & i9-9940x
    Memory (part number)Trident-Z 3200C14 & Trident-Z 3600C16 both Samsung B-Dies
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080ti FTW3 water block & Titan Xp copper water block
    MonitorAOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz & ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
    Storage #12-Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2 & 2.5" ssd's 850 pro's for os 850 evo for games
    Storage #22-LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
    CPU Coolerx99 2-240GTX with Heatkiller-4-Pro/ vrm water block Both&x299 2-280GTX 2-D5's before and after rads
    Case2- Corsair 450D with second floors for 240GTX & 280GTX rads enclosed and filtered on top
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000P2 & EVGA 1200P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum & Logitech G710+
    Mouse 2-Red dragon Perdition
    OS Win-7 & win-10 pro on both systems Win-7 everyday os
    Accessory #1 Heatkiller IV Pro plexi/ Copper base on both systems
    Accessory #2 Mayhems Biocide and Inhibitor with distilled water
    Accessory #3 Mayhems 3/8-5/8" clear soft tubing
    ThrashZone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    277

    Hi,
    Off your voltages you posted on ocn these items are too high take them off Auto
    Shouldn't be over 1.2v any of them especially not vccio cpu should be set to 1.05v it's standard voltage same as vccio pch which is in that range
    System agent = vccsa you shouldn't need more than it's standard voltage which will show up if you highlight the item in bios probably 1.0v
    Cache also should be way lower I'd use it's standard too if on auto cache min and max.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos too high.PNG  


  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array wonderin PC Specs
    wonderin PC Specs
    MotherboardX99 Strix Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i7 6850k
    Memory (part number)HX430C15PB3K2/32
    Graphics Card #1Strix 1080 Ti OC
    MonitorDell S2417DG @165
    Storage #1Samsung Evo 960 m.2
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken x62
    CaseCorsair 780
    Power SupplySeaSonic Prime 750W Titanium
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma 2
    Mouse Razer Death Adder Elite
    Headset HyperX Cloud
    Mouse Pad Razer Gigantus
    OS Windows 10
    wonderin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Quote Originally Posted by ThrashZone View Post
    Hi,
    Off your voltages you posted on ocn these items are too high take them off Auto
    Shouldn't be over 1.2v any of them especially not vccio cpu should be set to 1.05v it's standard voltage same as vccio pch which is in that range
    System agent = vccsa you shouldn't need more than it's standard voltage which will show up if you highlight the item in bios probably 1.0v
    Cache also should be way lower I'd use it's standard too if on auto cache min and max.
    Hi ThrashZone,

    You've got me here my friend

    according to Raja bw-e overclocking guide:

    "CPU System Agent: The System Agent is responsible for handling IO between the CPU and other domains. From an overclocking perspective, the System Agent voltage is especially important for memory overclocking. By default, can only be changed by an offset. To obtain access to Manual Mode, the Fully Manual Mode option must be set to Enabled. For memory speeds over DDR4-3000 or if using high-density memory kits, voltages up to 1.30V may be required. Some CPUs have “weak” memory controllers that require elevated voltages to maintain stability. If possible, do not venture too far from 1.30V as a maximum."

    https://edgeup.asus.com/2016/broadwe...cking-guide/5/

    I'm really confused about misleading information...

    maybe you are missing something about these specific CPUs, or i'm being too noobish.. *Should I change what you've said and then run the stresstest and check those voltages again?

    and should I overclock cpu/cache more than it already is in your opinion?
    Last edited by wonderin; 01-30-2019 at 12:28 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ThrashZone PC Specs
    ThrashZone PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS x99 sabertooth & x299 Rampage VI Apex
    Processori7-5930k & i9-9940x
    Memory (part number)Trident-Z 3200C14 & Trident-Z 3600C16 both Samsung B-Dies
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080ti FTW3 water block & Titan Xp copper water block
    MonitorAOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz & ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
    Storage #12-Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2 & 2.5" ssd's 850 pro's for os 850 evo for games
    Storage #22-LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
    CPU Coolerx99 2-240GTX with Heatkiller-4-Pro/ vrm water block Both&x299 2-280GTX 2-D5's before and after rads
    Case2- Corsair 450D with second floors for 240GTX & 280GTX rads enclosed and filtered on top
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000P2 & EVGA 1200P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum & Logitech G710+
    Mouse 2-Red dragon Perdition
    OS Win-7 & win-10 pro on both systems Win-7 everyday os
    Accessory #1 Heatkiller IV Pro plexi/ Copper base on both systems
    Accessory #2 Mayhems Biocide and Inhibitor with distilled water
    Accessory #3 Mayhems 3/8-5/8" clear soft tubing
    ThrashZone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    277

    Hi,
    With all respect to RaJa he really does not keep hardware very long to know how long it takes to fry a cpu

    Not that 1.3v core voltage is bad if one can cool it
    1.25v vccio cpu is bad long term and possibly short term where as it's hasswell-e counter part uses 1.05v pretty much all the time it standard default but that is only from bios 2101 back
    All new broadwell-e bios push vccio cpu way too high.
    Last edited by ThrashZone; 01-30-2019 at 01:35 PM.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array wonderin PC Specs
    wonderin PC Specs
    MotherboardX99 Strix Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i7 6850k
    Memory (part number)HX430C15PB3K2/32
    Graphics Card #1Strix 1080 Ti OC
    MonitorDell S2417DG @165
    Storage #1Samsung Evo 960 m.2
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken x62
    CaseCorsair 780
    Power SupplySeaSonic Prime 750W Titanium
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma 2
    Mouse Razer Death Adder Elite
    Headset HyperX Cloud
    Mouse Pad Razer Gigantus
    OS Windows 10
    wonderin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Quote Originally Posted by ThrashZone View Post
    Hi,
    With all respect to RaJa he really does not keep hardware very long to know how long it takes to fry a cpu

    Not that 1.3v core voltage is bad if one can cool it
    1.25v vccio cpu is bad long term and possibly short term where as it's hasswell-e counter part uses 1.05v pretty much all the time it standard default but that is only from bios 2101 back
    All new broadwell-e bios push vccio cpu way too high.
    ok, now I get your point sir

    still couple questions remaining:

    1. Should I change what you've said and then run the stresstest and check those voltages again and give you a shot?

    2. Should I overclock cpu/cache more than it already is in your opinion?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ThrashZone PC Specs
    ThrashZone PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS x99 sabertooth & x299 Rampage VI Apex
    Processori7-5930k & i9-9940x
    Memory (part number)Trident-Z 3200C14 & Trident-Z 3600C16 both Samsung B-Dies
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080ti FTW3 water block & Titan Xp copper water block
    MonitorAOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz & ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
    Storage #12-Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2 & 2.5" ssd's 850 pro's for os 850 evo for games
    Storage #22-LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
    CPU Coolerx99 2-240GTX with Heatkiller-4-Pro/ vrm water block Both&x299 2-280GTX 2-D5's before and after rads
    Case2- Corsair 450D with second floors for 240GTX & 280GTX rads enclosed and filtered on top
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000P2 & EVGA 1200P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum & Logitech G710+
    Mouse 2-Red dragon Perdition
    OS Win-7 & win-10 pro on both systems Win-7 everyday os
    Accessory #1 Heatkiller IV Pro plexi/ Copper base on both systems
    Accessory #2 Mayhems Biocide and Inhibitor with distilled water
    Accessory #3 Mayhems 3/8-5/8" clear soft tubing
    ThrashZone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    277

    Hi,
    I would yes limit
    vccio cpu
    vccsa=system agent
    Cache voltage
    All lower than 1.2v this should not be passed at all imho
    System agent really shouldn't need more than 1.0v

    Cache depends on the max cache used how much it might need but still 1.2v should be a limit
    Max cache not really sure what it should be you have to post a cpu-z validate and submit link here to see where you are at now

    I wouldn't pass max cache of 35 though and well under 1.2v

    Then yes just do some stress tests and or benchmarks and see how it goes.

    Your input voltage looks okay by the way 1.95v should not be passed though I usually keep it well under that and use llc-4 or 5.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array wonderin PC Specs
    wonderin PC Specs
    MotherboardX99 Strix Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i7 6850k
    Memory (part number)HX430C15PB3K2/32
    Graphics Card #1Strix 1080 Ti OC
    MonitorDell S2417DG @165
    Storage #1Samsung Evo 960 m.2
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken x62
    CaseCorsair 780
    Power SupplySeaSonic Prime 750W Titanium
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma 2
    Mouse Razer Death Adder Elite
    Headset HyperX Cloud
    Mouse Pad Razer Gigantus
    OS Windows 10
    wonderin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    what about cpu frequency? should I push it further in your opinion or is it already high enough?

    Quote Originally Posted by ThrashZone View Post
    Hi, Your input voltage looks okay by the way 1.95v should not be passed though I usually keep it well under that and use llc-4 or 5.
    I don't really know what these llc are really all about, what for and how to use them.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ThrashZone PC Specs
    ThrashZone PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS x99 sabertooth & x299 Rampage VI Apex
    Processori7-5930k & i9-9940x
    Memory (part number)Trident-Z 3200C14 & Trident-Z 3600C16 both Samsung B-Dies
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080ti FTW3 water block & Titan Xp copper water block
    MonitorAOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz & ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
    Storage #12-Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2 & 2.5" ssd's 850 pro's for os 850 evo for games
    Storage #22-LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
    CPU Coolerx99 2-240GTX with Heatkiller-4-Pro/ vrm water block Both&x299 2-280GTX 2-D5's before and after rads
    Case2- Corsair 450D with second floors for 240GTX & 280GTX rads enclosed and filtered on top
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000P2 & EVGA 1200P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum & Logitech G710+
    Mouse 2-Red dragon Perdition
    OS Win-7 & win-10 pro on both systems Win-7 everyday os
    Accessory #1 Heatkiller IV Pro plexi/ Copper base on both systems
    Accessory #2 Mayhems Biocide and Inhibitor with distilled water
    Accessory #3 Mayhems 3/8-5/8" clear soft tubing
    ThrashZone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    277

    Hi,
    An easy setting is set input voltage to 1.9v and go to llc settings and set it to llc-4
    That is a fairly conservative usage of input and llc.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array wonderin PC Specs
    wonderin PC Specs
    MotherboardX99 Strix Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i7 6850k
    Memory (part number)HX430C15PB3K2/32
    Graphics Card #1Strix 1080 Ti OC
    MonitorDell S2417DG @165
    Storage #1Samsung Evo 960 m.2
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken x62
    CaseCorsair 780
    Power SupplySeaSonic Prime 750W Titanium
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma 2
    Mouse Razer Death Adder Elite
    Headset HyperX Cloud
    Mouse Pad Razer Gigantus
    OS Windows 10
    wonderin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Quote Originally Posted by ThrashZone View Post
    Hi,
    An easy setting is set input voltage to 1.9v and go to llc settings and set it to llc-4
    That is a fairly conservative usage of input and llc.
    and what's the difference between llc set to 4 and 5 in that case?

    I'll do everything you've said and give you my report later.

    And just out of curiosity I'll check my voltages when only XMP applied, i have used only that almost for 2 years and now i want your opinion.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ThrashZone PC Specs
    ThrashZone PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS x99 sabertooth & x299 Rampage VI Apex
    Processori7-5930k & i9-9940x
    Memory (part number)Trident-Z 3200C14 & Trident-Z 3600C16 both Samsung B-Dies
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080ti FTW3 water block & Titan Xp copper water block
    MonitorAOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz & ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
    Storage #12-Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2 & 2.5" ssd's 850 pro's for os 850 evo for games
    Storage #22-LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
    CPU Coolerx99 2-240GTX with Heatkiller-4-Pro/ vrm water block Both&x299 2-280GTX 2-D5's before and after rads
    Case2- Corsair 450D with second floors for 240GTX & 280GTX rads enclosed and filtered on top
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000P2 & EVGA 1200P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum & Logitech G710+
    Mouse 2-Red dragon Perdition
    OS Win-7 & win-10 pro on both systems Win-7 everyday os
    Accessory #1 Heatkiller IV Pro plexi/ Copper base on both systems
    Accessory #2 Mayhems Biocide and Inhibitor with distilled water
    Accessory #3 Mayhems 3/8-5/8" clear soft tubing
    ThrashZone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    277

    Hi,
    4-5 is just a little less vdroop which refers to the input voltage setting
    It will rise and drop from what ever voltage is set too
    Say you set input to 1.9v the input voltage will usually drop to say 1.888v and rise to say 1.92v with llc 4 where 5 might be a little less than the numbers I posted.

    You could also use 1.9v and llc-1 and test for your self what input voltage does after running some benchmarks it will be a lot clearer what happens as you raise the llc # and what the reading is for input voltage in hwinfo max and min.

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •