Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Double booting, Asus rog maximus xi formula

    Hello, folks!

    Lets start from the beginning).
    I have core i9 9900k, G-Skill 4000Mhz CL18-19-19-39 and mobo maximus xi formula.

    After mobo installation a checked that preinstalled bios version is 0224.

    I on this version I overclocked my i9 to 5.1GHz with 1.290 voltage and just enabled XMP-1 with factory RAM settings ( 4000MHz and CL18-19-19-39 ). After that system restarted and automatically rearranged memory speed to 3900MHz with 1.3500 voltage.
    It worked perfect and stable ( tested in aida64 ).

    But recently I have updated to the 0703 bios and:

    Question #1. I got double booting. If you just plugged in PC the system starts booting and shuts down after 0.5-2 sec without any info on the monitor. After that system automatically starts but this time successfully. This issue does not repeat if you restart/turn off and not pull out the power cord from the wall. Is it BIOS-related issue?

    Question #2. On 0703 I cant apply even 3900MHz for my memory. The system doesn't boot at all. It seems boot fails on memory test with post code 7F. It works on 3600MHz with CL18-19-19-39 with all ram modules ( 4*8Gb ), not higher. BUT if I leave only 2 RAMs, placed in 2 DIMMs ( 2*8Gb ) it boots successfully on 4000MHz with the same timings. I tried to replace different rams, but this doesn't give any effect. In all cases double ( sometimes triple ) booting is present.
    Just for clearing I have 4 ram bars with factory 4000MHz, CL18-19-19-39 and 1.3500 voltage.

    Question #3. Where I can download the 0224 bios version for my mobo? Official site https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/RO...HelpDesk_BIOS/ offers only 0506 as the lowest one..

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Ch3vr0n PC Specs
    Ch3vr0n PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorCore i9 9900k @ 4.7GHZ (XMP)
    Memory (part number)CMT32GX4M4Z3200C16
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1080 A8G
    Sound Cardon board
    MonitorASUS VG278HR & ASUS VK278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo 1TB (Boot) & 970 EVO 2TB (Scratch)
    Storage #23X HGST 10TB, 1x HGST 4TB
    CPU CoolerScythe Mugen 5 PCGH
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos II
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Corsair k95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro RGB
    Headset Corsair Voide Wireless SE
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 + Corsair MM800 Polaris (EU)
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-906
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterNetgear XR500
    Accessory #1 Xbox One Elite Wireless Controller
    Accessory #2 2X Corsair LL140, 4x Corsair LL120
    Accessory #3 1x Corsair LED RGB Pro expansion kit, 2x LS100 RGB kit + 450mm expansion kit
    Ch3vr0n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    38
    Posts
    237

    #1 Probably some user will come in and say "Normal behavior for the Maximus XI platform". To me it isn't. We'll have to wait if and when Asus might release a fix. There's only cases in my mind where a system should do a multi-boot. 1) Fresh system build (can only do that once) and 2) BIOS update. Anything else isn't normal.

    #2 sorry can't help you with that one

    #3 there is no such bios versions. The latest official non-beta is 0703

    Edit: Latest bios is now 0805 which got uploaded literally right after posting this lol

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    260

    Yeap the same issue on my Asus Prime Z390-A after i updated bios. When plugged off power cord,and again it booting twice. Like yours.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array pndiode PC Specs
    pndiode PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS G752VL-DH71
    MotherboardROG Maximus XII Formula
    ProcessorI7-10700K
    Memory (part number)G-Skill F4-3600C19Q-32GTZRB
    Graphics Card #1ROG Matrix GTX 980TI -P-6GD5 Bitspower Water Block
    Graphics Card #2ROG Matrix GTX 980TI -P-6GD5 Bitspower Water Block
    MonitorLG UltraGear 32GN50T-B
    Storage #1WD Black SN750 1TB
    Storage #2WD Blue 4TB (4 ea)
    CPU CoolerEK PE 360 (Top), PE 240 (Front), and Xres 100 Elite
    CaseROG Strix Helios
    Power SupplyThermalTake Toughpower 1200W
    Keyboard ROG Strix Scope RX
    Mouse Logitech MX Master S2
    Headset ROG Strix Fusion 300
    Mouse Pad Generic
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion 3 Series II
    OS Windows 11 Pro 21H2
    Network RouterGeneric
    Accessory #1 Corsair ML140 (4 ea), Corsair ML120 (3 ea)
    Accessory #2 ASUS External 16X BLU-RAY Writer

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    31
    Posts
    257

    Double booting

    Yep! Double boot only when SVID is disabled and messing with manual mode.

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...-boot-question

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array no1yak PC Specs
    no1yak PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero X I Wi-Fi/ Hero IX
    Processori9 9900KF/ i7 7700K both @ 4.7Ghz
    Memory (part number)Gskill F4-3200C16D / Corsair 2400 LPX
    Graphics Card #1Evga GTX 1070 SC ACX3 / Evga 1060 SC
    Sound CardEssence One DAC Muses edition
    MonitorEizo CG275W/ Dell U2719D
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe / 950 Pro
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 950 Pro M.2 + 850 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair 150i pro/Noctua NHu-14S
    CaseCorsair 500D/ Corsair 450D
    Power SupplyEvga 650 P2 /Corsair HX750
    Keyboard Cherry MX6
    Mouse Corsair M65
    Headset/Speakers Corsair SP2500 + Senn HD650 + HD 600
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 20H2

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    156

    I really don't see the problem here. If I ever bother to remove the power form both my Hero IX or XI then yes it reboots twice. I really do not see why people have to completely switch off their PC's, I never do unless I am removing a card or anything else that requires 0 volts. There have been quite a few threads on this subject and I suggest that you read them.

    If you must turn your machine off then why does it matter if it reboots once, twice or even three times as long as it fully operational.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ThrashZone PC Specs
    ThrashZone PC Specs
    Motherboardz490 XII Apex 2nd x299 VI Apex 3rd x99 sabertooth
    Processori9-10900k w/Foundation & i9-9940x w/SigV2 & 5930k w/ek-Magnitude
    Memory (part number)Trident-Z 3600c16 2x8 2nd Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8 3rd 3200c14 4x8
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp & 1080ti FTW3 both water cooled & evga 980ti gaming on air
    MonitorAOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz & ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
    Storage #12-Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2 & 2.5" ssd's 850 pro's for os 850 evo for games
    Storage #22-LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
    CPU Cooler2-240GTX with Heatkiller-4-Pro/ vrm water block Both&x299 2-280GTX 2-D5's before and after rads
    Case2- Corsair 450D with second floors for 240GTX & 280GTX rads & 2 Test Benchs
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000P2 & 1200P2 & 850p2
    Keyboard 3x Logitech G710+
    Mouse 3x Red dragon Perdition
    OS Linux-Cinnimon 20.2 & Win-7-10-11 pro
    Accessory #1 Optimus Foundation copper plexi 2nd Optimus SigV2
    Accessory #2 Mayhems clear all
    Accessory #3 ModMyMods 3/8-5/8" clear soft tubing/ MORA 360 Pro x2
    ThrashZone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    422

    Hi,
    Only time, as already stated if memory is bad training will cause this, been there so only normal if memory is bad or memory settings are bad.

    Otherwise there's no reason for any double... restarting.
    If anything you might get screen to use F1 to reset oc settings after power off for a while.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Ch3vr0n View Post
    #1 Probably some user will come in and say "Normal behavior for the Maximus XI platform". To me it isn't. We'll have to wait if and when Asus might release a fix. There's only cases in my mind where a system should do a multi-boot. 1) Fresh system build (can only do that once) and 2) BIOS update. Anything else isn't normal.

    #2 sorry can't help you with that one

    #3 there is no such bios versions. The latest official non-beta is 0703

    Edit: Latest bios is now 0805 which got uploaded literally right after posting this lol
    Where did you get 0805?
    Can not find it on https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/RO...129.1548684410

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by no1yak View Post
    If you must turn your machine off then why does it matter if it reboots once, twice or even three times as long as it fully operational.
    Because it is not normal behavior. I had lots of different boards from Asus and never had double start

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array pndiode PC Specs
    pndiode PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS G752VL-DH71
    MotherboardROG Maximus XII Formula
    ProcessorI7-10700K
    Memory (part number)G-Skill F4-3600C19Q-32GTZRB
    Graphics Card #1ROG Matrix GTX 980TI -P-6GD5 Bitspower Water Block
    Graphics Card #2ROG Matrix GTX 980TI -P-6GD5 Bitspower Water Block
    MonitorLG UltraGear 32GN50T-B
    Storage #1WD Black SN750 1TB
    Storage #2WD Blue 4TB (4 ea)
    CPU CoolerEK PE 360 (Top), PE 240 (Front), and Xres 100 Elite
    CaseROG Strix Helios
    Power SupplyThermalTake Toughpower 1200W
    Keyboard ROG Strix Scope RX
    Mouse Logitech MX Master S2
    Headset ROG Strix Fusion 300
    Mouse Pad Generic
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion 3 Series II
    OS Windows 11 Pro 21H2
    Network RouterGeneric
    Accessory #1 Corsair ML140 (4 ea), Corsair ML120 (3 ea)
    Accessory #2 ASUS External 16X BLU-RAY Writer

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    31
    Posts
    257

    why does it matter if it reboots once, twice or even three times as long as it fully

    Just the gratification one receives when the power button is pressed; boot one time!

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ThrashZone PC Specs
    ThrashZone PC Specs
    Motherboardz490 XII Apex 2nd x299 VI Apex 3rd x99 sabertooth
    Processori9-10900k w/Foundation & i9-9940x w/SigV2 & 5930k w/ek-Magnitude
    Memory (part number)Trident-Z 3600c16 2x8 2nd Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8 3rd 3200c14 4x8
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp & 1080ti FTW3 both water cooled & evga 980ti gaming on air
    MonitorAOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz & ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
    Storage #12-Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2 & 2.5" ssd's 850 pro's for os 850 evo for games
    Storage #22-LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
    CPU Cooler2-240GTX with Heatkiller-4-Pro/ vrm water block Both&x299 2-280GTX 2-D5's before and after rads
    Case2- Corsair 450D with second floors for 240GTX & 280GTX rads & 2 Test Benchs
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000P2 & 1200P2 & 850p2
    Keyboard 3x Logitech G710+
    Mouse 3x Red dragon Perdition
    OS Linux-Cinnimon 20.2 & Win-7-10-11 pro
    Accessory #1 Optimus Foundation copper plexi 2nd Optimus SigV2
    Accessory #2 Mayhems clear all
    Accessory #3 ModMyMods 3/8-5/8" clear soft tubing/ MORA 360 Pro x2
    ThrashZone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    422

    Quote Originally Posted by alex_may93 View Post
    Because it is not normal behavior. I had lots of different boards from Asus and never had double start
    Hi,
    Boom sure isn't.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •