Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24
  1. #11
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    The first time I saw this was back on a Rampage IV extreme...with CPU frequency above 4200MHz and RAM at rated speeds...and indeed my current Zenith Extreme does this since I have my RAM at 3200 and tweaked timings. Cold boot I get the double boot.
    Can I just conform then that yours powers on for a second, all lights and fans etc then everything goes off, fans lights etc for 2 seconds and then boots fine?

    Sorry for all the questions, when I spoke to scan, even they seemed puzzled and suggested an RMA. But if it's a normal operation then obviously I don't want to be taking my PC apart.

    Thanks again,

  2. #12
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,405

    Yep...the board starts powering up as normal lights/fans...but almost immediately resets...i.e. switches off and then re-powers on and boots normally...

    If you switch off the computer but leave PSU on, it wont do this. (unless you enable ERP...which acts like the PSU was off)

    I passed through Scan tech department last week...they seemed like nice guys
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	dumb_and_dumber.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	35.7 KB 
ID:	78728

    Last edited by Arne Saknussemm; 02-06-2019 at 07:00 PM.

  3. #13
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Yep...the board starts powering up as normal lights/fans...but almost immediately resets...i.e. switches off and then re-powers on and boots normally...

    If you switch off the computer but leave PSU on, it wont do this. (unless you enable ERP...which acts like the PSU was off)

    I passed through Scan tech department last week...they seemed like nice guys
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	dumb_and_dumber.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	35.7 KB 
ID:	78728

    Rofl Gotta love Harry and Lloyd @ technical support

    Thankyou for clearing that up, saves me a headache!

    I will start enjoying the build now.

    To be honest when they were saying that the mobo could be faulty I was a bit confused as I have been gaming and I'm sure that if their was a fault, I would have more than just a double boot caused by xmp....

    Anyways...Thankyou so much

  4. #14
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,405

    Nah, you are welcome...it is a bit concerning if you don't know what's happening...but as you say...if everything runs peachy when you boot then you know there's nothing wrong with the system!

  5. #15
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Mattbodom View Post
    I also purchased my stuff from Scan, personally i have never had any issues with them. I am relatively new to this stuff aswell but as far as I'm aware, you should have been sold a quad channel memory kit. I would imagine installing 2 dual channel kits could be problematic (even if they are the same part number) due to slight variations. Don't quote me on that but that's what I would have though. Hopefully someone experienced can come along and help you out
    Yeah .... I usually buy from them, however I don't think they are training their Sales people well.
    What I am finding VERY difficult is the 15 -30 min phone hold time for Customer Support !!

  6. #16
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Thanks so much, Arne

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    The first time I saw this was back on a Rampage IV extreme...with CPU frequency above 4200MHz and RAM at rated speeds...and indeed my current Zenith Extreme does this since I have my RAM at 3200 and tweaked timings. Cold boot I get the double boot.



    Not a question of that! It's a pretty common assumption and hidden away in the small print.

    As Mattbodom has said, what you should look for is a single kit. That might be a "quad channel" kit...or a so called dual channel kit but made up of four binned together sticks of RAM. Some kits are 4 sticks and rated dual/quad channel.

    If you want a 32GB kit for example...make sure the part No. is XXX32....not two kits of XXX16

    To keep it simple...ask for a quad channel kit of 4x8 for example
    Top man, Arne & Matt :-)

  7. #17
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Unhappy Told to Flash BIOS to an earlier version !

    Quote Originally Posted by Mattbodom View Post
    Rofl Gotta love Harry and Lloyd @ technical support

    Thankyou for clearing that up, saves me a headache!

    I will start enjoying the build now.

    To be honest when they were saying that the mobo could be faulty I was a bit confused as I have been gaming and I'm sure that if their was a fault, I would have more than just a double boot caused by xmp....

    Anyways...Thankyou so much
    I was told by 3XS support to :-
    - take out the 2 DIMMS that work & try the other pair, to eliminate the possibility that they could be faulty
    - Consider flashing the BIOS back to the version it came with & leaving it there
    - I also asked if Asus could have released a faulty BIOS & he said "Possible"

    I have invited Scan Founder & MD, Shailendra Shelley Raja, to visit this post.
    Last edited by ceefcee; 02-07-2019 at 05:12 PM.

  8. #18
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(3) SSD's - Samsung 960 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    1,002

    I've seen several threads now on this board behavior regarding daul and triple reboots. As an aside, while this behavior may actually be good for the motherboard's performance, for years my experience has taught me that rapid power cycling is never good on components. Causes failures eventually. Does anyone (ahem, Arne?.... ) know if Asus has ever commented on the affect these rapid power cycles might have on the motherboards, attached fans, GPU's, CPU, etc etc? I hardly ever depower my system, so i don't see this much, but it does concern me.
    Davemon50

  9. #19
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,405

    Yeah, that is the one obvious drawback...I have no idea what the effect would be...never seen much comment on it...not seen negative effect myself AFAIK....*touch wood*

    If my PC comes on, it stays on the whole day and then gets shutdown at night...so one double boot hopefully wont affect the board too badly..

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(3) SSD's - Samsung 960 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    1,002

    I actually leave mine on for weeks at a time, or until Windows decides it is exhausted. But mine did double boot when I was changing BIOS back and forth recently from 1 to 2 and back.
    Davemon50

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •