Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array kshafe777 PC Specs
    kshafe777 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Formula
    Processor9900k
    Memory (part number)Trident Z RGB 64 GB 3600 speed
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080Ti FTW3 OC
    Graphics Card #2EVGA RTX 2080Ti FTW3 OC
    MonitorASUS PG27UQ
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO Plus M.2 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 EVO Plus M.2 1TB
    CPU CoolerHeatkiller nickel
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard G.Skill KM780 RGB Cherry Mx
    Mouse Roccat LEADR
    Headset AKG K7XX
    Headset/Speakers Razer Nomo Pro
    OS 10 pro
    Network RouterRaptor
    kshafe777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    179

    Cannot get into Bios on Max XI Form when connected via Disp Port to PG27UQ

    Ok, as the title says, I cannot get into bios ( any way at all ) on my Maximus XI Formula connected to My PG27UQ via Display Port Cable.

    here are the details:

    first - the configuration that I tore it down to in order to eliminate possible issues -
    Asus Maximus XI Formula
    9900k
    took the 64 GB Trident Z 3600 speed ram down to two sticks to make sure wasn't ram issue
    Samsung 970 EVO m.2 connected to M.2_1 slot
    Asus Strix 1080TI - OC edition
    Corsair AX1200i PSU


    This is my *Second* Max XI Formula mb.. first one was RMA'd due to this and a CMOS Error that kept coming up.
    if I have the PG27UQ connected via Display port cable ( initially using the one that comes with the monitor from Asus ) there is no way into bios. I have tried;
    1) hitting del key continuously ( never see the post screen, just goes straight to win desktop )
    2) hitting F2 key continuously
    3) doing a shift+restart to open windows troubleshooting mode and trying to go to UEFI
    4) changed post time to 10 seconds ( I did this later when I figured out what the problem was... )
    5) taking out boot drive ( just goes to HDD error and doesn't advance.. no option to get to bios )
    6) unplugging cpu fans to try and force a cpu fan error and prompt for F1 to enter setup
    7) held down Clear CMOS button
    8) removed CMOS battery
    9) yes.. all devices were disconnected from MB other than mouse / keyboard
    10) did bios update from 0602 to 0805 using BIOS Flashback on back of board
    11) did fresh install of Windows 10 ( obviously, but need to state that ) with nothing loaded.
    12) moved m.2 drive from slot 1 to slot 2
    13) removed m.2 drive and connected ssd drive via sata port 2 with Fresh win 10 installed ( version 1809 )
    14) swapped 1080ti to 2080ti and got same results
    15) swapped the Display port cable that came with PG27UQ to a Certified Display Port Cable.
    16) switched to HDMI 2.0 Cable and everything works.. except high refresh rate is now not possible because HDMI caps at 60 hz



    when I got beyond this I remember that I had done my hardware testing before installing into case by connecting to a 1080p monitor I have using HDMI 2.0 Cable... so.. I switched to and HDMI cable, and vioalla.. I can get to bios. I have checked every possible bios setting to see if there is something that is set strange that could cause an issue accessing BiOs with DP hooked up.. but I can't find anything.

    my conclusion is that there is some sort strange compatibility issue between the Maximus XI Formula MB and the PG27UQ when connected via DP. I don't have another monitor that uses DP to test that it's not just a DP connectivity issue.. but at this point, I wouldn't be surprised.

    Any help from ASUS would be appreciated as the current solution is that if I want to use the monitor to game and be in widows, I can be connected via DP, when I want to get to bios, I have to swtich to HDMI. this is $2,000 monitor paired with a $$450 ( overpriced ) motherboard.... and they don't work properly.

    I also have a Maximus XI Extreme, and that works when paired with PG27UQ...
    "Better to try and Fail, then not try at all" ~ Michael Jordan
    favorite YouTuber - KDSTech - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCz0...iWiBx3v6CNR3yw

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    I have the same issue with my recent Maximus XI Formula build with nearly all the same components (exceptions are 32GB Corsair Dominator 3200 and EVGA 2080 RTX Ti). Initially I was able to get into the BIOS first doing mild overclocks manually. After about a month, I tried the AI Optimizer to overclock more aggressively. AI overclocking succeeded, but the system started going straight to Windows, with no way to get back into the BIOS. It’s now stuck in AI Optimizer mode, and oscillates between 4.9 and 5.1GHz on all cores every time I boot up. I had tried your steps 1), 2), 3), 5), 7), and seeing that 0805 was just released, was hoping that doing your 10) would fix the problem. Afterward I called Asus support, and they basically said to do many of these same steps and if that didn’t work, send the board in for repair (they did not offer to replace it). After a month of smooth operation, I assumed the rig was stable, had put all my work stuff on it, retired my old rig, and so would rather not have to tear everything apart and be down for several weeks waiting on a repair. Appreciate your post and glad to see what happened when you tried all these things and especially your suggestion of 16). Will hunt up an HDMI 2.0 cable and give it a try. From your description and what I’ve experienced, seems there could be a systematic timing defect with the Max XI Form that rears its head once you speed up things.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array chevell65 PC Specs
    chevell65 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z370-H, ROG Maximus VII Z97
    ProcessorIntel 4790K 4.6GHz, Intel i5 8400, Intel e8600 Wolfdale, Intel Q9650 Yorkfield, Intel E6750 Conroe
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill PC3600
    Graphics Card #1GTX 660 OC
    MonitorAsus 23"
    CaseCorsair clear case
    Power SupplyThermaltake
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech G9
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterDLink DIR-655, Asus AC88
    chevell65's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    56
    Posts
    357

    Are you certain that Windows is installed as UEFI? The install has to be done via UEFI.

    Once you are certain of that you need to check that CSM is disabled or maybe try the Auto setting for CSM.

    Once CSM is disabled, you can't boot an operating system that is not UEFI compliant.

    CSM Disabled = UEFI only available.
    CSM Enabled = Legacy OS install + UEFI OS install available.

    Everything I've looked up this says that this is the fix for display port not showing bios issues so maybe will work for you.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    It's a GPT disk and SysInfo confirms Boot Mode is UEFI. Also, there was no problem for the first month entering the BIOS. I'd see the ROG logo, hit F2 a couple of times, and it would pop right up. It was after overclocking that the BIOS became inaccessible.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    36

    One of the things neither of you mentioned was trying to run the computer from the iGPU by removing the graphics card. I certainly would try that.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Try setting your display to 60Hz in Windows, then reboot and try to enter BIOS.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    116


  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    That's interesting that it could actually be NVIDIA's problem. I swapped my Display Port cable for HDMI and, like kshafe777, was then able to get into the BIOS. The NVIDIA fix is almost 8 months old; strange that Asus L2 support doesn't know about it. Has anyone else tried it to make sure it works and that it doesn't cause other problems?

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by technomation View Post
    That's interesting that it could actually be NVIDIA's problem. I swapped my Display Port cable for HDMI and, like kshafe777, was then able to get into the BIOS. The NVIDIA fix is almost 8 months old; strange that Asus L2 support doesn't know about it. Has anyone else tried it to make sure it works and that it doesn't cause other problems?
    You can always back up your gpu BIOS with GPU-Z before trying it. Then you can revert to old BIOS if it's no good.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    NVIDIA is not showing that this firmware update supports GE Force Series 20 Turing graphics cards, only Series 10 and older (see Supported Products tab):

    https://www.nvidia.com/object/nv-uefi-update-x86.html

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •