Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    AI Suite 3 is messing with my display sleep time and system sleep time

    I noticed that AiSuite changes my power options on certain intervals when I set my display sleep timer (5 minutes) and system sleep timer (never). AI Suite 3 changes it to the AI Suite Power Saving Formula that's active.

    So when the power saving formula is "high performance", the display sleep timer becomes 1 hour and the system sleep timer becomes 2 hours. When the power saving formula is set to "max power saving the display sleep timer becomes 30 minutes and the system sleep timer becomes 1 hour.

    It took me some time to find that AI Suite 3 is causing this "bug/feature", but I would like to know how I can change the sleep timers in AI Suite, so that it doesn't change the values that I want.

    I'm uising windows 8.1, but I assume that this also happens on other windows versions.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Which other AIsuite features do you use?
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    I primarely use AI suite for the fan profiles, but I also use it to keep an eye on the system temps and voltages.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    So the fan profiles are changing your OS power plan? I think I am not quite understanding so please forgive me.

    I have just done some fan profile changes and my OS power plan did not change.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    You asked me which other features I used. What I use AI suite for isn't causing the changes in my windows 8.1 power options.

    On the main window of AI Suite you can choose between 4 Power Saving Formulas: Auto, High Performance, Max Power Savings and Away Mode. Those formulas are causing the change in my windows power plan.

    So when I put my display sleep timer manually on 5 minutes and disable my system sleep timer, AI Suite will change those two settings in my windows power plan according to the Power Savings Formula in AI Suite.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    screenshot of AI Suite

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	aisuite.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	84.7 KB 
ID:	32076



    and here is the screen shot of the values that AI Suite's power savings formula changes (High performance and Max Power Savings)

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	power plan.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	98.8 KB 
ID:	32077



    Screenshot taking after selecting Max Power Savings

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	power plan 2.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	92.4 KB 
ID:	32078

    Selecting Hig performance will change the timers into 1 hour for my display and 2 hours for the system sleep timer.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Ah I get it right I understand now.

    That is correct AIsuite will override the default OS settings, and of course will override your manually set options too. That is how it is designed to work when you select a particular mode.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Hmmmm. I fail to see what my display sleep timer has to do with my system performance.

    Maybe that in the next version of AI Suite that can be changed, since it makes no sense to me. Changing the power formula in AI Suite has no effect on the power consumption of the cpu. I would expect that to change rather than the display sleep timer.

    Anyway, thx for your answer.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    I must agree with you that it does not make sense and will pass on the suggestion.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    I have the exact same issue and it's very annoying. I don't want my computer to sleep because I'm running VMs on top of my Windows 8 PC. The best I can do is set it to 5 hours in AI Suite III.

    An obvious fix is to remove AI Suite III but I really like the fan profiles. It's better than Speedfan I used previously.

    I wish Asus would fix this by disabling the override or having a "never sleep" at the end of the slider!!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •