Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    No sound with ASUS VG248QE speakers + Realtek

    Hi, so I'm not getting any sound from my monitor built-in speakers, if I chose Realtek as the default device (it doesn't work at all any other way as well). I get sound from Nvidia HD Audio though.

    The reason why I would rather use Realtek is due to the sound being cranky/distorted when set to high.

    Can this be fixed somehow? If not, what are my options? Thanks in advance.

    Edit: My monitor is connected to my GPU port through DisplayPort.
    Last edited by Equanimous; 02-09-2019 at 12:54 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array mdzcpa PC Specs
    mdzcpa PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero XI
    Processor9900k @ 5.1Ghz All Core 1.315v AVX -2
    Memory (part number)Gskill GTZ 4133 C17 32GB (4x8GB)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 2080 TI OC
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorROG PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro M.2 512GB for OS & APPS
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro M.2 1TB for GAMES
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CasePhanteks Evolv X
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 1000W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Corsaur VOID Pro
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Wide Desk Mat
    OS WIN 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys VELOP
    Accessory #1 ROG 751JY Laptop for Moobile Gaming
    Accessory #2 Koolance EXC-800 Chiller
    Accessory #3 25+ years of overclocking

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    79
    Posts
    907

    Quote Originally Posted by Equanimous View Post
    Hi, so I'm not getting any sound from my monitor built-in speakers, if I chose Realtek as the default device (it doesn't work at all any other way as well). I get sound from Nvidia HD Audio though.

    The reason why I would rather use Realtek is due to the sound being cranky/distorted when set to high.

    Can this be fixed somehow? If not, what are my options? Thanks in advance.

    Edit: My monitor is connected to my GPU port through DisplayPort.


    When connecting your monitor through DisplayPort, you need to select playback device as "Speakers VG248 (Nvidia High Definition)". You cannot use Realtek to drive your speakers unless you connect the monitor to the output of the Realtek using a 3.5mm audio cable (the Green colored jack at the back of the board). Make sure you go into the OSD and set the volume on the monitor.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Hey, thanks a lot for the response. I'm not sure what you mean by this though:

    Quote Originally Posted by mdzcpa View Post
    Make sure you go into the OSD and set the volume on the monitor.
    What is OSD?

    Edit: If you mean "on screen display", then I'm not sure which setting you're referring to.
    Last edited by Equanimous; 02-09-2019 at 02:24 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array mdzcpa PC Specs
    mdzcpa PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero XI
    Processor9900k @ 5.1Ghz All Core 1.315v AVX -2
    Memory (part number)Gskill GTZ 4133 C17 32GB (4x8GB)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 2080 TI OC
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorROG PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro M.2 512GB for OS & APPS
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro M.2 1TB for GAMES
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CasePhanteks Evolv X
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 1000W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Corsaur VOID Pro
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Wide Desk Mat
    OS WIN 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys VELOP
    Accessory #1 ROG 751JY Laptop for Moobile Gaming
    Accessory #2 Koolance EXC-800 Chiller
    Accessory #3 25+ years of overclocking

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    79
    Posts
    907

    Quote Originally Posted by Equanimous View Post
    Hey, thanks a lot for the response. I'm not sure what you mean by this though:



    What is OSD?

    Edit: If you mean "on screen display", then I'm not sure which setting you're referring to.
    Press the MENU button to bring up the OSD (yes, on screen display) menu. Go all the way down to System Setup. Look on the right and you'll see the Volume option. Make sure your volume is up.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by mdzcpa View Post
    Press the MENU button to bring up the OSD (yes, on screen display) menu. Go all the way down to System Setup. Look on the right and you'll see the Volume option. Make sure your volume is up.
    You mean the monitor settings? If so, the volume is already at 100 there. The problem with the sound isn't quietness, it is the quality of it. Becomes horrible when it is high.

    I wonder if I can connect the monitor through both the DisplayPort (currently connected to) AND the audio output? Would it work that way?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array mdzcpa PC Specs
    mdzcpa PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero XI
    Processor9900k @ 5.1Ghz All Core 1.315v AVX -2
    Memory (part number)Gskill GTZ 4133 C17 32GB (4x8GB)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 2080 TI OC
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorROG PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro M.2 512GB for OS & APPS
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro M.2 1TB for GAMES
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CasePhanteks Evolv X
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 1000W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Corsaur VOID Pro
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Wide Desk Mat
    OS WIN 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys VELOP
    Accessory #1 ROG 751JY Laptop for Moobile Gaming
    Accessory #2 Koolance EXC-800 Chiller
    Accessory #3 25+ years of overclocking

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    79
    Posts
    907

    Quote Originally Posted by Equanimous View Post
    You mean the monitor settings? If so, the volume is already at 100 there. The problem with the sound isn't quietness, it is the quality of it. Becomes horrible when it is high.

    I wonder if I can connect the monitor through both the DisplayPort (currently connected to) AND the audio output? Would it work that way?

    Absolutely. Connect your audio output from the motherboard via 3.5mm cable (green jacks) to the input on your monitor. Then just select Realtek output in windows sound icon..

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by mdzcpa View Post
    Absolutely. Connect your audio output from the motherboard via 3.5mm cable (green jacks) to the input on your monitor. Then just select Realtek output in windows sound icon..
    Thanks! I will give it a try once I buy a longer cable. The one I got doesn't seem long enough, lol.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •