Page 1 of 11 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 110
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array steevf PC Specs
    steevf PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Hero (WiFi AC) (BIOS v6401)
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X
    Memory (part number)64 GB G.Skill - Ripjaws V DDR4-3200 (F4-3200C16D-32GVK)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 OC
    Sound CardCakewalk V-Studio 100
    Monitor2x Dell P2715Q (4k)
    Storage #1Western Digital Blue 1TB M.2-2280 SSD
    Storage #22x Western Digial 2TB (not in RAID)
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 SE-AM4
    CaseCorsair Air 540 ATX
    Power SupplyCorsair RMx 1000W
    Keyboard G.Skill Ripjaws KM570 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Specturm Wireless
    Mouse Pad ALLSOP (LOL)
    Headset/Speakers Yamaha HS8
    OS Windows 10 pro 64-bit 1809
    Network RouterLinksys WRT3200ACM (OpenWrt/ExpressVPN)
    Accessory #1 HP Laserjet 1200 series

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    I have the B450 version with a 2200G processor.
    I'm slightly overclocking the CPU and running the memory at full 2400 speeds.
    However, I am have trouble with the fan curves getting stuck on full. I'm using BIOS 1021.
    Other than that I'm ok with it sofar.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array steevf PC Specs
    steevf PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Hero (WiFi AC) (BIOS v6401)
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X
    Memory (part number)64 GB G.Skill - Ripjaws V DDR4-3200 (F4-3200C16D-32GVK)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 OC
    Sound CardCakewalk V-Studio 100
    Monitor2x Dell P2715Q (4k)
    Storage #1Western Digital Blue 1TB M.2-2280 SSD
    Storage #22x Western Digial 2TB (not in RAID)
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 SE-AM4
    CaseCorsair Air 540 ATX
    Power SupplyCorsair RMx 1000W
    Keyboard G.Skill Ripjaws KM570 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Specturm Wireless
    Mouse Pad ALLSOP (LOL)
    Headset/Speakers Yamaha HS8
    OS Windows 10 pro 64-bit 1809
    Network RouterLinksys WRT3200ACM (OpenWrt/ExpressVPN)
    Accessory #1 HP Laserjet 1200 series

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Yeah, that is how I set it up. I am using the Wraith cooler.
    It will run fine for many hours and then the CPU and chassis fans will suddenly just ramp up and say on full RPMS until I reboot the computer. CPU temp is stays around 29-30C. (really cold room).
    I don't use AIsuite or any other fan controlling software. All should be BIOS controlled.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array steevf PC Specs
    steevf PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VI Hero (WiFi AC) (BIOS v6401)
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X
    Memory (part number)64 GB G.Skill - Ripjaws V DDR4-3200 (F4-3200C16D-32GVK)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 OC
    Sound CardCakewalk V-Studio 100
    Monitor2x Dell P2715Q (4k)
    Storage #1Western Digital Blue 1TB M.2-2280 SSD
    Storage #22x Western Digial 2TB (not in RAID)
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 SE-AM4
    CaseCorsair Air 540 ATX
    Power SupplyCorsair RMx 1000W
    Keyboard G.Skill Ripjaws KM570 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Specturm Wireless
    Mouse Pad ALLSOP (LOL)
    Headset/Speakers Yamaha HS8
    OS Windows 10 pro 64-bit 1809
    Network RouterLinksys WRT3200ACM (OpenWrt/ExpressVPN)
    Accessory #1 HP Laserjet 1200 series

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    It probably is. I had the same problem on my Crosshair VI Hero until the latest BIOS and then it just fixed itself.
    I really hope they keep working on the bugs. I feel like the ASUS BIOSes aren't as good as they should be.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Built a low power consumption, small volume desktop using this motherboard / athlon 200GE passively cooled CPU. Housed in a small volume Streacon case with a small 80mm case fan set at 1200 RPM for ventillation. I was originally using an older SATA SSD drive from 5 years ago. I upgraded to an ADATA/XPG sx8200Pro mainly to get a larger drive. This is an NVME PCIe 3x4 m.2 drive. I've found installing the OS on these drives finicky. My windows 10 iso disc was having trouble finding the OS. After playing with the BIOS settings it finally showed up during the windows install and the installation went smoothly - to be honest not really sure what combo of settings finally allowed the windows installation to see the drive. Oddly enough the drive wasn't showing up in the BIOS after the install and the computer would boot directly into the bios as if it wasn't seeing the drive. I would do a save changes though nothing was changed and restart and then it would boot in to the OS. I had to enable the CPU PCIe Lanes Unlocked setting under Advanced\Onboard Devices Configuration and now it boots fine and the drive shows up in the BIOS. Hope this helps someone trying to do an install.

    Anyway, everything running smoothly so far. The M.2 drive is faster than the older SSD though the difference for my use is negligible System is near silent with only one fan set on low.

    Greg

  5. #5
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    I was wondering if anyone can confirm that they are able to modify the CPU core ratio in the BIOS? I can't seem to figure out to modify that other then through AI Suite 3 on the B450-I?

  6. #6
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by Rockford View Post
    do you mean the cpu multiplier? 36-->40 (all cores) example
    or do you mean to individually set the core straps? 36.39.39.40

    I assume you mean the first option, and yes its in the bios (easy to do)

    i don't have a USB stick now, and cant take a screenshot, but look in the manual

    use advanced bios layout, not EZ mode

    i think its called cpu ratio (i am not 100% sure)

    (found an image online)

    CPU core ratio indeed

    Attachment 79502
    Thanks for the reply, I got it figured out, I was able to get the overclocking to work now.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Just got my ROG Strix B450-I Motherboard and a Ryzen 3600 in the mail today. Installed it into a Silverstone RV03-ARGB case with 32GB of HyperX Predator DDR4 RGB 32GB Kit 3200MHz CL16, GTX 1070, Samsung 950 Pro NVME M.2, and a Corsair SF750 powering it all. She lights up pretty, with the RGB light on the case, RAM, and motherboard all working in rainbow goodness. Now to my problem, I get no output. I kind of figured this would happen, the BIOS on the motherboard not being updated to support the new Ryzen 3600 CPU, but I was wondering why i NONE of the diagnostic LEDs don't light up. I figure the one for the CPU should be lit? Any advice? Going to file a ticket with AMD to see if I can get a loner CPU to update the BIOS with, I really hope thats the issue. I know the GPU is good, took it out and put it back into my old system and it works fine.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by 97365 View Post
    Just got my ROG Strix B450-I Motherboard and a Ryzen 3600 in the mail today. Installed it into a Silverstone RV03-ARGB case with 32GB of HyperX Predator DDR4 RGB 32GB Kit 3200MHz CL16, GTX 1070, Samsung 950 Pro NVME M.2, and a Corsair SF750 powering it all. She lights up pretty, with the RGB light on the case, RAM, and motherboard all working in rainbow goodness. Now to my problem, I get no output. I kind of figured this would happen, the BIOS on the motherboard not being updated to support the new Ryzen 3600 CPU, but I was wondering why i NONE of the diagnostic LEDs don't light up. I figure the one for the CPU should be lit? Any advice? Going to file a ticket with AMD to see if I can get a loner CPU to update the BIOS with, I really hope thats the issue. I know the GPU is good, took it out and put it back into my old system and it works fine.
    AMD will provide a loaner boot kit, read section 'Short Term Processor Loan Boot Kit':

    https://www.amd.com/en/support/kb/faq/pa-100

    Where did you get your motherboard from? I heard the ones shipped in May should have bios support for Ryzen 5.
    Last edited by yeet342; 07-12-2019 at 07:15 PM.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array 0th3rs PC Specs
    0th3rs PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX B360-I GAMING
    Processori5-9400F
    Memory (part number)Trident Z RGB 3200MHZ
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1060 StormX
    0th3rs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Waiting for my Ryzen 7 3700X to arrive, can't wait!

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by yeet342 View Post
    AMD will provide a loaner boot kit, read section 'Short Term Processor Loan Boot Kit':

    https://www.amd.com/en/support/kb/faq/pa-100

    Where did you get your motherboard from? I heard the ones shipped in May should have bios support for Ryzen 5.
    I got my Asus Rog Strix B450-I and Ryzen 3600, the motherboard was from Amazon, the CPU from Newegg since Amazon was not in stock at the time. The motherboard did NOT come with a compatible BIOS, just ordered a AMD Athlon 200GE today since my local PC shop didn't have a AM4 CPU on hand to update the BIOS with, and the AMD "boot kit" takes jumping through a bunch of hoops, proof Asus support couldn't help, pictures of the 3600's serial number, and I can't remember what else. So my 3600 is going to cost me as much as a 3700x after it's all done and said. AMD Athlon 200GE is supposed to be her Sunday, so I'll update if it worked and everything is working afterwards.

Page 1 of 11 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •