Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Ryzen 7 2700x / x470-f high CPU temp issue

    Hi there.

    I just built a new system based on Ryzen 7 2700x and Asus x470-f. My issue is when all settings of my MoBo is left on "Auto" the CPU Vcore goes crazy high (1.4 - 1.5V) even with simple tasks on win10. I can manually set my Vcore(from BIOS) to 1.35V and its stable and the temps are 40C at idle and 52-58C in games or high load software.

    My question is , is there an option to leave the board Ai settings at auto but make sure the voltage doesnt go too high, because in auto mode if the vcore goes beyond 1.4V the CPU temps become 67-69C and thats with a Cooler Master Masterliquid 240L AiO.

    I don't like to OC anything so all I want is a cool stable stock valued system. I hope someone can help me or guide me through the best settings and tweaking for my ryzen 2700x and x470-f motherboard.

    My system is ;
    Ryzen 7 2700x
    Asus ROG x470-f
    Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200mhz DDR4 RAM
    Gigabyte 1080 ti 11G gaming edition.
    Cooler Master ML 240 RGB AiO
    Thermaltake toughpower 850w PSU

    Thanks.

    Ps. Yes my BIOS is up to date and the high CPU temps arent related to thermal paste (using high quality thin layer mastergel) and yes the AiO pump is working great

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Mine temps, basically stock watercooled:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Tubagem Nova.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	383.9 KB 
ID:	78775

    Basically everything is auto except memory...

  3. #3
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,455

    My Threadripper was doing the same thing...I have used a negative offset to reign in the voltage... currently run -0.09375v and it hasn't affected idle stability...

    Maybe try a negative offset there start low and slowly increase it

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    fine tuning.

    Thanks.

    I'll try the negative offset experiment and see how it goes. Just to figure out the concept, when I do a negative offset will that also lower the lowest voltage the cpu goes?

    for e.g in Ai auto mode the motherboard sets the voltage between 0.8V and then to 1.4 or 1.5V ; yes it will reduce the max voltage but if it reduces the lowest point the cpu might cause trouble or the pc might freeze.

    Anyway I'll try n see

  5. #5
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,455

    Yes, that's why I mentioned idle stability...since it does indeed chop voltage off throughout the vid range...just have to experiment a bit I guess

    You can see difference between vid and offset voltage...max is now 1.4v for the one or two core AFR...and idle is 0.762 instead of 0.85 for me...

    I know I can offset more for the top end...but haven't pushed it for fear of destabilising the bottom end...just gone for a happy compromise area
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Untitled.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	130.9 KB 
ID:	78787

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •