Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Question Identifying M.2 Slots in Software

    Hello:

    I have recently completed my new Desktop build (ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VII HERO M/B, AMD RYZEN 7 2700X CPU, G.Skill F4-2933C14D-32GFX RAM, and two Samsung 970EVO NVMeM.2 500GB SSDs. The system seems to operate fine except I can't find a way to ID, in software, which SSD is which. I want to install Windows 10 on the fastest M.2 slot, but I am unsure which to use. Unfortunately, I made a note of the Serial Numbers on the SSDs but didn't keep track of which one I put where! 8>((

    I am also confused by the BIOS M.2_1 & M.2_2 Link Mode settings - should I leave these alone or are there recommended settings I should use?

    Thank you in advance for your help!

    Sparky
    Last edited by The Artful Dodger; 02-14-2019 at 03:30 PM. Reason: Change notifications

  2. #2
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    301
    Posts
    7,472

    Can you temporarily uninstall one? That would allow you to identify which is which.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Very, Very Difficult

    Hello, xeromist:

    Thanks for the reply.

    It would be very, very difficult to remove the case from it's location! It's tucked behind my rather large desk - it took two of us to get it in there and I'm not going to go to the lengths required to pull it out and then be faced with putting it back again!

    Sparky

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array Plan3tCrack3r PC Specs
    Plan3tCrack3r PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX X470-F GAMING
    ProcessorRyzen 2700X
    Memory (part number)Vengeance RGB Pro CMW16GX4M2C3000C15
    Graphics Card #1XFX Fatboy RX 590
    Sound CardPioneer Elite Receiver, SteelSeries GameDAC
    MonitorAcer KG271U 1440p/144Hz, Samsung 46" 1080p
    Storage #1970 EVO 500GB, Inland Premium 256GB NVME, Sandisk Ultra 3D 1TB, 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage #2Barracuda Pro 2TB, Firecuda 2TB
    CPU CoolerH115i Pro, 3X LL120 Fans
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 500D
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower Grand RGB 650 Gold
    Keyboard K70 MK.2 Low Profile Rapidfire - MX Speed, Logitech G613 Wireless
    Mouse SteelSeries Rival 600, G602, MX Anywhere 2S
    Headset SteelSeries Arctis 3 w/ GamDAC
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries Qck Prism Cloth XL
    Headset/Speakers Polk 5.1 Towers, bookshelves, sub
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 DualShock 4

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    I only have one NVMe drive installed, 970 EVO boot drive in M2_1 slot of X470-F, and between BIOS and Windows 10 running have only seen mention of PCI interface used for the drive in Samsung Magician software. When selecting any drive installed on the PC Magician shows the interface and shows "PCIE Gen. 3 x 4" for the 970 EVO and "SATA 6.0GB/s" for all other drives. Maybe it would show PCIE Gen. 3 x 2 for the M2_2 drive if an NVMe was installed there? Disk Management, which appears when first installing Windows 10 to allocate boot drive space, did not show any unique identifier of PCIE slot even when choosing properties>details location information. The Location Information for my 970 EVO and 850 EVO are the same, Bus Number 0, Target Id 0, LUN 0, while my other drives all have unique Bus Numbers associated.

    I'd remove M2_2 drive, install OS on M2_1 and reinstall M2_2. Not having access to the physical PC is a whole different issue I'll stay away from.
    X470-F, 2700X, RX 590, 970 EVO, Obsidian 500D, H115i Pro

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •