Results 1 to 10 of 14

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Question ASUS G751JY Bricked after changed boot order.

    Hello
    A couple of days ago I installed a sata disk of 2tb to my notebook instead of the 1tb that came by default. The point is that by changing the boot order from the bios, I saved the changes and when I restarted, the computer did not start any more.
    When I start it, the keyboard lights turn on for about 2 seconds and then turns off.

    I tried installing the default disks, remove battery, restart cmos battery, remove ram, but nothing! does not react, does not even turn on the internal fans.

    Is it possible that the motherboard is defective simply by changing the boot order?

    I would appreciate your answers.

    https://youtu.be/Ou24X0dWZQE


    PS: Sorry for my English.
    Last edited by totalchaos1990; 02-21-2019 at 01:30 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array Gps3dx PC Specs
    Gps3dx PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Current: G751JT | Retired: G55VW, G51JX
    MotherboardInc M.2 slot
    Storage #1Samsungs EVO 850 128GB
    Storage #21TB HGST Travelstar 7K1000 (HTS721010A9E630)
    CPU CoolerMother Nature & Thermodynamics laws
    Mouse Logitech MX 518
    Headset/Speakers Logitech T6060
    OS Cleaned installed Windows 10 HOME x64
    Accessory #1 Leap Motion

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    71
    Posts
    785

    Quote Originally Posted by totalchaos1990 View Post
    Hello
    A couple of days ago I installed a sata disk of 2tb to my notebook instead of the 1tb that came by default. The point is that by changing the boot order from the bios, I saved the changes and when I restarted, the computer did not start any more.
    When I start it, the keyboard lights turn on for about 2 seconds and then turns off.

    I tried installing the default disks, remove battery, restart cmos battery, remove ram, but nothing! does not react, does not even turn on the internal fans.
    welcome to ROG forums.

    if you removed the cmos battery then there's a high chances that your UEFI (the new "bios" you got) settings got reset - not just the boot order.
    I advise you to read my guide about installing windows ( see my sig ) - just so you understand the difference between GPT & MBR formatted drive, i.e legacy boot VS UEFI boot method.

    so, to make your laptop boot into windows again - you need to know which boot method your laptop is using... is it UEFI based OR legacy ?
    if it's legacy, the "CSM option" in the "bios" should be ENABLED.
    if it's UEFI, then it should be DISABLED, and you might also need to enable "secure boot" if you use OEM windows ( the OS asus gave you the laptop with ).

    in addition, if you have put the OS HDD ( the one windows is installed on ) in ANOTHER SATA BAY, beside changing the boot order, you might need to "fix windows boot" by using windows installation disk.
    to make such a disk/usb, read my guide as I explained above.

    if you use UEFI boot, there's also a slight possibility that you need to manually add a new boot "line"/"order"/"option" in the UEFI (aka "bios") settings since the old one is only applicable for when the OS HDD is connected in the previous SATA bay - and because the windows installation disk's "auto boot fix" process might not be able to successfully do that automatically for you.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Gps3dx View Post
    welcome to ROG forums.

    if you removed the cmos battery then there's a high chances that your UEFI (the new "bios" you got) settings got reset - not just the boot order.
    I advise you to read my guide about installing windows ( see my sig ) - just so you understand the difference between GPT & MBR formatted drive, i.e legacy boot VS UEFI boot method.

    so, to make your laptop boot into windows again - you need to know which boot method your laptop is using... is it UEFI based OR legacy ?
    if it's legacy, the "CSM option" in the "bios" should be ENABLED.
    if it's UEFI, then it should be DISABLED, and you might also need to enable "secure boot" if you use OEM windows ( the OS asus gave you the laptop with ).

    in addition, if you have put the OS HDD ( the one windows is installed on ) in ANOTHER SATA BAY, beside changing the boot order, you might need to "fix windows boot" by using windows installation disk.
    to make such a disk/usb, read my guide as I explained above.

    if you use UEFI boot, there's also a slight possibility that you need to manually add a new boot "line"/"order"/"option" in the UEFI (aka "bios") settings since the old one is only applicable for when the OS HDD is connected in the previous SATA bay - and because the windows installation disk's "auto boot fix" process might not be able to successfully do that automatically for you.
    Thanks for your answer bro, but even when doing the cmos reboot, I still can not do anything with my laptop, it seems that definitely need a change of motherboard.
    I uploaded a video where you can see what my laptop does:

    https://youtu.be/Ou24X0dWZQE

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...shback-process!

    it is like this (i have made the usb stick with cmd) and if i remember you need to press the power button for 30sec or more. My pc was DEAD ad i restore it!

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by PiHeich View Post
    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...shback-process!

    it is like this (i have made the usb stick with cmd) and if i remember you need to press the power button for 30sec or more. My pc was DEAD ad i restore it!
    Thanks for answer me bro, yerterday I did it, but without results. My laptop seems dead, I put the BIOS files into a pendrive and then I did Ctrl+Home pressing Power button, but nothing.

    Sorry for my english.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array Gps3dx PC Specs
    Gps3dx PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Current: G751JT | Retired: G55VW, G51JX
    MotherboardInc M.2 slot
    Storage #1Samsungs EVO 850 128GB
    Storage #21TB HGST Travelstar 7K1000 (HTS721010A9E630)
    CPU CoolerMother Nature & Thermodynamics laws
    Mouse Logitech MX 518
    Headset/Speakers Logitech T6060
    OS Cleaned installed Windows 10 HOME x64
    Accessory #1 Leap Motion

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    71
    Posts
    785

    Quote Originally Posted by totalchaos1990 View Post
    Thanks for answer me bro, yerterday I did it, but without results. My laptop seems dead, I put the BIOS files into a pendrive and then I did Ctrl+Home pressing Power button, but nothing.

    Sorry for my english.
    it seems your issue is indeed HW based or bad flashed firmware.
    Please try to rename the bios file like the following:
    if you've downloaded a zip with bios named "G751JYAS.211" - make few copies of it on the USB and rename them as follows:
    • G751JYAS.211
    • G751JY.211
    • G751JYAS.BIN
    • G751JY.BIN

    try to perform the ctrl+home flashing procedure FEW TIMES - don't give up:
    • power up & press and hold ctrl+home.
    • power up & immediately press ctrl+home, release & press again and again... ( press the combo few times each sec ).
    • try connecting the USB to a different USB socket ( right side is advisable ).
    • make sure you're connected to AC ~2 hours before flashing so that the battery may have a change to charge.
    • make sure your USB is formatted as FAT32 (advisable) or FAT16 AND that it contains only ONE partition.

    P.S - IMHO, please note that changing the boot order or CSM option in the bios DOES NOT CAUSE HW FAILURE NOR corruption of the bios - these options can be changed endlessly without any harmful effect to the PC.
    IMHO, your issue was caused by something else entirely.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Hello, have you tryed to reflash the bis with a usb stick? I bricked my g751jy with OC and i was in your situation.

    You need to create a usb, put the bis and rename it then use a combination of keys for reflash the bios. Sorry but i don't remember the procedure

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Hi, I run into the same problem.
    Have you maybe modified BIOS 211 to support M2 SSD as I did last week?

    I have successfully modified BIOS v211 and tested Intel 660p 512GB NVME, today I got Intel 660p 2TB and I was changing BOOT order and after restart my G751JY doesn't start anymore.

    I have also dissembled whole laptop, removed CMOS BIOS battery, removed RAM, HDD, SDD, nothing...

    Did you resolved your issue at the end?

    EDIT:
    I just checked your video, and the difference is that mine stays ON, but screen doesn't turn on neither backlight.
    I connected laptop to my TV via HDMI to be sure it's not VGA, but nothing via HDMI as well.
    Last edited by sa_stilom; 05-14-2019 at 08:30 PM.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Why do you suggest turning off Driver Update via Windows Update?
    Can you explain bit more what are you trying to avoid, did you had any experience on your own?

    Thank you in advance!

    btw: I managed to install Windows 10 Pro x64, however it's crashing randomly. Seems like something didn't sit properly. When I run stress tests HDD, RAM, VGA - they all pass.
    When I start Windows Media Creation Tool, crashes. When I run Windows Updates, crash...

    Still trying to figure out what is causing it as I'm afraid that taking my laptop apart maybe did something to the MBO/Laptop.


    @totalchaos1990
    Now when I don't panic anymore, your issue looks to me either like:
    - BIOS issue or MBO Power issue
    Last edited by sa_stilom; 05-15-2019 at 10:53 AM.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    So, for refresh the original bios you need to format the pendrive in FAT, put int the bios renamed in .bin, start the pc and then press CTRL+HOME??

    If the answare is yes, i try to overclock again my cpu

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •