Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array kingvijay2011 PC Specs
    kingvijay2011 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Sold Aliienware
    MotherboardAsus Rog Maximus XI Hero
    ProcessorIntel I7 9700k @3.6Ghz Coffee lake
    Memory (part number)G skill Trident 8GB *2 3600Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Asus Rog RTX 2080 TI 11 GB OC
    Graphics Card #2Is this a Joke?
    Sound CardRealtek :(
    MonitorAcer Predator xb271hu 144 hz
    Storage #1Samsung Nvme 1 TB SSD
    Storage #2Crucual 1TB SSS SATA
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken * 62 280 mm
    CaseCorsair Spec Omega
    Power SupplyCorsair 850 Rmx
    Keyboard Hyper x alloy Elite
    Mouse Logitech G502 proteas spectrum
    Headset 👽 ware Headset
    Mouse Pad Speed type and control type Mouse pad
    Headset/Speakers Sony 7.1
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterDouble antenna Router Basic

    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Guys please advice! Newly built PC with 2080 TI drastically failing on benchmarks

    My specs
    Asus Rog RTX 2080 TI 11GB OC
    I7 9700K
    Asus Rog Maximus XI Hero Mobo
    2*8GB Gskill trident Ram
    Acer predator 144hz Monitor

    It has been 7-8 days since i built my brand new Gaming PC. I right away started gaming on it with games like GTA5,Far cry 5,PUBG,Resident evil etc and everything went well on ultra and mostly high settings with over 100 Fps
    when i started doing some benchmark on my PC ,I was shocked to see that My GPU is failing (under-performing)

    User benchmark test : Every component of my system performed well with over 70-80 percentile except my GPU .My Gpu was in 10th percentile when compared to others its rating was (162%) when average was around 200 %

    Ungine valley and heaven benchmarks :- This is where i was shocked to see all these tests (custom,basic extreme) were showing shaded red colors and artifatcs. I am not bothered to see the fps as all these tests were showing artifacts

    3DMARK Time spy : I bought this software from steam and tested it .It gave me a GPU score of 6900 only.I googled and found in every other forum that 2080 TI owners are getting somewhere around 12000

    All the above tests were done at STOCK settings only.I changed setting in my BIOS to xmp / defaults but still same Low scores and artifacts . I have MSI after burner and i check it and all the settings were at stock only like 0 memory clock and 0 boost clock for gpu.

    Guys kindly tell me am i doing something wrong or is my GPU defective?? Do you suggest me to go for RMA or are there any troubleshooting steps that i can perform?? Kindly note that until now i did not find any problem in games.But its only 6-7 days since in built this PC
    Any advice is appreciated
    UPDATE : this is how it looks while playing PUBG now
    https://imgur.com/XL5oSi1
    Last edited by kingvijay2011; 02-22-2019 at 02:39 PM. Reason: Updating

  2. #2
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,378

    I would try a clean install of drivers after using DDU...

    If that doesn't fix anything it does look like you'll have to RMA it...

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array kingvijay2011 PC Specs
    kingvijay2011 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Sold Aliienware
    MotherboardAsus Rog Maximus XI Hero
    ProcessorIntel I7 9700k @3.6Ghz Coffee lake
    Memory (part number)G skill Trident 8GB *2 3600Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Asus Rog RTX 2080 TI 11 GB OC
    Graphics Card #2Is this a Joke?
    Sound CardRealtek :(
    MonitorAcer Predator xb271hu 144 hz
    Storage #1Samsung Nvme 1 TB SSD
    Storage #2Crucual 1TB SSS SATA
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken * 62 280 mm
    CaseCorsair Spec Omega
    Power SupplyCorsair 850 Rmx
    Keyboard Hyper x alloy Elite
    Mouse Logitech G502 proteas spectrum
    Headset 👽 ware Headset
    Mouse Pad Speed type and control type Mouse pad
    Headset/Speakers Sony 7.1
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterDouble antenna Router Basic

    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Thanks for saving the DAY

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    I would try a clean install of drivers after using DDU...

    If that doesn't fix anything it does look like you'll have to RMA it...
    Hi i have done a clean reinstall of Nvidia drivers using DDU.

    It changed everything as of now. All red shading disappeared. Now i am able to do some benchmarks with valley and heaven.I also did a fire strike score of 25500 with 2080TI and 9700 k. I am very confused right now. It looks as if nothing has happened.My pc has got a score of 4650 in ingine valley benchmark. For All these tests the core clock was at 1750 Mhz and memory clock at 1800 mhz. ( I believe stock settings)Temperature did not cross 70C

    Before becoming completely optimistic about my pc is there anything that i can do to safely test my GPU. ??

    Any idea of why this actually happened to my gpu in just 6-7 days of using it??

    Thanks for the help

  4. #4
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,378

    GPU drivers can get corrupted...any system crashes?...game crashes? BSODs

    Is the PC overclocked?

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array kingvijay2011 PC Specs
    kingvijay2011 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Sold Aliienware
    MotherboardAsus Rog Maximus XI Hero
    ProcessorIntel I7 9700k @3.6Ghz Coffee lake
    Memory (part number)G skill Trident 8GB *2 3600Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Asus Rog RTX 2080 TI 11 GB OC
    Graphics Card #2Is this a Joke?
    Sound CardRealtek :(
    MonitorAcer Predator xb271hu 144 hz
    Storage #1Samsung Nvme 1 TB SSD
    Storage #2Crucual 1TB SSS SATA
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken * 62 280 mm
    CaseCorsair Spec Omega
    Power SupplyCorsair 850 Rmx
    Keyboard Hyper x alloy Elite
    Mouse Logitech G502 proteas spectrum
    Headset 👽 ware Headset
    Mouse Pad Speed type and control type Mouse pad
    Headset/Speakers Sony 7.1
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterDouble antenna Router Basic

    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Any suggestions please

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    GPU drivers can get corrupted...any system crashes?...game crashes? BSODs

    Is the PC overclocked?
    No BSOD's ,No Game crashes as i know

    The only problem is i am changing profile on my BIOS and switching to Auto and XMP. My system has a cold boot problem.That is every time it cold boots it double boots or triple boots.I have searched every where and i did not find any solution to this.I have seen on many ROG forums also i guess no one has any solution.

    But i am very optimistic that you can provide something to me
    The pattern i observed is if i put my profile in BIOS to defaults (Auto) My system cold boots only double that is all my rgb fans lit up and then they go off .after 2 seconds they lit up again and this time system successfully boots up

    AND
    If i put my profile in xmp (RAM goes to 3600Mhz)system cold boots triple time. could you tell some troubleshooting to fix this?? is this dangerous or can i live with this???
    Regarding GPU
    I did not manually overclock CPU i just may have increased the RAM mhz thats all .But while checking benchmark results it shows my CPU average @4.59 GHZ.
    Does that mean my CPU is overclocked?? I am not sure.I thought that i did not change any multiplier in BIOS so system is running at stock.I might be wrong

    These are my numbers on hardware monitor.I cannot understand those voltage numbers
    https://imgur.com/Kn2gv0n
    https://imgur.com/jbE4LLQ
    Last edited by kingvijay2011; 02-23-2019 at 09:57 AM. Reason: updating

  6. #6
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,378

    OK...so on ASUS boards...the reboots on a cold boot are normal for certain settings. Usually for OC settings and XMP is technically an OC

    It usually has to do with training RAM...i.e. the board is making sure, after a total loss of power, that the memory is trained up to speed. A double boot is more "normal"...however a triple boot is not unheard of..the board will do what it needs to, to ensure stability.

    If you put the board to sleep...does it wake up OK?

    What exact RAM kit dou you have? A single dual channel kit?

    Everything looks normal in the monitoring software...CPU is boosting normally etc....except the RAM...looks like two single 8GB sticks combined...i.e. looks like not a 16GB kit...but maybe HWmonitor is reading wrong
    Last edited by Arne Saknussemm; 02-23-2019 at 10:11 AM.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array kingvijay2011 PC Specs
    kingvijay2011 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Sold Aliienware
    MotherboardAsus Rog Maximus XI Hero
    ProcessorIntel I7 9700k @3.6Ghz Coffee lake
    Memory (part number)G skill Trident 8GB *2 3600Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Asus Rog RTX 2080 TI 11 GB OC
    Graphics Card #2Is this a Joke?
    Sound CardRealtek :(
    MonitorAcer Predator xb271hu 144 hz
    Storage #1Samsung Nvme 1 TB SSD
    Storage #2Crucual 1TB SSS SATA
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken * 62 280 mm
    CaseCorsair Spec Omega
    Power SupplyCorsair 850 Rmx
    Keyboard Hyper x alloy Elite
    Mouse Logitech G502 proteas spectrum
    Headset 👽 ware Headset
    Mouse Pad Speed type and control type Mouse pad
    Headset/Speakers Sony 7.1
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterDouble antenna Router Basic

    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    OK...so on ASUS boards...the reboots on a cold boot are normal for certain settings. Usually for OC settings and XMP is technically an OC

    It usually has to do with training RAM...i.e. the board is making sure, after a total loss of power, that the memory is trained up to speed. A double boot is more "normal"...however a triple boot is not unheard of..the board will do what it needs to, to ensure stability.

    If you put the board to sleep...does it wake up OK?

    What exact RAM kit dou you have? A single dual channel kit?

    Everything looks normal in the monitoring software...CPU is boosting normally etc....except the RAM...looks like two single 8GB sticks combined...i.e. looks like not a 16GB kit...but maybe HWmonitor is reading wrong
    Thanks
    I am using G SKill Trident RGB 2 * 8 GB . I installed them on A2 and B2 slots of my Motherboard. Shall i buy a single 16GB RAm kit and remove these?? Does it make a change?

    The double boot/Triple boot only happens on a Cold Boot (complete power off)

    When i put my system to sleep or just restarting the system ,it is booting on first attempt. Anything i need to troubleshoot for these?? ?

    AND
    Regarding GPU since its has been only 7-8 days i used it ,are there any tests to see if this is really good and i can believe in it in long term??
    Last edited by kingvijay2011; 02-23-2019 at 11:15 AM. Reason: Update

  8. #8
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,378

    If the driver re-install solved the graphical problems, I suspect there is nothing wrong with the GPU.

    There is not really any test that will tell you anything long term. If something like Firestrike or Firestrike extreme passes and you don't see any artefacts or glitches while it runs, then you're good to go.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array kingvijay2011 PC Specs
    kingvijay2011 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Sold Aliienware
    MotherboardAsus Rog Maximus XI Hero
    ProcessorIntel I7 9700k @3.6Ghz Coffee lake
    Memory (part number)G skill Trident 8GB *2 3600Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Asus Rog RTX 2080 TI 11 GB OC
    Graphics Card #2Is this a Joke?
    Sound CardRealtek :(
    MonitorAcer Predator xb271hu 144 hz
    Storage #1Samsung Nvme 1 TB SSD
    Storage #2Crucual 1TB SSS SATA
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken * 62 280 mm
    CaseCorsair Spec Omega
    Power SupplyCorsair 850 Rmx
    Keyboard Hyper x alloy Elite
    Mouse Logitech G502 proteas spectrum
    Headset 👽 ware Headset
    Mouse Pad Speed type and control type Mouse pad
    Headset/Speakers Sony 7.1
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterDouble antenna Router Basic

    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    If the driver re-install solved the graphical problems, I suspect there is nothing wrong with the GPU.

    There is not really any test that will tell you anything long term. If something like Firestrike or Firestrike extreme passes and you don't see any artefacts or glitches while it runs, then you're good to go.
    Thanks for clarification
    AND lastly regarding RAM does a single 16 GB kit make a difference compared to 2* 8 GB?? I am only running mine at 2133Mhz which has a capacity of 3600Mhz

  10. #10
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,378

    Yes, it does...that's why I was asking...

    Have a read of this https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...atoes-overview

    Basically...single RAM kits are made of a lot of RAM chips that have been tested to work together.

    If you put together single RAM sticks, even of same make and model, they might not work well together and need extra training/voltage/tweaking etc. to run
    Sometimes they simply don't work whatever you do.

    A single kit of RAM that is on the motherboard QVL is always the best way to buy RAM

    BUT just to be clear...a single 16GB stick vs 2x8GB sticks is pretty much the same....I hope we're not confusing sticks with kits!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •