Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Lightbulb Adaptive Voltage OC on z390F exceeds limit

    I am running my 9700k on all core 5ghz using adaptive voltage.
    The turbo voltage is set to be 1.3v and the offset is +0.001*
    The maximum voltage shown in bios menu is 1.301v

    After I run the cpuz, I find that the voltage - 1.345 max 1.335 under load
    Why there is 0.04v added unexpectedly?
    *I set LLC level5, turned off MCE and maximized the current limit.

    What’s wrong with the set up?
    Is there any way to solve this besides using manual voltage?*
    Thanks for reading!

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array rjbarker PC Specs
    rjbarker PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Extreme (BIOS 0605)
    Processor9900K @ 5.1 Ghz w EK Velocity
    Memory (part number)32 GB -Dominator Platinum 3200 Mhz CAS 16
    Graphics Card #1Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Graphics Card #2Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Sound CardOnboard Realtek
    MonitorDell Alienware 34" Ultra wide 120Hz Gsync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512G M.2 NNMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 512G & 256G
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Copper w Nickel Plating
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1600i
    OS W10 HP x64
    Accessory #1 480 * 360 * 240 XSPC Radiators (15 Fans) w 4 Channel 200W Fan Controller
    Accessory #2 XSPC Photon Rez / Vario Pump combo
    Accessory #3 Fesser Flex Tubing - Bits Power Fittings & EK SLi Terminal
    rjbarker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    290

    The key to voltage are what VID is.....what you set in BIOS...what desktop idle is and what 100% Load is.....write these numbers down and play with adjusting settings and Loadline Calibration.......try and find the lowest possible vcore (under load) stable....once you start playing around with the Adaptive Voltage and LLC...running and noting voltages under load....you;ll start to see the pattern .....some vDroop and some overshoot.....the end goal is stil the same....

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Lightbulb

    Quote Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
    The key to voltage are what VID is.....what you set in BIOS...what desktop idle is and what 100% Load is.....write these numbers down and play with adjusting settings and Loadline Calibration.......try and find the lowest possible vcore (under load) stable....once you start playing around with the Adaptive Voltage and LLC...running and noting voltages under load....you;ll start to see the pattern .....some vDroop and some overshoot.....the end goal is stil the same....
    Thank you, rjbarker. I now set the value to 1.28 and offset -0.010
    *idle 0.660 .... max 1.315 .... under load 1.305
    Is it normal to have a higher voltage than the one in bios?*

  4. #4
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,800

    Yes, this is normal. It is not possible to set the Additional Turbo Voltage to less than the stock VID for a given ratio without the use of the offset function.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ASUS View Post
    Yes, this is normal. It is not possible to set the Additional Turbo Voltage to less than the stock VID for a given ratio without the use of the offset function.
    I often get confused with VID and Vcore. Does vcore refer to the reading of cpuz and vid is the value in bios?
    I think 1.305-1.315 is an acceptable value for 9700k to run at 5ghz, should I try keep lowering for better temp?*
    Really appreciate your help!*

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array rjbarker PC Specs
    rjbarker PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Extreme (BIOS 0605)
    Processor9900K @ 5.1 Ghz w EK Velocity
    Memory (part number)32 GB -Dominator Platinum 3200 Mhz CAS 16
    Graphics Card #1Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Graphics Card #2Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Sound CardOnboard Realtek
    MonitorDell Alienware 34" Ultra wide 120Hz Gsync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512G M.2 NNMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 512G & 256G
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Copper w Nickel Plating
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1600i
    OS W10 HP x64
    Accessory #1 480 * 360 * 240 XSPC Radiators (15 Fans) w 4 Channel 200W Fan Controller
    Accessory #2 XSPC Photon Rez / Vario Pump combo
    Accessory #3 Fesser Flex Tubing - Bits Power Fittings & EK SLi Terminal
    rjbarker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    290

    Im presently Adaptive 1.285v w LLC 6 (no AVX Offset) and no Voltage Offset.....into 7 Hrs of P95 Blend ...temps are warm considering a Custom Loop...P95 latest with AVX disabled

    Under Full load Prime or Realbench vDroop to 1.265v - 1.279v .....
    Max Temps 69c - 81c (Extreme upper limit with all cores at 100% Load)

    Idle desktop is 1.31v - 1.323v (VID)

    Memory XMP Profile 32G @ 3200 CAS 16 1T
    SVID Best Case Scenario "Auto"

    Trying LLC 5 drops my load voltage to around 1.225v which isnt enough for this Chip @ 5Ghz unfortunately.....and raising vCore to 1.295v with LLC 5 still results in 1.225v under load...not enough...so either leave LLC @ level 5 and contine to raise vcore or leave vcore and raise LLC to level 6.....what I have narrowed down here since yesterday is my Chip requires somewhere between 1.24v - 1.279v for 5 Ghz.....and lengthy P95 session

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    My chip is under 240mm AIO cooling and the cores reached 67 C max( not yet hammered my chip, just normal test bench)
    I am going to lower the voltage a little bit more to acheive 1.28 underload I think
    My Bios version have no Auto offset value so yeah I will just leave it at -0.01
    What is the function of SVID? I set it to best case scenario according to the oc guides...*
    It is described as having better temp like that in bios*

    Anyway, thanks again for your sharing!*

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array rjbarker PC Specs
    rjbarker PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Extreme (BIOS 0605)
    Processor9900K @ 5.1 Ghz w EK Velocity
    Memory (part number)32 GB -Dominator Platinum 3200 Mhz CAS 16
    Graphics Card #1Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Graphics Card #2Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Sound CardOnboard Realtek
    MonitorDell Alienware 34" Ultra wide 120Hz Gsync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512G M.2 NNMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 512G & 256G
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Copper w Nickel Plating
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1600i
    OS W10 HP x64
    Accessory #1 480 * 360 * 240 XSPC Radiators (15 Fans) w 4 Channel 200W Fan Controller
    Accessory #2 XSPC Photon Rez / Vario Pump combo
    Accessory #3 Fesser Flex Tubing - Bits Power Fittings & EK SLi Terminal
    rjbarker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    290

    Quote Originally Posted by Jc.852 View Post
    My chip is under 240mm AIO cooling and the cores reached 67 C max( not yet hammered my chip, just normal test bench)
    I am going to lower the voltage a little bit more to acheive 1.28 underload I think
    My Bios version have no Auto offset value so yeah I will just leave it at -0.01
    What is the function of SVID? I set it to best case scenario according to the oc guides...*
    It is described as having better temp like that in bios*

    Anyway, thanks again for your sharing!*
    I hit 80c stress testing my 5 Ghz OC with a Custom Loop using 480*360*240 Radiators.....if youre only hitting 67c Max with a 240 AIO you arent stress testing properly

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array rjbarker PC Specs
    rjbarker PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Extreme (BIOS 0605)
    Processor9900K @ 5.1 Ghz w EK Velocity
    Memory (part number)32 GB -Dominator Platinum 3200 Mhz CAS 16
    Graphics Card #1Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Graphics Card #2Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Sound CardOnboard Realtek
    MonitorDell Alienware 34" Ultra wide 120Hz Gsync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512G M.2 NNMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 512G & 256G
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Copper w Nickel Plating
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1600i
    OS W10 HP x64
    Accessory #1 480 * 360 * 240 XSPC Radiators (15 Fans) w 4 Channel 200W Fan Controller
    Accessory #2 XSPC Photon Rez / Vario Pump combo
    Accessory #3 Fesser Flex Tubing - Bits Power Fittings & EK SLi Terminal
    rjbarker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    290

    Quote Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
    I hit 80c stress testing my 5 Ghz OC with a Custom Loop using 480*360*240 Radiators.....if youre only hitting 67c Max with a 240 AIO you arent stress testing properly
    Try both Realbench for 15 min or P95 Small FTT for 1 Hr.......report back your temps ....guarenteed you'll be well beyond 67c !!!

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    I ran prime95 small fft test and there is rounding errors in 2 cores and result errors after few minutes in other 2. The other 4 work as normal..
    This happened because of setting problem? It is using multi threading and 9700k does't have it.
    Does this mean my oc is unstable? Max temp is 88C after an hour.
    Last edited by Jc.852; 02-19-2019 at 05:36 AM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •