Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Zbigniew PC Specs
    Zbigniew PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Alienware 13 R2
    MotherboardAsus Rampage Omega
    ProcessorI7 7820X (only 28 lines) @4,5GHz Air
    Memory (part number)Trident Z f4-3200c14q-32gtzr
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix Advanced 1070 Ti
    Sound CardCreative Labs Sound BlasterX AE-5
    MonitorAcer Predator XB321HK
    Storage #12x Samsung 970 PCI-EX Raid0
    Storage #2Plextor PX-512MB
    CPU CoolerBe Quiet! Dark Rock TF
    CaseThermaltake SwordM (old-fashioned big tower case)
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra 850W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinium
    Mouse Corsair Dark Core
    Headset German Maestro 8.35 Mobile
    Mouse Pad FUNC XXL + Asus ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Razer Mako
    OS Windows 10 X64Pro
    Network RouterHuawei B529
    Accessory #1 Rum Captain Morgan + Coca-cola wild cherry + ice
    Accessory #2 Knuckle with cabbage
    Accessory #3 Snickers Cake
    Zbigniew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Thumbs up Asus Rampage OMEGA - please help me configure my M.2 drive

    *--------------------------------------------------*
    Computer specification:
    Asus Rampage OMEGA
    I7-7820X
    4x8GB G.Skill CL-14
    GTX Strix 1070Ti Advanced
    M.2_1: Samsung 970Pro
    Dimm M2.2_1: Samsung 970Pro
    Bios 0218 and 0504 in the default settings.
    None VROC Intel
    I threw everything else out for checking
    *--------------------------------------------------*
    I will change the title of the post when I will be finally satisfied.
    As a beta tester, I lost a few hours and 700 EURO.
    I have been a fan of HEDT Asus since 2000.
    I've had almost all motherboards of this class.

    PROBLEM:

    A) If the AHCI mode is enabled by default and two disks are detected correctly.
    It can be done by every motherboard from 80euro

    Photographs below:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1538.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	91.1 KB 
ID:	78927
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1539.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	78.4 KB 
ID:	78928

    1. I run from the RAID PCH bios using the EZ Tuning Wizard (alternatively I also tried manually)
    They can make motherboards for 120 euro.
    2. In both cases, the automatic reset is correct, of course.
    After rebooting, the drive in slot M.2_1 disappears as fast as the train in the subway.
    Photographs below:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1541.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	100.0 KB 
ID:	78929
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1542.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	76.1 KB 
ID:	78930

    Swapping disks places -> no changes
    (SSD's in the sockets assigned to the CPU are not detected - normally, ok - I do not have a VROC key)
    Why so expensive Motherboard HEDT has problems with it when several times cheaper can do it?
    Maybe the user is stupid and the Motherboard is correct?
    I do not have any ideas anymore. I ask the Asus ROG fans for help, not first time.
    Thank you for your interest.
    Last edited by Raja@ASUS; 02-17-2019 at 08:50 PM.
    Blessed are those who have not seen ... And now they see.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array Zbigniew PC Specs
    Zbigniew PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Alienware 13 R2
    MotherboardAsus Rampage Omega
    ProcessorI7 7820X (only 28 lines) @4,5GHz Air
    Memory (part number)Trident Z f4-3200c14q-32gtzr
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix Advanced 1070 Ti
    Sound CardCreative Labs Sound BlasterX AE-5
    MonitorAcer Predator XB321HK
    Storage #12x Samsung 970 PCI-EX Raid0
    Storage #2Plextor PX-512MB
    CPU CoolerBe Quiet! Dark Rock TF
    CaseThermaltake SwordM (old-fashioned big tower case)
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra 850W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinium
    Mouse Corsair Dark Core
    Headset German Maestro 8.35 Mobile
    Mouse Pad FUNC XXL + Asus ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Razer Mako
    OS Windows 10 X64Pro
    Network RouterHuawei B529
    Accessory #1 Rum Captain Morgan + Coca-cola wild cherry + ice
    Accessory #2 Knuckle with cabbage
    Accessory #3 Snickers Cake
    Zbigniew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    My statement was censored by:
    (Last edited by Raja @ ASUS; 2019.02.17 08:50 PM)
    I added again my important explanation, which was removed unnecessarily:
    "I would also like to add that currently I also have Asus Rampage APEX, everything works well.
    The above Samsung's have been operating properly for Asus Rampage VI Extreme in RAID0 mode (both 960EVO and 970PRO)"
    This is an absolutely new product. It is in this forum that new owners should seek help.
    No where else. Great help for end users in this forum - this is my main reason for buying Asus products.
    (No EVGA, MSI, ASROCK, GIGABYTE, etc.)
    Last edited by Zbigniew; 02-17-2019 at 10:59 PM.
    Blessed are those who have not seen ... And now they see.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Zbigniew PC Specs
    Zbigniew PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Alienware 13 R2
    MotherboardAsus Rampage Omega
    ProcessorI7 7820X (only 28 lines) @4,5GHz Air
    Memory (part number)Trident Z f4-3200c14q-32gtzr
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix Advanced 1070 Ti
    Sound CardCreative Labs Sound BlasterX AE-5
    MonitorAcer Predator XB321HK
    Storage #12x Samsung 970 PCI-EX Raid0
    Storage #2Plextor PX-512MB
    CPU CoolerBe Quiet! Dark Rock TF
    CaseThermaltake SwordM (old-fashioned big tower case)
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra 850W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinium
    Mouse Corsair Dark Core
    Headset German Maestro 8.35 Mobile
    Mouse Pad FUNC XXL + Asus ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Razer Mako
    OS Windows 10 X64Pro
    Network RouterHuawei B529
    Accessory #1 Rum Captain Morgan + Coca-cola wild cherry + ice
    Accessory #2 Knuckle with cabbage
    Accessory #3 Snickers Cake
    Zbigniew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Nobody helped me.
    I will ask differently for solving the problem.
    Scenario:
    I am buying a KryoM.2 M2 PCI-e adapter
    I mount Samsung SSD 970 Pro on it.
    I run the drive from the PCIEX4 connector.
    I run the second disk through the PCH M2 connector.
    Is it possible to run RAID0 arrays in this case?
    I am willing to buy it if I knew it would be successful.
    Did anyone try that?
    The Intel RST PCH Raid0 is running in the manual and in the BIOS. EZ Tuning Wizard allows you to create a Matrix Raid 0 through PCH.
    I clearly see this option. Is this the solution to the problem? Did anyone try that?
    Last edited by Zbigniew; 03-03-2019 at 07:45 PM.
    Blessed are those who have not seen ... And now they see.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    It may have disappeared from that bios screen but are you still able to select RST and create a raid volume with the drives? I think either the NVME status on another menu will show the drive that disappeared from that particular screen above but should both show up when creating RST volumes.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array Zbigniew PC Specs
    Zbigniew PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Alienware 13 R2
    MotherboardAsus Rampage Omega
    ProcessorI7 7820X (only 28 lines) @4,5GHz Air
    Memory (part number)Trident Z f4-3200c14q-32gtzr
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix Advanced 1070 Ti
    Sound CardCreative Labs Sound BlasterX AE-5
    MonitorAcer Predator XB321HK
    Storage #12x Samsung 970 PCI-EX Raid0
    Storage #2Plextor PX-512MB
    CPU CoolerBe Quiet! Dark Rock TF
    CaseThermaltake SwordM (old-fashioned big tower case)
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra 850W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinium
    Mouse Corsair Dark Core
    Headset German Maestro 8.35 Mobile
    Mouse Pad FUNC XXL + Asus ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Razer Mako
    OS Windows 10 X64Pro
    Network RouterHuawei B529
    Accessory #1 Rum Captain Morgan + Coca-cola wild cherry + ice
    Accessory #2 Knuckle with cabbage
    Accessory #3 Snickers Cake
    Zbigniew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Unfortunately, fiasco.
    If I choose the RST mode:
    The disk does not appear when creating a Raid volume in the bios.
    The disk does not show up in the selection of bios boot disks.
    The disk does not show up in the Win10 installer.
    The disk disappears like a train in the subway. Forever.
    The Raid array can not be created for this reason.
    I checked it on two copies of the Asus Rampage Omega.
    NO SUCCES!
    On the motherboard Asus Rampage Apex and Asus Strix z270f gaming, both disks work in Intel RST correctly.
    You can live without a Raid matrix, the gain from acceleration is relatively small.
    If the instructions promise, why does not it work properly?
    What do you think about the use of a prosthesis on the PCIE x4 connector, as I wrote earlier? Did anyone try?
    SCENARIO:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1537.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	1.16 MB 
ID:	79354

    Nothing else comes to mind.
    Wall!
    Last edited by Zbigniew; 03-07-2019 at 12:16 AM.
    Blessed are those who have not seen ... And now they see.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Legolas PC Specs
    Legolas PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero Wifi AC
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 8600k oc 5Ghz
    Memory (part number)Samsung DDR4 16GB
    Graphics Card #1ASUS NVIDIA GTX 1080
    MonitorASUS MS246
    Storage #1Samsung MZVPV256
    Storage #2Samsung MZVPV256
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110I v2
    Power SupplyPC 1200W Turbo-Cool 1200
    Keyboard ASUS SK2045

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    242

    Kindly. why not just install both Samsung 970 on DIMM.2 and RAID it?

    Must also disable CSM and also go to BIOS -> Advanced -> CPU STorage -> DIMM.2 -> Enabled
    Sincerely,
    Legolas

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array Tonyboj PC Specs
    Tonyboj PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Thinkpad P50 Xeon
    MotherboardAsus Rog Rampage Extreme Omega
    ProcessorIntel Core X 9980XE
    Memory (part number)128GB G.Skill TridentZ 3000 MHz (F4-3000C14Q2-128GTZR)
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GeForce RTX 2080 Ti w/ waterblock
    Graphics Card #3Asus Hyper M.2 with 4 Intel Optane 900p (DATA)
    Sound CardEVGA NU AUDIO PCI-e (my favourite part)
    MonitorEizo Flexscan EV3237 4K UHD 31.5"
    Storage #1Intel 900p 280GB U.2
    CPU CoolerEKWB Custom Water Cooling
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Logitech G513; Logitech Craft
    Mouse Logitech MX Ergo; Logitech G PRO
    Mouse Pad Logitech PowerPlay
    Headset/Speakers BeyerDynamic DT 1770 Pro to EVGA NU Audio
    OS Windows 10 Pro for Workstations
    Network RouterAsus ROG Rapture
    Accessory #1 Wacom Intuos Pro
    Tonyboj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Your CPU lacks PCI-lanes to enable all features of this board.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •