Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array rjbarker PC Specs
    rjbarker PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Extreme (BIOS 0605)
    Processor9900K @ 5.1 Ghz w EK Velocity
    Memory (part number)32 GB -Dominator Platinum 3200 Mhz CAS 16
    Graphics Card #1Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Graphics Card #2Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Sound CardOnboard Realtek
    MonitorDell Alienware 34" Ultra wide 120Hz Gsync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512G M.2 NNMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 512G & 256G
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Copper w Nickel Plating
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1600i
    OS W10 HP x64
    Accessory #1 480 * 360 * 240 XSPC Radiators (15 Fans) w 4 Channel 200W Fan Controller
    Accessory #2 XSPC Photon Rez / Vario Pump combo
    Accessory #3 Fesser Flex Tubing - Bits Power Fittings & EK SLi Terminal
    rjbarker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    290

    OC Adaptive Mode vCore Doesnt Drop....

    So I'm using Adaptive Mode (1.285v LLC 6) .....ran a ton of stress tests yesterday with a final 12 Hr P95 Blend run.
    All Cores 5 Ghz / Cache Ratio 4.7 Ghz

    Under load my vCore is between 1.270v - 1.296v - setting LLC lower to say "5" will result in vDroop and 1.225v - results in a failed P95 Blend test after about an hour.

    I have IST ..Speed Shift...C States ..everything power saving enabled, yet my vCore is always at 1.314v ...even when the CPU downclocks....what am I missing here...on my old RIVE I used to use Offset Mode for Voltage and my CPU would downclock as would my vCore.

    What am I missing here guys.

  2. #2
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    118
    Posts
    1,700

    Have you checked Windows Power Plan? If you’re in Balanced, check the profile hasn’t switched the minimum to 100%, too.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array rjbarker PC Specs
    rjbarker PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Extreme (BIOS 0605)
    Processor9900K @ 5.1 Ghz w EK Velocity
    Memory (part number)32 GB -Dominator Platinum 3200 Mhz CAS 16
    Graphics Card #1Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Graphics Card #2Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Sound CardOnboard Realtek
    MonitorDell Alienware 34" Ultra wide 120Hz Gsync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512G M.2 NNMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 512G & 256G
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Copper w Nickel Plating
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1600i
    OS W10 HP x64
    Accessory #1 480 * 360 * 240 XSPC Radiators (15 Fans) w 4 Channel 200W Fan Controller
    Accessory #2 XSPC Photon Rez / Vario Pump combo
    Accessory #3 Fesser Flex Tubing - Bits Power Fittings & EK SLi Terminal
    rjbarker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    290

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ASUS View Post
    Have you checked Windows Power Plan? If you’re in Balanced, check the profile hasn’t switched the minimum to 100%, too.
    Yes I have CPU set in Windows to Balanced Mode with Minimum CPU state at 5% (default I believe).

    All the Power Saving stuff is enabled in BIOS.....I also went in and tried Offset Voltage mode vs Adaptive but vcore never downclocks....
    with Adaptive Mode 1.285v LLC 6 Im idling at 1.314v - 1.323v ....CPU vcore stays here regardless of CPU Frequency bouncing between 800 Mhz and 5 Ghz......

    Even the Frequency rarely sits at 800 Mhz for any length of time....bouncing around quite a bit.....

    Any other ideas?
    Ive also checked and nothing of great concern running in the background.

  4. #4
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    477
    Posts
    13,245

    Using 125 strap used to do that...not sure if it does on that platform.

    Any optimising software running...like ssd optimising...or...

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array rjbarker PC Specs
    rjbarker PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Extreme (BIOS 0605)
    Processor9900K @ 5.1 Ghz w EK Velocity
    Memory (part number)32 GB -Dominator Platinum 3200 Mhz CAS 16
    Graphics Card #1Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Graphics Card #2Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Sound CardOnboard Realtek
    MonitorDell Alienware 34" Ultra wide 120Hz Gsync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512G M.2 NNMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 512G & 256G
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Copper w Nickel Plating
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1600i
    OS W10 HP x64
    Accessory #1 480 * 360 * 240 XSPC Radiators (15 Fans) w 4 Channel 200W Fan Controller
    Accessory #2 XSPC Photon Rez / Vario Pump combo
    Accessory #3 Fesser Flex Tubing - Bits Power Fittings & EK SLi Terminal
    rjbarker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    290

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Using 125 strap used to do that...not sure if it does on that platform.

    Any optimising software running...like ssd optimising...or...
    I've got Samsung Magician installed but they're stand along App ......"Rapid Mode" is disabled on all SSD's in Magician....although I did try one of my 860 Pros with it enabled....but since put it back to disabled....

    ....no other SSD related software or settings Im aware of.........really no idea...was thinking of loading optimized (default) ,settings in BIOS and try it..see if it works at default...... ?


    Thanks!

  6. #6
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    118
    Posts
    1,700

    Sounds like something is loading the CPU enough to shift power states so the system isn't truly idle. I take it you've checked task manager, too?

  7. #7
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    477
    Posts
    13,245

    I've seen Samsung Magician as a culprit for this before...

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array rjbarker PC Specs
    rjbarker PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XI Extreme (BIOS 0605)
    Processor9900K @ 5.1 Ghz w EK Velocity
    Memory (part number)32 GB -Dominator Platinum 3200 Mhz CAS 16
    Graphics Card #1Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Graphics Card #2Evga 1080Ti SC Black Edition w EK FC Blocks
    Sound CardOnboard Realtek
    MonitorDell Alienware 34" Ultra wide 120Hz Gsync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512G M.2 NNMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 512G & 256G
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Copper w Nickel Plating
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1600i
    OS W10 HP x64
    Accessory #1 480 * 360 * 240 XSPC Radiators (15 Fans) w 4 Channel 200W Fan Controller
    Accessory #2 XSPC Photon Rez / Vario Pump combo
    Accessory #3 Fesser Flex Tubing - Bits Power Fittings & EK SLi Terminal
    rjbarker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    290

    What I can try is uninstalling Samsung Magician......
    ...the only other things running (always running) is MSI Afterburner...my GPU's are downclocking (both frequency and Clocks) normally...

    If I try setting the BIOS to stock....and it still conitnues not to downclock....would it be possible an issue with the Chip?

    Maybe try the latest BIOS update ? Not a fan of updating BIOS unless absolutely necessary....

    EDIT: Ok think I solved it....removing Samsung Magician made no difference to CPU idle state (sill idling at 1.31v).

    In Bios:
    - Go to CPU Power Management Control - Package C State Limit - Change from Auto to Enabled and now my vCore downclocks to something like 0.112v

    On another note:
    - If I have SVID set to "Best Case Scenario" , is it ok to have the other SVID setting at Auto vs enabled?
    - Multi Core Enhancement - best to set this to disabled? (thats how I presently have it set).

    Thanks guys
    Last edited by rjbarker; 02-19-2019 at 06:49 PM.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array Aurosonic PC Specs
    Aurosonic PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS G501VW
    MotherboardASUS ROG MAXIMUS APEX XI bios 0231
    ProcessorIntel i9-9900k delided 5200@1.35v LLC5
    Memory (part number)2x8gb G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-4600C18D-16GTZR @ 4600Mhz 17-19-19-38 CR2
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte AORUS GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti XTREME WATERFORCE WB 11G @2100/8100
    Sound CardRME Fireface UC
    Monitor2x Asus PG278Q
    Storage #1M.2 Samsung 970 Pro 512gb
    Storage #2M.2 Samsung 970 Evo 2Tb
    CPU CoolerEK-Velocity RGB - Nickel / Custom Watercooling
    CaseCaseLabs SMA8 custom
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AX1500i custom cablemod
    Keyboard Steelseries APEX RAW
    Mouse Logitech G9x Laser
    Headset Sennheiser HD250
    Mouse Pad Zowie
    Headset/Speakers Blue Sky Mediadesk 2.1
    OS Windows 10 1809
    Accessory #1 MO-RA3 Pro 4x180 Radiator, 2xD5 pumps
    Accessory #2 Hardtubing 13/10 custom waterloop
    Accessory #3 Bitspower fittings
    Aurosonic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Try to set Min. CPU Cache Ratio to auto instead of fixed.
    Last edited by Aurosonic; 02-19-2019 at 05:06 PM.
    9900k@5200@1.35v LLC5/Apex XI@0231/G-Skill F4-4600C18D-16GTZR/Aorus 2080ti xTream Wateblock@2100/8100

  10. #10
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    477
    Posts
    13,245

    I guess just try closing stuff down or uninstalling...some streaming/game capture software can do this too...

    Maybe re-flash current BIOS? before you try a new one..

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •