Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ThrashZone PC Specs
    ThrashZone PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS x99 sabertooth & x299 Rampage VI Apex
    Processori7-5930k & i9-9940x
    Memory (part number)Trident-Z 3200C14 & Trident-Z 3600C16 both Samsung B-Dies
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080ti FTW3 water block & Titan Xp copper water block
    MonitorAOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz & ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
    Storage #12-Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2 & 2.5" ssd's 850 pro's for os 850 evo for games
    Storage #22-LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
    CPU Coolerx99 2-240GTX with Heatkiller-4-Pro/ vrm water block Both&x299 2-280GTX 2-D5's before and after rads
    Case2- Corsair 450D with second floors for 240GTX & 280GTX rads enclosed and filtered on top
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000P2 & EVGA 1200P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum & Logitech G710+
    Mouse 2-Red dragon Perdition
    OS Win-7 & win-10 pro on both systems Win-7 everyday os
    Accessory #1 Heatkiller IV Pro plexi/ Copper base on both systems
    Accessory #2 Mayhems Biocide and Inhibitor with distilled water
    Accessory #3 Mayhems 3/8-5/8" clear soft tubing
    ThrashZone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    305

    Quote Originally Posted by ThrashZone View Post
    Hi,
    Just going by the timings it's likely better at dual channel than quad likely hynix memory chips but you'd have to post a direct link to the kit you have.
    Dual channel will oc easier than quad will usually.

    But yeah if you want to add more memory get a 32gb kit capable of quad channel not just stating dual channel since z170.... boards it's been hit and miss they are only dual channel period so those kits are only good for that unless otherwise stated in the spec's for quad/ x99/ x299
    But I'd go mostly for x99 compatibility since that is the platform you're on.

    Want new memory use this x99 3200C14 is the bomb pricey though
    https://benzhaomin.github.io/bdiefinder/
    Hi,
    Use the link above and use the b-die finder to get the best memory you can afford
    I used it for my 3200C14 in my x99 now it works very well.
    Best kit is 3200C14 imho.

  2. #12
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,405

    Quote Originally Posted by heart_of _the _tiger View Post
    I could get those for 300 bucks... used but with warranty. I'm seriously thinking about buying them.

    https://www.gskill.com/en/product/f4-3200c16q-32gtzr
    G.Skill tested those with Broadwell E and they are on their QVL

    I expect they would work fine..assuming you are getting them from a reputable place

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ThrashZone PC Specs
    ThrashZone PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS x99 sabertooth & x299 Rampage VI Apex
    Processori7-5930k & i9-9940x
    Memory (part number)Trident-Z 3200C14 & Trident-Z 3600C16 both Samsung B-Dies
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080ti FTW3 water block & Titan Xp copper water block
    MonitorAOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz & ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
    Storage #12-Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2 & 2.5" ssd's 850 pro's for os 850 evo for games
    Storage #22-LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
    CPU Coolerx99 2-240GTX with Heatkiller-4-Pro/ vrm water block Both&x299 2-280GTX 2-D5's before and after rads
    Case2- Corsair 450D with second floors for 240GTX & 280GTX rads enclosed and filtered on top
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000P2 & EVGA 1200P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum & Logitech G710+
    Mouse 2-Red dragon Perdition
    OS Win-7 & win-10 pro on both systems Win-7 everyday os
    Accessory #1 Heatkiller IV Pro plexi/ Copper base on both systems
    Accessory #2 Mayhems Biocide and Inhibitor with distilled water
    Accessory #3 Mayhems 3/8-5/8" clear soft tubing
    ThrashZone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    305

    Hi,
    Memory market is pretty tough
    You can probably find that set you posted for a lot less look on ebay they have the best used product return policy plus also look for non rgb stuff
    You can probably find it for 240.us 4x8gb kit

    Sell your kit to a z series board owner that what it's for.

  4. #14
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by ThrashZone View Post
    Sell your kit to a z series board owner that what it's for.
    To be fair, I've had no problems at all with the Trident Z's on x99. XMP works fine out of the box on the 6900k, on my previous chip, a 5930k, i could only get them to run at 2666 with 14/14/14/34, or 3000 at 16/18/18/38 with a 125 strap.
    Last edited by heart_of _the _tiger; 02-21-2019 at 01:45 PM.

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ThrashZone PC Specs
    ThrashZone PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS x99 sabertooth & x299 Rampage VI Apex
    Processori7-5930k & i9-9940x
    Memory (part number)Trident-Z 3200C14 & Trident-Z 3600C16 both Samsung B-Dies
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080ti FTW3 water block & Titan Xp copper water block
    MonitorAOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz & ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
    Storage #12-Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2 & 2.5" ssd's 850 pro's for os 850 evo for games
    Storage #22-LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
    CPU Coolerx99 2-240GTX with Heatkiller-4-Pro/ vrm water block Both&x299 2-280GTX 2-D5's before and after rads
    Case2- Corsair 450D with second floors for 240GTX & 280GTX rads enclosed and filtered on top
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000P2 & EVGA 1200P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum & Logitech G710+
    Mouse 2-Red dragon Perdition
    OS Win-7 & win-10 pro on both systems Win-7 everyday os
    Accessory #1 Heatkiller IV Pro plexi/ Copper base on both systems
    Accessory #2 Mayhems Biocide and Inhibitor with distilled water
    Accessory #3 Mayhems 3/8-5/8" clear soft tubing
    ThrashZone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    305

    Hi,
    I don't believe anyone runs cpu strap at 125 but asus auto oc features otherwise it's always best at 100 strap with xmp profiles

    Dual channel/ running only 2 sticks is very different than quad and four sticks on x99 and x299 for that matter the later being a lot better than x99 ever was/ is memory wise.

    I have a set 3200C16 same timings as the set you posted 16-18-18..
    Won't even post on x99 of course no x99 board to be seen on the qvl either but x299 is both are quad channel
    So indeed memory is a fickle bee
    https://www.gskill.com/en/product/f4-3200c16q-32gtzb

    Where as this set works well on x99
    https://www.gskill.com/en/product/f4-3200c14q-32gtzsw

  6. #16
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by ThrashZone View Post
    Hi,
    I don't believe anyone runs cpu strap at 125 but asus auto oc features otherwise it's always best at 100 strap with xmp profiles
    Yeah no kidding, 125 strap made my 5930k run at 4,5 Ghz and turned off turbo mode, which made the chip not clock itself down in idle. Since I enjoy running my CPUs in adaptive mode, that was a big no-no.

    Quote Originally Posted by ThrashZone View Post
    Dual channel/ running only 2 sticks is very different than quad and four sticks on x99 and x299 for that matter the later being a lot better than x99 ever was/ is memory wise.

    I have a set 3200C16 same timings as the set you posted 16-18-18..
    Won't even post on x99 of course no x99 board to be seen on the qvl either but x299 is both are quad channel
    So indeed memory is a fickle bee
    https://www.gskill.com/en/product/f4-3200c16q-32gtzb

    Where as this set works well on x99
    https://www.gskill.com/en/product/f4-3200c14q-32gtzsw
    Maybe. I like x99 a lot more than x299 though. For the things I do, it is sufficient, additionally I also enjoy gaming, and x99 seems to be better at that. At least that's what most of the reviews said. Something about the ring bus being better for that.
    Last edited by heart_of _the _tiger; 02-21-2019 at 02:36 PM.

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ThrashZone PC Specs
    ThrashZone PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS x99 sabertooth & x299 Rampage VI Apex
    Processori7-5930k & i9-9940x
    Memory (part number)Trident-Z 3200C14 & Trident-Z 3600C16 both Samsung B-Dies
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080ti FTW3 water block & Titan Xp copper water block
    MonitorAOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz & ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
    Storage #12-Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2 & 2.5" ssd's 850 pro's for os 850 evo for games
    Storage #22-LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
    CPU Coolerx99 2-240GTX with Heatkiller-4-Pro/ vrm water block Both&x299 2-280GTX 2-D5's before and after rads
    Case2- Corsair 450D with second floors for 240GTX & 280GTX rads enclosed and filtered on top
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000P2 & EVGA 1200P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum & Logitech G710+
    Mouse 2-Red dragon Perdition
    OS Win-7 & win-10 pro on both systems Win-7 everyday os
    Accessory #1 Heatkiller IV Pro plexi/ Copper base on both systems
    Accessory #2 Mayhems Biocide and Inhibitor with distilled water
    Accessory #3 Mayhems 3/8-5/8" clear soft tubing
    ThrashZone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    305

    Hi,
    Yes ring/ cache is very different
    max cache 38 on x99 with offset mode 0.175 is easy works fine pretty much why 8700-9...k's are best for gaming
    High clocks for one high cache as well.

    Max cache 30 on x299 with manual mode of 1.2v is fairly common or adaptive with offset +0.200 still is max for the platform otherwise nothing but issues
    Everyone maxes x299 cache at 30 sort of lame mesh ended up being.
    Max cache/ mesh default is 27 lol

  8. #18
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    For gaming it also kinda comes down to one question: How many frames do you really need?

    Once you have a CPU that has 6+ cores and hyperthreading, you really only need about 4ghz and semidecent IPCs to have no problems at all with 99% of all games. Corecount has become more important than super high speed in that regard, that's my opinion at least.
    This of course isn't true if you play competetively and need over 9000 frames. Then you need an 8700k, a 9700k or a 9900k.

    I fully expect a 6900k, or a 2700X (they really are close) to be good for at least two more years, maybe three.
    Last edited by heart_of _the _tiger; 02-21-2019 at 03:27 PM.

  9. #19
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ThrashZone PC Specs
    ThrashZone PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS x99 sabertooth & x299 Rampage VI Apex
    Processori7-5930k & i9-9940x
    Memory (part number)Trident-Z 3200C14 & Trident-Z 3600C16 both Samsung B-Dies
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080ti FTW3 water block & Titan Xp copper water block
    MonitorAOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz & ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
    Storage #12-Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2 & 2.5" ssd's 850 pro's for os 850 evo for games
    Storage #22-LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
    CPU Coolerx99 2-240GTX with Heatkiller-4-Pro/ vrm water block Both&x299 2-280GTX 2-D5's before and after rads
    Case2- Corsair 450D with second floors for 240GTX & 280GTX rads enclosed and filtered on top
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000P2 & EVGA 1200P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum & Logitech G710+
    Mouse 2-Red dragon Perdition
    OS Win-7 & win-10 pro on both systems Win-7 everyday os
    Accessory #1 Heatkiller IV Pro plexi/ Copper base on both systems
    Accessory #2 Mayhems Biocide and Inhibitor with distilled water
    Accessory #3 Mayhems 3/8-5/8" clear soft tubing
    ThrashZone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    305

    Hi,
    Some people find disabling hyper threading helps get rid of stuttering
    Since all the meltdown and spectre mess probably security related clash with HT :/

    Most games don't use a lot of cores anyway
    Why use one core and thread when you have unused real cores sitting waiting to be used which aren't under security attack

    I really haven't disabled HT only for a benchmark which was ugly low so that was a short test with HT off

  10. #20
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    You know, there's this tiny program, called InSpectre. It really is a godsend.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •