Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 38
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Asryan PC Specs
    Asryan PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Hero X
    Processor8086k / 5GHz / delidded
    Memory (part number)32GB G.SKILL Trident Z RGB / 3466Mhz
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1080 TI EVGA FTW3
    MonitorASUS PG34Q - 34" GSYNC
    Storage #1SSD: Samsung EVO 850 - 250Go + Samsung EVO 850 - 500Go
    Storage #2HDD: WD Green 2To 64Mo 3.5"
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i + ML 120 Pro
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe tempered glass
    Power SupplyCorsair RMI 850 GOLD
    Keyboard Corsair k70 rapidfire
    Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
    Headset Logitech G933
    Headset/Speakers G560 Logitech
    OS Win 10 60 bits

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    131

    OC of 8086 k delidded, need advices

    Hi

    I just installed a delidded 8086k on a maximus Hero X and i was wondering how are my temps.

    It's running 5ghz all core, avx offset 2, LLC6, 1.285vcore.

    Just played Far Cry New Dawn and Assassin's creed odyssey for a while and got those temps and i was wondering if they are any good.

    I've not done any prime or whatever and I'm just using it a regular way to see if all is stable.

    It's running under a H150i Aio with 3 noctua fans.

    Also, on HWinfo, i saw that max temps was around 70c while gaming but average one was 64c

    I tried a stress test real bench but crashed, BSOD

    " Page fault in nonpaged area"

    Does it mean I should rise the vcore a bit?

    For the memory in RB, i should put the amount I have?


    For the results :

    I was wondering if those temps are not a bit on the high side or is it normal?

    Though, ith HW info, after playing some Far Cry New dawn, i saw that average temp was lower than that was always watching the max temps with HW monitor but a peak at higher temps for one sec is not the best way to tell anything i suppose. On titanfall2 or darksiders 3, max temps was around 65 but average below 50, it was just a quick peak.

    The idle temps is between 36 and 40

    Also I have some questions about some settings : https://www.noelshack.com/2019-08-3-...-20-082126.jpg

    (this screen isnt from my bios but i want to know if I should use those settings)

    About Cpu current capability, vrm switching frequency and power duty control. Is it highly recommanded to set it up like this? For Cpu current capability, is there any risks or can it be a cause of overheating?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Asryan PC Specs
    Asryan PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Hero X
    Processor8086k / 5GHz / delidded
    Memory (part number)32GB G.SKILL Trident Z RGB / 3466Mhz
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1080 TI EVGA FTW3
    MonitorASUS PG34Q - 34" GSYNC
    Storage #1SSD: Samsung EVO 850 - 250Go + Samsung EVO 850 - 500Go
    Storage #2HDD: WD Green 2To 64Mo 3.5"
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i + ML 120 Pro
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe tempered glass
    Power SupplyCorsair RMI 850 GOLD
    Keyboard Corsair k70 rapidfire
    Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
    Headset Logitech G933
    Headset/Speakers G560 Logitech
    OS Win 10 60 bits

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    131

    Hi

    I Tried Real Bench at 1.28 but did not passed after few minutes : kmode_exception_not_handled

    Tried prime after at 1.3 : system service exception

    I havent put XMP before I was in all manual don't know what is better?

    Also i left the setting such as Cpu power duty control at auto, likle Cpu current capability (I saw on the pic i'm sharing that those settings were recommanded but since I've never seen it throttiling, i did not changed it)

    Though, everything works fine during gaming and working at 1.285 so is it really bad to keep it that way even if stress test are not passing?

    Which settings could help to achieve stability without raising vcore too much? Maybe go for LLC 6 instead of 5 ?Here are my settings, should i change anything?

    I was also wondering if I should set it all on manual or use XMP? seems XMP makes run the CPU a bit hotter.

    Also, what about vccio and vccsa

    Those are my settings

    Sync All core : 50
    XMP enabled
    Avx offset : 0
    Vcore : 1.285
    Min cpu cache ratio : auto
    max cpu cache ratio : 44
    Vccio : auto
    System agent voltage : auto
    Cpu cache current limit : 255.75
    long duration package power unit : 4095
    short duration package power unit : 4095
    C-states : enabled (all c states)
    PU Current Capacility -> Auto
    CPU VRM Switching Frequency -> Auto
    CPU Power Duty Control -> Standard
    CPU Power Phase Control -> Standard
    DRAM Current Capability -> Auto
    Long Duration Package Power Limit -> 4095
    Short Duration Package Power Limit -> 4095
    Intel Speed Shift Technology -> Enabled
    Last edited by Asryan; 02-23-2019 at 07:06 PM.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Asryan PC Specs
    Asryan PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Hero X
    Processor8086k / 5GHz / delidded
    Memory (part number)32GB G.SKILL Trident Z RGB / 3466Mhz
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1080 TI EVGA FTW3
    MonitorASUS PG34Q - 34" GSYNC
    Storage #1SSD: Samsung EVO 850 - 250Go + Samsung EVO 850 - 500Go
    Storage #2HDD: WD Green 2To 64Mo 3.5"
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i + ML 120 Pro
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe tempered glass
    Power SupplyCorsair RMI 850 GOLD
    Keyboard Corsair k70 rapidfire
    Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
    Headset Logitech G933
    Headset/Speakers G560 Logitech
    OS Win 10 60 bits

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    131

    I finally went for 48 all cores @ 1.24.

    Seem that achieving 5ghz stable requieres a lot more voltage than 4.8.

    Prime, Occt and realbench passes with 67c max on prime.

    Still i would need some advices if I wanted to achieve a proper 5Ghz..

    Thanks

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Asryan PC Specs
    Asryan PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Hero X
    Processor8086k / 5GHz / delidded
    Memory (part number)32GB G.SKILL Trident Z RGB / 3466Mhz
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1080 TI EVGA FTW3
    MonitorASUS PG34Q - 34" GSYNC
    Storage #1SSD: Samsung EVO 850 - 250Go + Samsung EVO 850 - 500Go
    Storage #2HDD: WD Green 2To 64Mo 3.5"
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i + ML 120 Pro
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe tempered glass
    Power SupplyCorsair RMI 850 GOLD
    Keyboard Corsair k70 rapidfire
    Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
    Headset Logitech G933
    Headset/Speakers G560 Logitech
    OS Win 10 60 bits

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    131

    Nobody?

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array bass junkie xl PC Specs
    bass junkie xl PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog X Hero Z-370 ( Wifi ) bios -2103
    Processori9-9900 Ks @ 5.0 @ 1.23v @ manual vcore , De Lid + rockit cool copper ihs
    Memory (part number)32 GB Team Group X @ 4133 mhz cl-17-17-17-37 @1.4v / vccio = 1.24v/ vcssa = 1.24 v
    Graphics Card #1Msi Gtx 1080 TI FE @ 1911 mhz @ 1.0v Curve
    Sound CardMotherboard Realtec , Driver 87.46
    MonitorAsus PG279Q , 27 inch 165 HZ , 1440p G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 evo 1 TB m.2 nvme ssd
    Storage #2Samsung 970 evo 1 TB m.2 nvme ssd
    CPU CoolerGamermaxx L360 v2
    CaseThermaltake View 71 full Glass
    Power SupplyThermaltake Grand 750w RGB Platnuim
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platnuim RGB
    Mouse Corsair Night Sword RGB
    Headset Razer Kraken 7.1 chroma
    Mouse Pad Asus Sheeth Large
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500 THX 5.1
    OS Windows 10-1809 x64 Pro
    bass junkie xl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    268

    turn xmp to off , leave ram @ 2133 defult and work on the cpu for now . raise volts till its stable find your required volts per cpu speed .
    once u find the cpus required voltage needed , and all tests pass go back and turn on xmp and re test with xmp on . is its unstable then you know its the ram doing it as you passed before with xmp off make sense ?
    maybe run some hci mem test to 1000 % coverage and mem test 86 over night with xmp on and see if thats the issue

    my 8700k @ 5 ghz needs 1.28v to pass 12 hrs of prime 95 26.6 and 12 hrs of real bench
    5.1 ghz needs 1.355 v to pass , 5.2 ghz needs around 1.42 v or so .

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Asryan PC Specs
    Asryan PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Hero X
    Processor8086k / 5GHz / delidded
    Memory (part number)32GB G.SKILL Trident Z RGB / 3466Mhz
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1080 TI EVGA FTW3
    MonitorASUS PG34Q - 34" GSYNC
    Storage #1SSD: Samsung EVO 850 - 250Go + Samsung EVO 850 - 500Go
    Storage #2HDD: WD Green 2To 64Mo 3.5"
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i + ML 120 Pro
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe tempered glass
    Power SupplyCorsair RMI 850 GOLD
    Keyboard Corsair k70 rapidfire
    Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
    Headset Logitech G933
    Headset/Speakers G560 Logitech
    OS Win 10 60 bits

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    131

    I don't have XPM i set it up on manual but it can be the ram that induce instability?

    When i did occt, it works for few minutes then error but cpu package rised at 70c for a moment so i'm afraid that making it stable will need lot more vcore and thus heat

    Well right now i'm at

    per core 50/48/48
    all manual
    Avx offset : 0
    Vcore : 1.24
    Min cpu cache ratio : auto
    max cpu cache ratio : auto
    Vccio : 1.12
    System agent voltage : 1.15
    Cpu cache current limit : 255.75
    long duration package power unit : 4095
    short duration package power unit : 4095
    C-states : enabled (all c states)
    PU Current Capacility -> Auto
    CPU VRM Switching Frequency -> Auto
    CPU Power Duty Control -> Standard
    CPU Power Phase Control -> Standard
    DRAM Current Capability -> Auto
    Long Duration Package Power Limit -> 4095
    Short Duration Package Power Limit -> 4095
    Intel Speed Shift Technology -> Enabled

    All is stable now, temps are around 63c on stress and 56 max in game.

    I was wondering if it worths it to go to 50 if I need much more voltage, hence more heat?

    i was thinking to try with phase on extreme + llc 6 maybe but i'm concerned about the heat.

    What is a "normal" temperature on stress test for a delidded CPU?
    Last edited by Asryan; 03-02-2019 at 10:51 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array FunknNasty PC Specs
    FunknNasty PC Specs
    MotherboardROG APEX Z370
    Processor8600K
    Memory (part number)GSKILL ripjaz 2x8 3200c14
    Graphics Card #11080ti
    MonitorROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1850 EVO's
    CPU CoolerCorsai H110 V2
    CaseCorsair 300r
    Power SupplyCorsair RM 750x

    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    Quote Originally Posted by Asryan View Post
    I don't have XPM i set it up on manual but it can be the ram that induce instability?

    i was thinking to try with phase on extreme + llc 6 maybe but i'm concerned about the heat.

    What is a "normal" temperature on stress test for a delidded CPU?
    Don't know what the normal temp is for a delidded 8086 but, here's mine with an h100 v2 with two Noctua's:
    LLC 6.

    https://imgur.com/WTTMlTh.png

    after 1 hr:
    https://imgur.com/oXv1O80.png
    Last edited by FunknNasty; 03-02-2019 at 08:57 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array hill160881 PC Specs
    hill160881 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus xi formula
    ProcessorI5-9600k
    Memory (part number)corsair 4x8 2666mhz
    Graphics Card #1gtx 1070
    Graphics Card #2haha no
    Graphics Card #3still no
    Graphics Card #4and still no
    MonitorSamsung 49'(32x9) super ultra wide 1080 at 144hz
    Storage #1samsung 960 evo nvme 250gb
    Storage #2OWC 1 tb pcie ssd
    CPU Coolercustom loop
    Casegarbage pos cougar panzer evo
    Power Supplyevga 850 G2 80+ gold
    Keyboard cheap rgb trash
    Mouse same as the mouse
    OS windows 10 home
    Network Routersome asus thing that was fast a few years ago
    hill160881's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    This will allow you to make it to 5.0 really easy.

    https://youtu.be/95Ujni7-fVM

    Then this explains the bios in more depth.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jOXH2YIMi2Y&t=13s

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Asryan PC Specs
    Asryan PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Hero X
    Processor8086k / 5GHz / delidded
    Memory (part number)32GB G.SKILL Trident Z RGB / 3466Mhz
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1080 TI EVGA FTW3
    MonitorASUS PG34Q - 34" GSYNC
    Storage #1SSD: Samsung EVO 850 - 250Go + Samsung EVO 850 - 500Go
    Storage #2HDD: WD Green 2To 64Mo 3.5"
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i + ML 120 Pro
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe tempered glass
    Power SupplyCorsair RMI 850 GOLD
    Keyboard Corsair k70 rapidfire
    Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
    Headset Logitech G933
    Headset/Speakers G560 Logitech
    OS Win 10 60 bits

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    131

    those videos are for 9th gen, same thing I guess? I'm don't have same version of bios in the first video he shows lots of options i've never saw in my bios (for maximus hero X I don't have the last one but the one just before 1704
    Last edited by Asryan; 03-03-2019 at 12:35 PM.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array strat38 PC Specs
    strat38 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell G3 3779-7934BLK 17in
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus X Hero (WiFi AC)
    ProcessorIntel I7-8086K
    Memory (part number)2x16GB CMR32GX4M2C3000C15
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 iCX
    Sound Cardonboard
    MonitorAOC 352UCG 35in Curved 3440x1440
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 970 Pro 1TB NVMe
    Storage #2Micron 1100 2TB SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i Pro
    CaseCorsair 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair TX850M
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB MK.2 Cherry MX Red
    Mouse Logitech M705 Wireless
    Headset n/a
    Mouse Pad Amazon Basics
    Headset/Speakers Sony MDRV6 / Edifier R1208T 42W RMS
    OS Win10Pro x64 / Linux Mint v19 Cinammon
    strat38's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Overclock settings for i7-8086K on Asus ROG Maximus X Hero (WiFi AC) [BIOS v1801]

    I had issues posting a reply on this thread so posted on a new thread with details on OC'ing your setup.

    Hope it's helpful.

    : https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...AC)-BIOS-v1801

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •