Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Question Zenith Extreme Alpha Hard Shutdown

    I am having issues with my new zenith extreme alpha where the computer will hard shutdown unexpectedly. After shutting down the motherboard will continue to glow but pressing the start button on the motherboard or the front of the case has no effect. To get the computer to restart you have to either pull the atx power connector or toggle the power supply. This has happened a hand full of times now and has only happened when the computer was at idle. Temps are sitting around 32 C so it does not appear to be an overheating issue. Power supply also appears to be outputting correct voltages with the 12v rail sitting at 12.088 volts on average according to HWINFO64. Also should mention this power supply was in previous build without issues and is 1200w which is plenty for my build, kinda of a little overkill . Nothing in the system is overclocked due to the instability, as such everything is at stock values. Computer will sometimes run for 24 hours without issues, and other times will hard shutdown back to back. I would greatly appreciate any advice anyone has because at this point I'm kinda of stuck.

    Build Info:
    Zenith Extreme Alpha
    ThreadRipper 2920x
    Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 32GB DDR4
    GIGABYTE AORUS GeForce RTX 2080
    Corsair HXi 1200w
    970 Evo 1TB
    WB Blue 1TB
    Last edited by areese159; 02-21-2019 at 04:32 AM.

  2. #2
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,798

    I would consider removing the system from the chassis and testing. Make sure AUX and 24 pin power connectors are fully in place at both ends.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    25

    I have been stress testing my ZEA build since last night (about 16 hours now) and I did not run into the issue you describe. You may have a grounding fault as noted above. So far this board appears to work much better than the ZE I had in my system until yesterday. I hope that with UEFI improvements it continues to mature well.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Thank you for the quick responses, ill try and disassemble the pc tonight and get it running outside of the case. I'll post back after I have it running outside the case for a couple hours.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Cory29 PC Specs
    Cory29 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Zenith extreme x399
    Processor1950x
    Memory (part number)G Skill F4-3200C16-8GTZ - 64gb
    Graphics Card #1GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 980 Ti WF
    Monitorcintiq 22hd touch
    Storage #1Sam SSD 850 EVO 1TB
    CPU Coolerxspc block - D5 - 3x120 slim rad
    CaseView 71 (doesn't fit board)
    Power SupplyEVGA supernova 1000G3
    Keyboard K95

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    131

    "only happened when the computer was at idle"

    are you sure your computer isnt going into sleep mode and getting stuck - the zenith had this issue since day one only the last 3 bios has it seemed to be fixed

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    When it first started happening I thought the exact same thing with it being a sleep issue but then I ran into numerous occasions where I would stop using my computer for couple of minutes and it would hard shutdown in front of me.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    102
    Posts
    982

    The other thing that comes to my mind is do you have any RGB/Fan control SW, System monitoring tools, etc running in the background.

    The ZEA uses the same Super IO chip as other ASUS AM4/sTR4 mobos, this IC has an issue where when multiple apps access it and or use incorrect method of accessing it there can be erratic board/fan headers issues. This issue was fixed on ZE/C6H/C7H with an implementation in UEFI and SW. You can check if UEFI has implementation by seeing if in HWINFO sensors page you see heading with ASUS WMI.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    25

    Quote Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
    The other thing that comes to my mind is do you have any RGB/Fan control SW, System monitoring tools, etc running in the background.

    The ZEA uses the same Super IO chip as other ASUS AM4/sTR4 mobos, this IC has an issue where when multiple apps access it and or use incorrect method of accessing it there can be erratic board/fan headers issues. This issue was fixed on ZE/C6H/C7H with an implementation in UEFI and SW. You can check if UEFI has implementation by seeing if in HWINFO sensors page you see heading with ASUS WMI.
    It's using ASUS WMI. I checked on my ZEA board.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Cory29 PC Specs
    Cory29 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Zenith extreme x399
    Processor1950x
    Memory (part number)G Skill F4-3200C16-8GTZ - 64gb
    Graphics Card #1GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 980 Ti WF
    Monitorcintiq 22hd touch
    Storage #1Sam SSD 850 EVO 1TB
    CPU Coolerxspc block - D5 - 3x120 slim rad
    CaseView 71 (doesn't fit board)
    Power SupplyEVGA supernova 1000G3
    Keyboard K95

    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    131

    it could also be bad timming on the ram if your using pre-set profiles -- on almost all ram if I set the xmp/docp then drop the speed to 2933 ** I hit the first stable speed then I try to tweek up from there - this also depends on how many channels you use, the more you use the slower your ram usually has to be

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Wanted to post an update, got the build out of the case and realized I didn't have enough spare soft tubing to re-plumb the loop so it had to go back in the case while I ordered some more off of amazon. Taking the system out, putting it back in and verifying all the connections were correct has not fixed the issue. I have also experienced the hard shutdowns outside of the PC being idle now. This happened to me yesterday and now today, once while gaming and the other time while coding. Both times I noticed that fan expert stopped responding and fans were stuck at their base speeds and with a couple of minutes the PC hard shutdown. This was not due to temps as I was looking at the temperature on LiveDash and they were at 42 C. Does this still sound in line with a grounding issue, or fan expert just some outlier?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •