Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Angry "Overclocking failed!" I didn't OC anything tho

    Hi. I'm dealing with this problem since July 2016, but I guess I'll finally bother and try to fix this already.

    Current specs:

    OS: Windows 10 Home 64bit
    MOBO: Asus Z170 PRO GAMING
    CPU: Intel Core i5-6600K
    GPU: Asus GeForce GTX 1070 ROG Strix
    RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX (2x8GB, 3000MHz, CL15)
    PSU: Corsair RM650X (650W, Modular, 80+ Gold)
    + SSD and 2 HDDs

    As of right now whenever I try to boot up my PC for the first time that day nothing happens (fans are working and the lights light up inside, but nothing shows up on screen and the lights in for example mice don't light up). Then after rebooting this shows up:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	LzJuyhy.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	414.4 KB 
ID:	79079
    So I enter the BIOS, click the Advanced Mode, and let these things load:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	xdnnjss.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	240.0 KB 
ID:	79080
    (If I don't do that, and instead just exit BIOS and boot up the system, then Windows thinks something aint right and tries to repair itself)

    Well, it wasn't always like this. When I first have build my PC, the system was booting up just fine the first time, BUT it would always get a bluescreen after like 10-30 mins with those error codes:
    Code:
    IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL
    SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION
    SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION win32k.sys
    INTERRUPT_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED
    KERNEL_MODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED ndis.sys
    KERNEL_MODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED ntfs.sys
    (After restarting everything was working just fine once again, no more BS and random crashes on games and programs like Chrome)

    This (the boot up on the first try, and bluescreens afterwards) stopped once I have upgraded to my current build, before the upgrade the specs were:

    OS: Windows 10 Home 64-bit
    MOBO: Asus Z170 PRO GAMING
    CPU: Intel Core i5-6600K
    GPU: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 660
    RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX (2x4GB, 3000MHz, CL15)
    PSU: Cooler Master G550M (550W, Modular, 80+ Bronze)
    + SSD and 1 HDD

    So, I have changd my PSU, GPU, one extra HDD and 8 more gigs of RAM.

    I would also like to note:
    1. Extremely rare, but my BIOS froze a few times after entering it. That didn't happen in like a year now though.
    2. My MOBO was damaged at the beginning, and just didn't work for some reason. I got it back repaired (not replaced) thanks to RMA.
    3. I didn't touch anything in BIOS expect the boot order, so no overclocking done by me.

    I've done some research, and from what I have read the most likely cause of this problem is RAM. [Here are my BIOS settings along with CPU-Z screens]

    As I have said, before changing the sticks from 2x4GB to 2x8GB (CMK8GX4M2B3000C15 to CMK16GX4M2B3000C15) my PC would boot up to Windows on the first try, but end up with a bluescreen not so long after. Then after upgrading I'm stuck with what I have described at the beginning of this post. Before the upgrade and after it my RAM speeds are always 2133MHz instead of 3000MHz, and my CPU seems to be somewhat overclocked a little anyway (based on the clock speeds showing up in Windows).

    Sooo, how can I deal with this? Along with fixing this I would also like to finally (and hopefully) overclock my CPU to 4,5GHz and fix the RAM to run on 3000MHz instead of 2133MHz. Hope you guys can help, cheers

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,686

    Have you tried setting XMP profile for your RAM?

    Extreme tweaker tab....AI overclock tuner....set XMP profile

    Also, I would consider a fresh OS install if it has had a lot of BSODs over a long period of time.

    Run "sfc /scannow" in administrator CMD prompt window to check system files
    Last edited by Arne Saknussemm; 02-24-2019 at 07:05 AM.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Have you tried setting XMP profile for your RAM?

    Extreme tweaker tab....AI overclock tuner....set XMP profile

    Also, I would consider a fresh OS install if it has had a lot of BSODs over a long period of time.

    Run "sfc /scannow" in administrator CMD prompt window to check system files
    This is how it looks like in bios

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	qXZOT1P.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	329.0 KB 
ID:	79094
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	96gDVvf.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	344.1 KB 
ID:	79095
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	v0o3lMf.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	557.4 KB 
ID:	79096

    So, I guess the Profile is already set by default?

    And my OS seems to be fine, the bsods as I said have stopped after that upgrade

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Since I haven't really touched anything in bios expect the boot order, maybe those settings are leftovers after the repair dudes testing if my mobo is working correctly?

    [Here's an album of all my RAM related settings in bios]

    Maybe I should update the BIOS to the latest version?
    Or change the voltages?
    Or change the values somewhere so it will actually run on 3000MHz and match the XMP profile?

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    Your DRAM voltage looks low at 1.20v. Isn't that a 1.35v set?
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,686

    If I were you, I'd go into BIOS and load F5 defaults....F10 save and exit

    Set XMP ...F10 save and exit

    Reboot...go into BIOS and see what frequency is set and what voltage...and go from there. If XMP doesn't appear to work then maybe BIOS Flashback to latest BIOS and try again.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Alright. I will update you guys on saturday once I'll have time to deal with this

    Quote Originally Posted by NemesisChild View Post
    Your DRAM voltage looks low at 1.20v. Isn't that a 1.35v set?
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	EOt9hCA.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	205.4 KB 
ID:	79115

    It's set up correctly it seems, dunno why the voltages are lower

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    Quote Originally Posted by Mefu720 View Post
    Alright. I will update you guys on saturday once I'll have time to deal with this


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	EOt9hCA.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	205.4 KB 
ID:	79115

    It's set up correctly it seems, dunno why the voltages are lower
    Have you looked at any software like HWMonitor to see what is reports for DRAM voltage?

    We have seen this happen on a few boards where no matter what DRAM voltage is set in the bios, the actual never changes and is usually fixed at a voltage lower than what is needed to provide system stability. The way it was resolved was to RMA the board for a replacement. Unfortunately in your case you are probably beyond the RMA period.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	f1a568221a.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	38.4 KB 
ID:	79144

    Yeah it's too late for me to file a RMA claim

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    So, yeah. Fixed.

    I can't believe I was this lazy and didn't bother to fix something so simple. All I did is F5 F10 and set up XMP again, and bam it works on the correct speeds now (Everything shows up correctly in BIOS, CPU-Z and Windows as well)

    I guess the reason this whole thing happened is either XMP or the people who repaired my MOBO left the DRAM Frequency on 3021MHz, hence the "overclocking failed!".

    Now I would like to OC my CPU to like 4.5GHz, how do I get started? Just change the "1-Core Ratio Limit" to 45 and "Sync All Cores"? Or should I play with other settings as well?
    Last edited by Mefu720; 02-27-2019 at 04:55 PM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •