Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Rampage VI Extreme Omega Adaptive /Offset Voltage issue

    First let me say that the VRM stays cool even using a 18 core chip haha that's really great the fan doesn't even spin up while compiling. But there are some issues.


    Setup
    7980XE OC'ed to various speeds will explain below
    128GB trident z rgb DDR4 3200C14
    Rampage VI Extreme OMEGA
    Corsair AX1600i
    RTX 2080TI

    So here's my issue anything above 4.3ghz on adaptive and or offset for the voltage will cause issues running AIda64 Benchmarks and or programs will begin to act funny.Aida 64 just freezes up the PC and I have to restart... However if I Use the same voltage via manual NO ISSUES at all! Even if I Give extra voltage for the given clock speed Aida 64 will insta crash at anything above 4.3ghz. while using adaptive or offset voltage.

    I can run 4.6ghz all 18 cores so far tested @ 1.185on manual volts no issues, however the second I put 44ghz even @ 1.25 adaptive volts insta crash in Aida 64 benchmark for CPU/Cache/Memory. Works fine on manual voltage.. And the thing is It's not only Aida64 other programs begin to act funny such as Aqua suite not following fan profiles/etc all this happens if I set the CPU's voltage to Adaptive or Offset for Overclocking.

    So anyone know whats going on? this is driving me mad right now I've got it on manual and I don't have issues but offset/adaptive is totally broken. The rampage VI Extreme I have never had these issues with adaptive/offset.

    And the worst part is VRM WHINES!!! come on I don't want to hear it when it's under load making screeching sounds. So I'm debating if I should I just exchange the board for another or will the whine always be there..?
    Last edited by nyxagamemnon; 02-25-2019 at 01:09 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array LiveOrDie PC Specs
    LiveOrDie PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RAMPAGE VI EXTREME OMEGA
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 7980XE Custom IHS @ 4.6Ghz 1.23v
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB F4-3000C14D 64GB
    Graphics Card #1AORUS GeForce RTX™ 2080 Ti XTREME WATERFORCE WB 11G
    MonitorLG 4k 43inch
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVME 512gb
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 1TB x 2
    CPU CoolerEK-Velocity , EK-CoolStream PE 360, XSPC TX240 Ultrathin, EK X-RES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 500D SE ATX-E Modded
    Power SupplyCooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Razer Tiamat 2.2 v2
    OS Windows 10 x64
    Network RouterNetGear
    LiveOrDie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    1,678

    When using adaptive or offset voltages you have account for vdrop setting LLC to a high level will reduce the amount of voltage drop, be sure to check you core voltages in a program in windows to see what there actually are because they will fluctuate up and down.

    If the board has VRM while i would return it are you sure its the board and not the 2080TI?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by LiveOrDie View Post
    When using adaptive or offset voltages you have account for vdrop setting LLC to a high level will reduce the amount of voltage drop, be sure to check you core voltages in a program in windows to see what there actually are because they will fluctuate up and down.

    If the board has VRM while i would return it are you sure its the board and not the 2080TI?
    I've already set high Level of LLC doesn't do anything when it's on adaptive or offset = fail. IT's not the gpu the gpu isn't under any load when compiling. and I can clearly hear the sound from the VRM it's like a screech/squealing sound . It's coming from the motherboards vrm 1000%. Funny thing is just running the Aida 64 Cache/Memory benchmark will cause the VRM to whine when it runs each test.
    Last edited by nyxagamemnon; 02-25-2019 at 02:13 PM.

  4. #4
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,801

    First port of call would be to test with something more stressful than AIDA when using Manual Mode. Use Intel XTU for non AVX workloads and Realbench for AVX workloads.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Reputation
    74
    Posts
    659

    just wanted to make sure the criteria for adaptive voltage to take effect is fulfilled.

    per intel design adaptive voltage only takes effect at ratios > max single core boost ratio which is 44x in 7980x's case (so if you set 1.5v at 44x for eg, it gets ignored till you go up to 45x)

    any volt set below the cpu's default vid gets ignored (eg setting 45x ratio with 1.1v when cpu's vid is 1.25v at 44x will get ignored)

    so in view of the above:

    check vid reading of cpuz when 44x ratio is running with auto adaptive voltage. eg it is 1.28v
    next set 45x with a slightly higher voltage than this, eg 1.30v
    does this take effect?

    if it does then it would only infer 2 things,
    you need to run a voltage below default vid to be stable at certain ratios but you cannot because adaptive ignores settings below default.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •