Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    3

    Unhappy Bluetooth headset issue

    I'm usually quite good at identifying issues but this one has me stumped.

    For some reason, my bluetooth headset stopped working properly on my desktop rig. The audio doesn't come as it should, but it works when i switch to "handsfree mode" I did not make any update or changes that i can remember of. This issue affects all of my bluetooth headsets on my desktop. On my laptop, the headsets work fine.

    I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling the audio and bluetooth drivers.. To no avail

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(3) SSD's - Samsung 960 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    999

    You may need to either disable handsfree in the audio playback devices and/or set the headset as default playback device, and you may need to disable the headset recording device, or not make it the default.
    Davemon50

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by davemon50 View Post
    You may need to either disable handsfree in the audio playback devices and/or set the headset as default playback device, and you may need to disable the headset recording device, or not make it the default.

    Well that fixed it thanks! But why was that causing an issue in the first place?

  4. #4
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600
    Memory (part number)16GB DDR4
    Graphics Card #1GTX980
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    294
    Posts
    7,353

    Just a guess, but I've noticed when I update drivers and/or connect new audio devices Windows will change default audio outputs. Sometimes updating Nvidia drivers does it since audio over HDMI is a thing even though I don't use it.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(3) SSD's - Samsung 960 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    999

    Quote Originally Posted by artexjay View Post
    Well that fixed it thanks! But why was that causing an issue in the first place?

    I can't really tell you why, but I've experienced it with my headset on my work computer. It's a PITA but it worked for me before so I thought I'd suggest it. I'm glad it worked for you.
    Davemon50

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    Just a guess, but I've noticed when I update drivers and/or connect new audio devices Windows will change default audio outputs. Sometimes updating Nvidia drivers does it since audio over HDMI is a thing even though I don't use it.

    I decided to completely uninstall the audio drivers and reinstall them with the disc drivers, no updating. And low and behold it works as it should now! I think it may have been installed badly or something.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •