Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4
Results 31 to 40 of 40
  1. #31
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,806

    Quote Originally Posted by Flokke View Post
    So, this seemed to switch from the topic of trying to get Adaptive voltage to work properly more so to purposes of getting a stable overclock at 5ghz. I'm also having the same issues with getting my CPU to downvolt when at idle running like an 800mhz clock speed. I have it steady at 4.9ghz all core at 1.279v but no matter what I change with adaptive voltage I can't get it to reduce bellow that 1.279v it just sits there. Granted this I suppose is first world problems at this point.
    .

    Please see Shamino's post on the previous page. It is not possible to set an Adaptive Voltage below the minimum VID. Please note that if you use Adaptive in conjunction with an offset (-) that this offset is applied to the entire VID stack.

  2. #32
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ASUS View Post
    Please see Shamino's post on the previous page. It is not possible to set an Adaptive Voltage below the minimum VID. Please note that if you use Adaptive in conjunction with an offset (-) that this offset is applied to the entire VID stack.
    Yeah I saw that I didn't realize what it meant as I really don't dabble to often into heavy overclocking but I do remember that I had this set before and it was down volting at idle on a different bios so i just assumed it was still a thing. I switched back to 506 and it's behaving as it did before so I'll just stick with the older bios for the reduced temps at idle.

    https://i.imgur.com/uo7ScXS.png

  3. #33
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zammin PC Specs
    Zammin PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel 9900K (Conductonaut Applied)
    Memory (part number)G Skill 3200Mhz Trident Z RGB 32GB 3200Mhz CL16
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080Ti FE
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 2TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 600
    Headset Astro A50 (Gen 2)
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305 Mk II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Zammin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    230

    Quote Originally Posted by Flokke View Post
    So, this seemed to switch from the topic of trying to get Adaptive voltage to work properly more so to purposes of getting a stable overclock at 5ghz.
    Yes, the original intent of the thread was to seek help regarding switching to Adaptive voltage mode under my circumstances at the time, however as mentioned on the last few pages those circumstances have changed for an unknown reason (my manual OC went from stable to unstable by itself, so to speak), throwing another spanner into the works. I am still working on an adaptive overclock, just not necessarily a 5Ghz one. I will likely need further assistance going forward. Feel free to start another thread if the info in this one or it's direction doesn't quite align with what you're looking for.

    If it helps, what I am doing at the moment is following Shamino's suggestion of leaving the Adaptive Mode Additional Turbo Voltage on Auto and adjusting the IA AC/DC LoadLines and LLC to get the voltage in the right place.
    Last edited by Zammin; 02-28-2019 at 01:29 PM.

  4. #34
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by Zammin View Post
    Yes, the original intent of the thread was to seek help regarding switching to Adaptive voltage mode under my circumstances at the time, however as mentioned on the last few pages those circumstances have changed for an unknown reason (my manual OC went from stable to unstable by itself, so to speak), throwing another spanner into the works. I am still working on an adaptive overclock, just not necessarily a 5Ghz one. I will likely need further assistance going forward. Feel free to start another thread if the info in this one or it's direction doesn't quite align with what you're looking for.

    If it helps, what I am doing at the moment is following Shamino's suggestion of leaving the Adaptive Mode Additional Turbo Voltage on Auto and adjusting the IA AC/DC LoadLines and LLC to get the voltage in the right place.
    My appologies I'm not trying to hi-jack the thread. Generally as ALL post i've read on the subject point to another thread before making a new post. Since you started off with the problem I had which is that you couldn't get the downvolting to work on Adaptive I figured i'd post the question again to see if maybe someone had come up with a solution to that problem.

    As it appears to be an issue of bios versions just breaking things pretty much I have reverted back and now I have what I was looking for. Sorry again for posting the way I did if it felt like I was trying to hi-jack. (people on this forum are not keen to accepting new topics for issues that are currently being discussed already. I've read enough replies on threads that have something similar to this issue post that their is already a topic for that.)

  5. #35
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zammin PC Specs
    Zammin PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel 9900K (Conductonaut Applied)
    Memory (part number)G Skill 3200Mhz Trident Z RGB 32GB 3200Mhz CL16
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080Ti FE
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 2TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 600
    Headset Astro A50 (Gen 2)
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305 Mk II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Zammin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    230

    Quote Originally Posted by Flokke View Post
    My appologies I'm not trying to hi-jack the thread. Generally as ALL post i've read on the subject point to another thread before making a new post. Since you started off with the problem I had which is that you couldn't get the downvolting to work on Adaptive I figured i'd post the question again to see if maybe someone had come up with a solution to that problem.

    As it appears to be an issue of bios versions just breaking things pretty much I have reverted back and now I have what I was looking for. Sorry again for posting the way I did if it felt like I was trying to hi-jack. (people on this forum are not keen to accepting new topics for issues that are currently being discussed already. I've read enough replies on threads that have something similar to this issue post that their is already a topic for that.)
    It's all good, I know you weren't trying to hikack. My issue originally was that my system was actually running a lot more voltage through the CPU under load in adaptive mode with the same LLC settings and voltage target I had in manual mode, now I understand why. The CPU was able to down-volt at idle still but I couldn't get the voltage where I wanted it under load. As Shamino said it turned out to be because my OC was not exceeding the factory single core boost speed so it was ignoring some of the settings I had input. A different issue to yours so I thought this thread may not have quite aligned. Good to know you found the issue, I have had issues after updating BIOS versions in the past with my old Maximus X Z370 boards as well.

  6. #36
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zammin PC Specs
    Zammin PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel 9900K (Conductonaut Applied)
    Memory (part number)G Skill 3200Mhz Trident Z RGB 32GB 3200Mhz CL16
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080Ti FE
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 2TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 600
    Headset Astro A50 (Gen 2)
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305 Mk II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Zammin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    230

    Sorry for what are likely a couple more noob questions. Still working on my 4.9Ghz adaptive OC here.

    At LLC6 with the loadlines set to 0.03 I was able to pass an hour of realbench. Voltage under load was around 1.23-1.24V.

    I've brought the LLC down to level 5, and ran realbench for an hour. The load voltage was generally 1.20-1.21V with very occasional dips to 1.19V. Temps were much better, not going much higher than 84C at peak, and averaging 74-80C when the coolant was fully soaked at 36.5C. Unfortunately the system froze while the display was asleep at around the 45min mark. No BSOD, everything had just locked up and the display wouldn't wake up.

    I then increased the Loadlines to 0.04 and ran the test again. It passed the hour test with similar temps and the same voltage reading as the last test.

    My questions are as follows, does setting the IA AC/DC Loadlines manually override the SVID Behavior setting? Or is it the other way around? I've had SVID behavior set to "Best Case Scenario" for this 4.9Ghz OC and when doing a bit of reading up on the AI AC/DC Loadlines I came across a thread where Raja mentions setting this to best case is equivalent to setting the Loadlines to 0.01. I would assume that setting them manually overrides this but I thought I would ask to be sure. Should I set SVID behavior to Auto or leave it as Best Case Scenario?

    The other question is regarding the cache ratio. I'm trying to overclock to cache now that I believe I am stable (at least in RealBench) and I've set the min and max ratio to 45, however this appear to prevent the CPU from downvolting at idle. Should I just set the max ratio and leave the min at Auto to amend this?

    Is Realbench still a good test for the OC with the cache ratio increased? Or am I better off running AIDA64's cache stress test instead?

    Thanks again for any help and advice!
    Last edited by Zammin; 03-01-2019 at 06:28 AM.

  7. #37
    Super Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Reputation
    74
    Posts
    660

    raja is right but since you're manually over-riding it doesnt matter if its auto or best case, you will get your specified 0.04


    The other question is regarding the cache ratio. I'm trying to overclock to cache now that I believe I am stable (at least in RealBench) and I've set the min and max ratio to 45, however this appear to prevent the CPU from downvolting at idle. Should I just set the max ratio and leave the min at Auto to amend this?

    yes if you wanna idle with low volts.


    Is Realbench still a good test for the OC with the cache ratio increased? Or am I better off running AIDA64's cache stress test instead?

    if you mean what is toughest to pass, its no different from core, the heaviest and hottest bench is the toughest, AVX prime95 is one of those. but you dont need to
    realbench is enough if you just want a stable system apart from prime95 torture.

  8. #38
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zammin PC Specs
    Zammin PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel 9900K (Conductonaut Applied)
    Memory (part number)G Skill 3200Mhz Trident Z RGB 32GB 3200Mhz CL16
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080Ti FE
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 2TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 600
    Headset Astro A50 (Gen 2)
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305 Mk II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Zammin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    230

    Quote Originally Posted by Shamino View Post
    raja is right but since you're manually over-riding it doesnt matter if its auto or best case, you will get your specified 0.04


    The other question is regarding the cache ratio. I'm trying to overclock to cache now that I believe I am stable (at least in RealBench) and I've set the min and max ratio to 45, however this appear to prevent the CPU from downvolting at idle. Should I just set the max ratio and leave the min at Auto to amend this?

    yes if you wanna idle with low volts.


    Is Realbench still a good test for the OC with the cache ratio increased? Or am I better off running AIDA64's cache stress test instead?

    if you mean what is toughest to pass, its no different from core, the heaviest and hottest bench is the toughest, AVX prime95 is one of those. but you dont need to
    realbench is enough if you just want a stable system apart from prime95 torture.
    Thank you very much for your advice.

    I have set the cache max 45 and left the min on auto. I've set the IA AC/DC Loadlines to 0.05 and LLC to level 5. I was able to pass an hour of RealBench with these settings as well as an hour of OCCT Large Data Sets. I'm thinking of running non-AVX Prim95 (26.6 is the one right?) as well but it's looking good so far. My idle CPU and water temps are much better, and the CPU only needs 1.2-1.21V under load now which is great provided it stays stable.

  9. #39
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,806

    The latest Prime95 beta allows you to disable AVX from within settings. Personally, I would stay with RB stability and use the machine for what you built it for till you encounter any issues, and adjust accordingly*

  10. #40
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zammin PC Specs
    Zammin PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel 9900K (Conductonaut Applied)
    Memory (part number)G Skill 3200Mhz Trident Z RGB 32GB 3200Mhz CL16
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080Ti FE
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 2TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 600
    Headset Astro A50 (Gen 2)
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305 Mk II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Zammin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    230

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ASUS View Post
    The latest Prime95 beta allows you to disable AVX from within settings. Personally, I would stay with RB stability and use the machine for what you built it for till you encounter any issues, and adjust accordingly*
    That's good to know, I'm glad they added the ability to disable AVX in Prime. Cheers.

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •