Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 40
  1. #21
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,799

    Who knows. With your climate over there, the temperature will be a big factor. This and differences in UEFI config. For instance, are you running an AVX offset now but perhaps weren't before?

  2. #22
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zammin PC Specs
    Zammin PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel 9900K (Conductonaut Applied)
    Memory (part number)G Skill 3200Mhz Trident Z RGB 32GB 3200Mhz CL16
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080Ti FE
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 2TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 600
    Headset Astro A50 (Gen 2)
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305 Mk II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Zammin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    230

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ASUS View Post
    Who knows. With your climate over there, the temperature will be a big factor. This and differences in UEFI config. For instance, are you running an AVX offset now but perhaps weren't before?
    Even before the peak core temp was 92C. Today it was around 95C. I'm not using an AVX offset at the moment and I wasn't before either, no idea what is going on.

  3. #23
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zammin PC Specs
    Zammin PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel 9900K (Conductonaut Applied)
    Memory (part number)G Skill 3200Mhz Trident Z RGB 32GB 3200Mhz CL16
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080Ti FE
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 2TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 600
    Headset Astro A50 (Gen 2)
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305 Mk II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Zammin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    230

    Ok so I've started testing with Shamino's suggestion, I've set adaptive voltage mode with the additional turbo voltage on auto, set LLC6, set IA AC/DC LoadLines to 0.03, disabled SpeedStep and enabled SpeedShift. Although for the first test I've aimed a bit lower just to get a baseline so I've set the multiplier to 49. Seems to be working okay, ran a 30 min RealBench stress test and passed with a peak core temp of 89C but the cores were usually around 78-82C. Voltage readout on the LiveDash and iCUE shows 1.23V-1.24V during the test. Water Temp peaked around 36C, ambient 24C.

    I will try 5Ghz but I'm pretty sure it will fail at this voltage. My question is, if I find it to be unstable, do I increase the number for IA AC/DC LoadLines? For example, go to 0.04, then 0.05 etc etc. Or do I go down to 0.02? I'm assuming I want to increase the number. Sorry for not fully understanding this feature.

    Also my apologies JPMboy, I said that C-states was only an option to enable or disable them but I found what you were talking about when you mentioned "enable C-States up to C6". When I enable them rather than selecting auto, it lists all the individual C-states. Should I still disable Cstates above C6 and keep C1-C6 enabled? I've just got it on auto for now.

    Thanks everyone I really appreciate the help and advice you've given me so far. I'm learning as I go but I clearly still have a long way to go..
    Last edited by Zammin; 02-28-2019 at 05:20 AM.

  4. #24
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zammin PC Specs
    Zammin PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel 9900K (Conductonaut Applied)
    Memory (part number)G Skill 3200Mhz Trident Z RGB 32GB 3200Mhz CL16
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080Ti FE
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 2TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 600
    Headset Astro A50 (Gen 2)
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305 Mk II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Zammin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    230

    Ok so I tried to get 5Ghz a few times and it's just not working out.

    I tried IA AC/DC LoadLines at 0.03 - crash within 10 mins, 0.04 - crash around 15mins, 0.05 crash after around 35mins. Voltage in the final test was 1.27-1.28 under load. Peak CPU core temp was 97C, average 88-92C. Water temp peaked at 38C. Ambient 25C. It's just getting too hot in RealBench now, I don't think I can keep pushing it further. If I hadn't used liquid metal between the die and IHS I may have hit 100C during that last test, since the liquid metal shaved between 4-6C off the CPU cores during heavy loads.

    Unless there is some other tricks I can try I may just have to settle for 4.9Ghz or use an AVX offset of -1. It's a shame, many others seem to have no trouble reaching 5Ghz so I guess my CPU isn't a great one.

  5. #25
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,799

    Please remember that ultimately, not all samples will achieve 5GHz on all cores. The statistics from SiliconLottery.com indicate less than half. You’re hitting the thermal capacity of your setup, too. At this point, my advice would be to tune the system for the tasks you intend to use it for.

  6. #26
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zammin PC Specs
    Zammin PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel 9900K (Conductonaut Applied)
    Memory (part number)G Skill 3200Mhz Trident Z RGB 32GB 3200Mhz CL16
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080Ti FE
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 2TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 600
    Headset Astro A50 (Gen 2)
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305 Mk II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Zammin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    230

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ASUS View Post
    Please remember that ultimately, not all samples will achieve 5GHz on all cores. The statistics from SiliconLottery.com indicate less than half. You’re hitting the thermal capacity of your setup, too. At this point, my advice would be to tune the system for the tasks you intend to use it for.
    Yeah I think I will try and tune it for 4.9Ghz as best as I can and leave it there, or use an AVX offset. Better luck next time I guess :/

  7. #27
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    61

    Quote Originally Posted by Zammin View Post
    Yeah I think I will try and tune it for 4.9Ghz as best as I can and leave it there, or use an AVX offset. Better luck next time I guess :/
    When you said you first passed 5 ghz at the same exact settings you are now failing, were you using a different bios version or any different RAM settings at all?
    Because while it is common for new CPU's to lose about 10mv off their minimum voltage after a short while even when not pushed to unsafe limits, they will usually remain quite stable, but yours seems to have gone for 1+ hour stable to insta-crashing, which is pretty unheard of without excessive voltage. And a 1 hour stable test means you were probably not at your bare VMIN.

    What was the absolute highest load (or idle, if using manual) voltage you used?
    And are you sure you were not on a different bios?

    Do you have the ability to (if you were), downgrade to the same bios you did that stable test on and then test on that?

    Because I found out something interesting, although it's still not proven directly but I can't be too far off...(still not jumping to conclusions yet until I can be 100% sure), but I'll just say possibly "Subtiming".

    Did you test with non avx tests to verify stability or AVX tests that do NOT touch main memory, as well as your mixed AVX tests? (example: cinebench r15, prime95 29.6 build 2 with AVX/AVX2 disabled, smallest FFT's, etc?)

  8. #28
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zammin PC Specs
    Zammin PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Formula
    ProcessorIntel 9900K (Conductonaut Applied)
    Memory (part number)G Skill 3200Mhz Trident Z RGB 32GB 3200Mhz CL16
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080Ti FE
    MonitorAcer Predator XB271HU 165Hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 2TB M.2 NVME SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerEKWB Velocity RGB
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum RGB
    Mouse Steel Series Rival 600
    Headset Astro A50 (Gen 2)
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305 Mk II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Zammin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    230

    Quote Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
    When you said you first passed 5 ghz at the same exact settings you are now failing, were you using a different bios version or any different RAM settings at all?
    Because while it is common for new CPU's to lose about 10mv off their minimum voltage after a short while even when not pushed to unsafe limits, they will usually remain quite stable, but yours seems to have gone for 1+ hour stable to insta-crashing, which is pretty unheard of without excessive voltage. And a 1 hour stable test means you were probably not at your bare VMIN.
    Nah I'm not using a different BIOS, I even had the profile saved so I could reload it exactly as it was. RAM has remained on XMP I the entire time. I've had this system for around 4 months now but didn't start overclocking the CPU until I got it under water because it was already at it's limit on air.

    Quote Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
    What was the absolute highest load (or idle, if using manual) voltage you used?
    And are you sure you were not on a different bios?
    Highest on my previous manual mode 5Ghz OC? 1.314V highest idle, 1.270V steady under AVX load (Realbench).

    Quote Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
    Do you have the ability to (if you were), downgrade to the same bios you did that stable test on and then test on that?
    Still on the same BIOS.

    Quote Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
    Because I found out something interesting, although it's still not proven directly but I can't be too far off...(still not jumping to conclusions yet until I can be 100% sure), but I'll just say possibly "Subtiming".
    Do you mean RAM subtimings? I'm just using XMP I, so only the basic settings have been loaded (3200Mhz, 16-18-18-38, 2N, 1.35V) with VCCIO turned down to 1.15V because it was setting it to 1.314V for some reason, and from what I understand you don't want it above 1.3V.

    Quote Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
    Did you test with non avx tests to verify stability or AVX tests that do NOT touch main memory, as well as your mixed AVX tests? (example: cinebench r15, prime95 29.6 build 2 with AVX/AVX2 disabled, smallest FFT's, etc?)
    It was only the other day so I ran a couple of 1 hour RealBench passes, a little bit of AIDA64 and an hour of OCCT Large Data Set as well as a few Cinebench runs and some gaming.

  9. #29
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    61

    Quote Originally Posted by Zammin View Post
    Nah I'm not using a different BIOS, I even had the profile saved so I could reload it exactly as it was. RAM has remained on XMP I the entire time. I've had this system for around 4 months now but didn't start overclocking the CPU until I got it under water because it was already at it's limit on air.



    Highest on my previous manual mode 5Ghz OC? 1.314V highest idle, 1.270V steady under AVX load (Realbench).



    Still on the same BIOS.



    Do you mean RAM subtimings? I'm just using XMP I, so only the basic settings have been loaded (3200Mhz, 16-18-18-38, 2N, 1.35V) with VCCIO turned down to 1.15V because it was setting it to 1.314V for some reason, and from what I understand you don't want it above 1.3V.



    It was only the other day so I ran a couple of 1 hour RealBench passes, a little bit of AIDA64 and an hour of OCCT Large Data Set as well as a few Cinebench runs and some gaming.

    Yes I meant RAM subtimings, because I just flashed to beta bios F8H on the Aorus Master, and I noticed my 1344K in place fixed FFT (AVX) at my 2 hour rock stable settigs, were now not only crashing a thread (usually the first thread to crash, thread 6 or 7), BUT were also causing CPU L0 errors (WHEA correctable) too!
    The 1.275v, 5 ghz + LLC Turbo test which had been stable 1-2 hours was now crashing/generating L0 errors in 5-15 minutes. So I decided to test my stable 5.1 ghz + 1.345v + LLC Turbo with 1344K AVX also, and it crashed in less than 6 minutes! Ran two tests at 5 ghz and one at 5.1 ghz to make sure.

    So I flashed back to beta F8G and used the exact same settings precisely.
    and guess what?
    1.275v 5 ghz LLC Turbo passed 1 hour 10min at 1344K in place fixed AVX FFT's till I stopped it.
    Then 1.345v 5.1 ghz LLC turbo 1344K AVX passsed 1hour 15 min (stopped it)
    Then went back to 5 ghz 1.275v again and again 1 hour 5 min pass and stopped it.

    Exact same VR VOUT (cpu on die sense) voltage, watts, power draw as before. The only change was the bios between the unstable and stable tests.
    Oddly enough, on both bioses, there was no problem with 15K in place fixed AVX FFT at 5 ghz, 1.285v (LLC turbo) with hyperthreading disabled (so, 8 threads only) for 1 hour+, which I long tested as my VMIN for this. Since 15K runs entirely in the cache (i assume), whatever was affecting the above didn't affect this.

    On one of the comprehensive memory guides on overclock.net, someone mentioned that one of the low subtimings affected AVX speed greatly.

    Again I have no absolute proof as I would still need to have "VMINS" for 1344K AVX with hyperthreading disabled (I don't), 1344K Non-AVX with hyperthreading enabled, to determine if it's RAM access with AVX or hyperthreading itself with accessing RAM. And all of that crap takes WAY too long to test, since you need to find the min stable voltage for each test.

    And then on top of that I would have to then test if increasing VCCIO or SA or something would help :/

    But anyway you said you are on the exact same bios as before, so I just wasted my time writing all of this.
    (tl;dr: in my case, new beta bios must have changed a RAM subtiming that may have affected AVX with RAM access, hurting stability)

  10. #30
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    So, this seemed to switch from the topic of trying to get Adaptive voltage to work properly more so to purposes of getting a stable overclock at 5ghz. I'm also having the same issues with getting my CPU to downvolt when at idle running like an 800mhz clock speed. I have it steady at 4.9ghz all core at 1.279v but no matter what I change with adaptive voltage I can't get it to reduce bellow that 1.279v it just sits there. Granted this I suppose is first world problems at this point.

    Maybe I will switch back to 605 as I'm almost certain that was the bios i had before upgrading just now and everything was working like it should then. I just figured the bios updates would be good to have as there seems to have been a lot of improvement since then. If someone has this current bios 0805 and has their CPU dropping the Vcore down like it's should at idle multipliers please post your bios I'd love to take a look.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •