Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    RAMPAGE VI EXTREME BIO'S 1704 Freezing / Lock-UP'S Random/ Wont let me XMP

    BIO'S 1704 Freezing / Lock-UP'S Random/ Wont let me XMP or manual timings/ everything default and tried CMOS.

    Good start up but I run Prime95 and system will lock up random.


    Processor: Intel Core i9-7920X
    Motherboard: ASUS ROG RAMPAGE VI EXTREME
    System Memory: DOMINATOR® PLATINUM 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4 3200MHz
    Power Supply: 1600W Corsair AX1600i
    Storage Set 1: 1x SSD M.2 (1TB Samsung 970 PRO)
    Storage Set 2: 1x SSD M.2 (1TB Samsung 970 PRO)
    Graphics Card(s): NvLink 4Sot NVidia’s GeForce RTX 2080 Ti 11GB (Founders Edition)
    Custom Cooling System (2x Graphics Cards + CPU)
    Reservoir Pump Combo: EK-XRES Reservoir Pump Combo D5
    Radiator: XSPC EX Radiators EX560mm Quad Fan Radiator, EX420mm Triple Fan Radiator, and EX280mm Dual Fan Radiator
    Water Block GPU: 2X EK-Vector RTX 2080 Ti RGB - Nickel + Plexi
    Water Block CPU: EK-FB ASUS ROG R6E RGB Monoblock – Nickel
    Chassis Fans: Corsair ML PRO Series (15 Fans Total)
    Corsair Commander pro x 3
    Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 Professional (64-Bit Edition)

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Try to put all 4 memory sticks to the sockets placed on the left side of the CPU and see if that helps. If yes then you have the same problem as many R6E owners.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Quote Originally Posted by rython View Post
    Try to put all 4 memory sticks to the sockets placed on the left side of the CPU and see if that helps. If yes then you have the same problem as many R6E owners.


    I have this exact problem. Memory on the right side freezes the board. Left side all 4 work fine. Was this a bios issue ? I just RMAed my board. Did anyone fix by flashing to a previous bios?

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Changes I made to fix the problem as of right now..... not sure why this works but system is not freezing.

    Dram Frequency (3200)
    Dram CAS# (16)
    Dram RAS# to CAS# (18)
    Dram RAS# Pre Time (18)
    Dram RAS# ACT Time (36)

    Receiver DQ Pre-Emphasis (0.700000)
    Receiver DQ De-Emphasis (1.171875)
    Transmitter DQ Pre-Emphasis (1.171875)
    Transmitter DQ De-Emphasis (1.171875)

    Enhanced Training CHA (Enabled)
    Enhanced Training CHB (Enabled)
    Enhanced Training CHC (Enabled)
    Enhanced Training CHD (Enabled)

    Dram Voltage CHA, CHB (1.3500)

    Dram Voltage CHC, CHD (1.3500)

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by rython View Post
    Try to put all 4 memory sticks to the sockets placed on the left side of the CPU and see if that helps. If yes then you have the same problem as many R6E owners.


    Do you have a thread or reference to the problem seen by many R6E owners? I have the exact problem and would like to have more information.


    Thanks!

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    re:

    Quote Originally Posted by rython View Post
    Try to put all 4 memory sticks to the sockets placed on the left side of the CPU and see if that helps. If yes then you have the same problem as many R6E owners.
    Removing the four sticks worked, so is it a bad board I should RMA? I hadn't heard about trying this and I am wondering if the board has always been the problem. I got one of the first boards from the very first production run. Mine showed up before it was on NewEgg or online, so I am wondering if there were issues on the initial run.

    The lockups are frozen, which generally means memory. Although if the mobo is having issues I have seen this happen before with non-ECC ram.

    Any input is appreciated!


    Ken

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Rob W. PC Specs
    Rob W. PC Specs
    MotherboardRog Asus Rampage vi extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7980x Oc 4.6ghz 24/7
    Memory (part number)64 gb GSkill 3600mhz (8x8) 15,15,15,35
    Graphics Card #1nvidia Titan V + ekwb custom loop
    Graphics Card #2nvidia RTX 2080Ti on air.
    Sound Cardonboard?
    MonitorIAsus PA329Q 4k 32"
    Storage #1samsung SSD 960 EVO 250 GB. M2 nvme
    Storage #2Samsung ssd 970 evo 500gb m2 nvme
    CPU CoolerEKwb custom loop
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1200i 1200w
    Keyboard Logitech G910 orion spark
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus core
    OS Win 10
    Network Routerbt infinity super fast.
    Accessory #1 Seagate Barracuda 2 TB HDD
    Accessory #2 Aqeuaro 6xt fan controller
    Accessory #3 Intel Optane 280gb

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    104
    Posts
    474

    Sorry to hear yo still have problem, as rython says try on the left ( I’ve never had that problem) it might solve it.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    So is the 1704 bios borked or is it working ok? Would like to know before I flash mine.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Quote Originally Posted by Barefooter View Post
    So is the 1704 bios borked or is it working ok? Would like to know before I flash mine.
    Good question.

    I cannot get this board to not freeze when running at stock speeds, It's only stable on an overclock but fails a number of stress tests.

    Then again I am running a 9th gen i7 and G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 3600. It auto-overclocked just fine with a 7th gen i7.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array CharlieH PC Specs
    CharlieH PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI GT75 TITAN-094
    MotherboardAsus Dominus Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Xeon W-3175X
    Memory (part number)128GB G.SKILL TridentZ F4-3466C16Q2-128GTZR
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 Ti ROG-STRIX-RTX2080TI-O11G-GAMING
    Graphics Card #2ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 Ti ROG-STRIX-RTX2080TI-O11G-GAMING
    MonitorHP LP 3065
    Storage #12x 1TB Samsung 970 PRO PCIe NVMe SSD VROC Raid 0
    Storage #22x Intel Optane SSD 900P VROC Raid 0
    CPU CoolerEK-Velocity WS - Narrow ILM
    CaseHighSpeed PC Top Desk Tech Station - HPTX
    Power SupplyCorsair AXi Series, AX1500i and AX1200i
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterNetgear XS712T and Asus ROG Rapture GT-AX11000
    Accessory #1 ASUS ROG GeForce RTX Nvlink Bridge with Aura Sync RGB 4 Slot Graphic Cards ROG-NVLINK-4
    Accessory #2 EK-VRM ASUS ROG Dominus Extreme
    Accessory #3 2x HEATKILLER® IV for ASUS RTX 2080 Ti STRIX - ACRYL
    CharlieH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    248

    I am using it, I set extreme for the auto OC, it set XMP and OCed like before, I use VROC for a data drive etc. I have been running it for about a week and haven't seen any issues so far. My chip is a 7900X. My memory is GSkill F4-3600C17-16GTZR 128GB total running at 3200MHz.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •