Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    New build with Z390-I - temp sensor #5 at 70 degrees +30degrees over others???

    Hi, I just finished a new build using the Z390-I, a 9900k CPU and 800W Silverstone Power supply.

    Also have 2TB Samsung 970 M.2 drives installed, one front and back. They are my only drives.

    My temp sensors all read fine on the motherboard except #5 (what is #5 ???) its showing almost 70 degrees Celsius, other temp sensors 1,2,3,4 are about 40 degrees...is this normal?

    This temp is when just logged in at Windows on the desktop, not doing much really except web browsing and downloads.

    Ambient temp is about 20 degrees - I have the air-conditioning on
    [Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Motherboard_TempSensor_5_70_Degrees_Others40andBelow.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	85.1 KB 
ID:	79280
    Last edited by tailspin75; 03-02-2019 at 11:00 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Code
    Processor9900K
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M4B3600C18
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080ti-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorAOC AGON AG2701QX (2)
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 256GB
    Storage #2Kingston Savage 500GB
    CPU CoolerNzxt X74 360mm AIO
    CaseNzxt H700
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Asus Spartha
    Headset Hyper X Cloud Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Hyper X Fury S 900mx420mm
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z337
    OS Windows 10 64btis
    Network RouterTpLink Archer C9
    Accessory #1 EKWB FANs all of them
    MrAgapiGC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    1,431

    download HWINFO64 and check with that app what is the sensor
    Learn, Play Enjoy!

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array 28BeersLater PC Specs
    28BeersLater PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7-5930K
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix Vega 64
    Sound CardBose External USB
    MonitorLG IPS235 x3
    Storage #1Kingston HyperX Predator 480GB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron XT Series 960GB
    CPU CoolerEK RVE Monoblock
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse ROG Spatha
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion 5
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    62

    That sounds a similar build to me, only I went with the Corsair SF760 PSU.

    It's probably more a function of my case, but this build runs hot. currently ate idle / browsing with a Win 10 VM open also ide, I'm getting:

    CPU - 34 degrees C
    Motherboard - 48 Degrees C (This gets hot, - I've seen it hit 60)
    PCH 61 degrees C (This gets hotter, but that's documented to not be an issue... it does warm up my M2 drive a fair bit though )
    Coolant 29 degrees C

    Is would estimate room temperature is about 16-17 degrees C, Nest says 18, but that's downstairs and I have the window open lol

    As for sensor 5... no idea DIP5 only shows the ones listed everything else just calls it "sensor 5" - mines currently at 22.
    Rampage V Extreme | Intel 5930K | 32GB Corsair Dominator 2666 | EVGA GTX 980 SC x3
    Kingston HyperX Predator 480GB | Corsair Neutron XT 960GB | Corsair AX1200
    Corsair 900D | EK RVE Monoblock | EK 980 GTX Blocks & Back Plates

  4. #4
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Both of the Corsair monitoring programs (Link and iCUE) have difficult reading the Asus Embedded Controller. It is pretty standard to get junk values and/or duplicates. That makes those programs not very helpful for monitoring motherboard specific sensors (VRM/Chipset/T-sensor etc). As suggested above, HWiNFO usually can do the job, however it will clash with the Link/iCUE program. Use the portable version that only deploys the driver on launch. It will give you a warning about both the Asus EC and Corsair sensors on load. Ignore the warning about the Asus EC and read those, accept the disabling of the Corsair sensors. In the alternative, you can quit Link and the related service prior to launching HWiNFO, but sometimes you still get crossover problems fixed on a restart of the Link service. It is possible to run them together, but you must carefully disable all reading of Corsair items in HWiNFO.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •