Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 76
  1. #41
    ROG Enthusiast Array Queen6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    55

    Quote Originally Posted by mp271901 View Post
    Thanks i will give it test .

    I deleted the TS.ini file but the box with "lock" in the TPL window is still grey and i cant uncheck it. I deinstalled TS completely but it is still checked. Any suggestions here?

    Or on the other hand, what effect will that have, when i leave it like that?

    Regards
    Try fully shutting down the computer - Hold down left shift key, then shutdown keeping the shift key down until fully off, should fix that. TS remains persistent unless the system is fully shutdown. Effect is you'll be locked out of that section of TS.

    n.b. Updated previous post

    Q-6

  2. #42
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    Quote Originally Posted by Queen6 View Post
    Here - Package Power 60W
    Attachment 79388

    After 28 seconds it will drop to the PL-1 enforced limit of 45W, if TDP is reduced it will drop to 35W, on battery something like 28W etc. If TDP down is not working check that in TS FIVR Disable and lock Turbo Power Limits isn't checked as this breaks the TDP down feature.

    Mine is a Strix (GL703GS, to be exact it's a S7BS8750)



    Note W10 power plan also has control via Speed Shift EPP, so want absolute max need to switch ROG to Overboost and W10 to Best Performance

    Q-6
    Could explain to me how do you set the TDP to 35W? I have win10 energy options on better performance and fan mode on Balanced but i still get 45W.

    Do i have to do something else?

  3. #43
    ROG Enthusiast Array Queen6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    55

    Quote Originally Posted by mp271901 View Post
    Could explain to me how do you set the TDP to 35W? I have win10 energy options on better performance and fan mode on Balanced but i still get 45W.

    Do i have to do something else?
    It's a feature of the notebook from ROG. if your notebook doesn't have the same option from ROG you can always set the Windows Power Slider to Best Battery Life as that should reduce the CPU's TDP.

    My GL703GS has 3 power/cooling profiles;

    1 - Silent CPU TDP 35W, reduced dGPU performance

    2- Balanced CPU TDP 45W, full dGPU performance

    3 - Overboost CPU TDP 45W, dGPU mild overclock (5% - 10%)

    In older titles such as F.E.A.R. there's little point in the notebook rendering literally 1K FPS, better to limit via TDP and FPS lock. Cool and quiet it is Modern titles obviously more demanding. Key is striking the balance between FPS & temperature, your in game experience will be far better and easier on the hardware.

    I'm open to questions, as I'm happy to help others within reason. I mostly use my ROG GL703GS for professional purpose, equally I like to game when I have the chance

    Q-6

  4. #44
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    Reduce temps with V-Sync on!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by Queen6 View Post
    It's a feature of the notebook from ROG. if your notebook doesn't have the same option from ROG you can always set the Windows Power Slider to Best Battery Life as that should reduce the CPU's TDP.

    My GL703GS has 3 power/cooling profiles;

    1 - Silent CPU TDP 35W, reduced dGPU performance

    2- Balanced CPU TDP 45W, full dGPU performance

    3 - Overboost CPU TDP 45W, dGPU mild overclock (5% - 10%)

    In older titles such as F.E.A.R. there's little point in the notebook rendering literally 1K FPS, better to limit via TDP and FPS lock. Cool and quiet it is Modern titles obviously more demanding. Key is striking the balance between FPS & temperature, your in game experience will be far better and easier on the hardware.

    I'm open to questions, as I'm happy to help others within reason. I mostly use my ROG GL703GS for professional purpose, equally I like to game when I have the chance

    Q-6
    Ah ok i tried it and i got 35W with the silent fan settings but still got 70W shown in HWInfo with the Balanced and Overboost fans. Do you have an explanation for that?

    Btw could it be that BFV is not well optimized, at least on some maps? Because i gave my Laptop the full power (Overboost, speedshift at 0, highest clocks possible) with -0,079 undervolt. I put the settings on medium-high and on low. Both settings only gave me FPS around 60. FPS Limit was set to 200. But with Battlefront 2 which runs with almost the same graphics engine i get 90 FPS avg. with medium-High settings.

    My Rig:GL504GM Hero 2: i7-8750H; GTX 1060 6gbVRAM; 8GB Ram; Win 10; 60Hz panel

    According to my headline:

    When i was playing Battlefront 2 I got 90FPS AVG on Medium-Hgh settings as i said before. But i only have a 60Hz panel, so it wasnt smooth, because of tearing. So i put V-Sync on and of course the FPS have to be constantly above the monitors refresh rate, otherwise you will face massive FPS drops. But i had 90FPS constantly. So as i turned it on the FPS were stuck to 60 as it should be and it was buttering smooth. But i recognized that the Wattage pulled by the CPU decreased to 21W in avg. Which causes a massive Temps drop from 78 degrees to 68 degrees.

    So bottom line, if you have temp issues while pushing you CPU to its limits, but got also AVG FPS above you monitors refreshrate, thats a absolute must have requirement!!!!, then turn on V-Sync to drop the temps.

    The first time i am happy to have only a 60Hz Panel
    Last edited by mp271901; 03-09-2019 at 04:11 AM.

  5. #45
    ROG Enthusiast Array Queen6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    55

    Quote Originally Posted by mp271901 View Post
    Ah ok i tried it and i got 35W with the silent fan settings but still got 70W shown in HWInfo with the Balanced and Overboost fans. Do you have an explanation for that?

    Btw could it be that BFV is not well optimized, at least on some maps? Because i gave my Laptop the full power (Overboost, speedshift at 0, highest clocks possible) with -0,079 undervolt. I put the settings on medium-high and on low. Both settings only gave me FPS around 60. FPS Limit was set to 200. But with Battlefront 2 which runs with almost the same graphics engine i get 90 FPS avg. with medium-High settings.

    My Rig:GL504GM Hero 2: i7-8750H; GTX 1060 6gbVRAM; 8GB Ram; Win 10; 60Hz panel

    According to my headline:

    When i was playing Battlefront 2 I got 90FPS AVG on Medium-Hgh settings as i said before. But i only have a 60Hz panel, so it wasnt smooth, because of tearing. So i put V-Sync on and of course the FPS have to be constantly above the monitors refresh rate, otherwise you will face massive FPS drops. But i had 90FPS constantly. So as i turned it on the FPS were stuck to 60 as it should be and it was buttering smooth. But i recognized that the Wattage pulled by the CPU decreased to 21W in avg. Which causes a massive Temps drop from 78 degrees to 68 degrees.

    So bottom line, if you have temp issues while pushing you CPU to its limits, but got also AVG FPS above you monitors refreshrate, thats a absolute must have requirement!!!!, then turn on V-Sync to drop the temps.

    The first time i am happy to have only a 60Hz Panel
    CPU has PL-1 and PL-2 settings, my Strix is 45W/90W (default). With the GTX 1070 I just set everything to maximum and have a G-Sync 144Hz panel. Once the 9th Gen CPU's are launched, I'll consider an upgrade. RTX in isolation not worth it IMHO.

    All software has issues, and it takes time for the Dev's to resolve, adding another 8GB stick will bump up your FPS. I've got duel channel 32Gb, but not for gaming. I don't have BF V although I suspect the game will soak up all the CPU & GPU to deliver the best experience and yes it may not be well optimised for lesser systems, as they say "can it run Crysis" Once 30 PS was a challenge

    For me as long as I see 60FPS in game, it's enough, as I'm only playing for myself and that's all that really counts I don't sweat the temp peaks, more the average. Really pleased with this notebook as it delivers massively and has paid for itself countless times over. I'll certainly look to ROG again, hopefully with a Zephyrus GX702 with 16GB on the board so I can have duel channel 32GB. Current GX701 only has 8GB on board which makes little sense for such an expensive notebook. It's not like those in the market for a $3K+ notebook are going to be worried about a little more for 16GB and for some 32GB is a must.

    Q-6
    Last edited by Queen6; 03-09-2019 at 08:23 AM.

  6. #46
    ROG Member Array odavl123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    So this are the temps. i get for playing gta5 for 15-20 min.
    I know gta 5 is cpu heavy game, but to come to this high temp. its a bit odd.
    The trottheling that cpu is doing are also big, from 3.9GHz to 2.8GHz for 3 weeks old laptop, and also the cpu was undervolted to max, so -66mV, cant go lower as that.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 1552220511426.jpg  

    Last edited by odavl123; 03-10-2019 at 12:28 PM.

  7. #47
    ROG Enthusiast Array Queen6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    55

    Quote Originally Posted by odavl123 View Post
    So this are the temps. i get for playing gta5 for 15-20 min.
    I know gta 5 is cpu heavy game, but to come to this high temp. its a bit odd.
    The trottheling that cpu is doing are also big, from 3.9GHz to 2.8GHz for 3 weeks old laptop, and also the cpu was undervolted to max, so -66mV, cant go lower as that.
    Tend to agree temperature is too high, you can only reduce the Turbo Ratio limits in the hope to stop the CPU getting so hot in the first place. My GL703GS has a full fat GTX 1070 and that can pull up to 125W when overclocked, even with the CPU Turbo limits disable and PL-1 reset to 65W it doesn't get as hot as this being around 90C max.

    From what I know GTA 5 will produce a heavy load, equally the notebook shouldn't be thermally throttling. You may not get a full sustained 3.9GHz across all cores due to the CPU PL-1 (45W) equally I would expect 3.4GHz - 3.6GHz to be reasonable, I wouldn't be happy with 2.8GHz...

    If the notebook is elevated, has adequate air supply, undervolted, there's not much more you can do bar replacing the TIM and in my experience even that doesn't always make a significant difference. Have you verified the core OS is good, it's a stretch? when I first set up my GL703GS it did have some minor core OS verification issues. Once running DISM & SFC it was fine and still use the same base SW image today as is 100% stable.

    Another thought is AV mine came with Mcafee AV which took a purpose uninstaller to remove it. Very much doubt it's the issue, equally doesn't hurt to ensure the core OS is stable.

    Not much but might be worth looking at this as it's the same generation as yours:

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...s-when-99-load

    Q-6
    Last edited by Queen6; 03-10-2019 at 10:44 PM.

  8. #48
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Sprayingmango PC Specs
    Sprayingmango PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Late 2017 MacBook Pro 15"
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme X299
    Processori9 7900X
    Memory (part number)G-Skill Trident Z RGB 3600 32GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080Ti XC Ultra
    Graphics Card #2EVGA 2080Ti XC Ultra
    MonitorTriple Asus PG27UQ G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo 2TB NVME
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Evo 1TB NVME
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Pro RGB
    CaseCorsair 1000D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Lightspeed
    Headset No...just no. Sennheiser HD650s w/ Schitt Stack
    Mouse Pad Logitech PowerPlay
    Headset/Speakers Denon 7.2 Atmos w/ Polk Signature Series
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterAsus Rog Rapture GT-5300

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    180

    I just picked up a Strix SCAR II GL504GW with the RTX2070 in it yesterday. I love the laptop, it has some amazing build quality and performance for a $1600 machine. The fans do spin up and the CPU will hit 95*C with the GPU at 78*C while gaming. Is that normal for a gaming laptop like this? This is the first legit gaming laptop I've ever bought so this is new to me. I've always gamed exclusively on desktops, I just got this thing to mess around with and game while traveling.

  9. #49
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Sprayingmango PC Specs
    Sprayingmango PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Late 2017 MacBook Pro 15"
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme X299
    Processori9 7900X
    Memory (part number)G-Skill Trident Z RGB 3600 32GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080Ti XC Ultra
    Graphics Card #2EVGA 2080Ti XC Ultra
    MonitorTriple Asus PG27UQ G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo 2TB NVME
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Evo 1TB NVME
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Pro RGB
    CaseCorsair 1000D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Lightspeed
    Headset No...just no. Sennheiser HD650s w/ Schitt Stack
    Mouse Pad Logitech PowerPlay
    Headset/Speakers Denon 7.2 Atmos w/ Polk Signature Series
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterAsus Rog Rapture GT-5300

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    180

    Oh also, does anyone know the maximum refresh rate monitor you can plug into the HDMI port? I have an extra PG279Q monitor here and plugged it in to the laptop. It locks the refresh rate to 60Hz even though it's a 144Hz G-Sync display. I would have thought it could push 144Hz easily out of the HDMI port on the machine.

  10. #50
    ROG Enthusiast Array Queen6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    55

    Quote Originally Posted by Sprayingmango View Post
    Oh also, does anyone know the maximum refresh rate monitor you can plug into the HDMI port? I have an extra PG279Q monitor here and plugged it in to the laptop. It locks the refresh rate to 60Hz even though it's a 144Hz G-Sync display. I would have thought it could push 144Hz easily out of the HDMI port on the machine.
    No 120Hz tops and it depends on which version of HDMI for both devices and the cable, better to use the Display Port.

    Q-6

Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •