Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array pinkfloyd1173 PC Specs
    pinkfloyd1173 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog Maximus XI (Wi-Fi)Z390
    ProcessorIntel i9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsiar Dominator Platinum RGB 32GB 3200MHZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra Overclocked
    MonitorAsus VG27AQ
    Storage #11 v-NAND SSD 970 PRO 2 TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i Pro RGB
    CaseCOOL MASTER MC500P
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-AX88u
    pinkfloyd1173's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    73

    Question about ram for my mobo.

    I have a maximus XI hero (Wi-Fi) mobo. At the moment I have 16gb of ram, upgrading to 32gb.

    My question is the new ram I am getting is the same brand, corsair dominator platinum. Could I still use my old ram with the new ram, they are both 3000mhz but the timing are different? So in other words I would have 50gb of ram. Would this cause any issues or should I just sell the 2 sticks of 16gb.

    Sorry for the noob question but kinda new to this pc stuff.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(4) SSD's - Samsung 960 & 970 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    1,126

    There are other similar threads that answer your question (in general, don't).

    HERE'S A GOODIE

    HERE'S ANOTHER recent thread.
    Davemon50

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    499
    Posts
    13,627

    Quote Originally Posted by pinkfloyd1173 View Post
    but the timing are different? So in other words I would have 50gb
    Definitely no.

    Best case is buying same make and model but this is not recommended by any manufacturer...

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array pinkfloyd1173 PC Specs
    pinkfloyd1173 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog Maximus XI (Wi-Fi)Z390
    ProcessorIntel i9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsiar Dominator Platinum RGB 32GB 3200MHZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra Overclocked
    MonitorAsus VG27AQ
    Storage #11 v-NAND SSD 970 PRO 2 TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i Pro RGB
    CaseCOOL MASTER MC500P
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-AX88u
    pinkfloyd1173's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    73

    Ok thank you for the info. Will be selling the other ram.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •