Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    30

    Do I have to use windows 10?

    Hi all; Currently have an ROG G551jm and am thinking of buying the Strix Scar II. In preparation for this I have upgraded my windows 8.1 to 10 but I have to admit, I am not liking it very much. So now to the question: if I buy the scar II can I install windows 8.1 and have everything work fine, or does the laptop NEED windows 10 to function properly?

    Sorry if this is a dumb question, but I would like to know before dropping $2K.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array panzlock PC Specs
    panzlock PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS X553M, ASUS Zenpad 10 Z300M, ASUS X542BA-DH99
    MotherboardASUS P8Z68-V LX, ASUS Z170-A, ASUS ROG Strix B350-F Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i5-2500K, Intel i7-6700K, AMD Ryzen R7 1700
    Memory (part number)8GB Kingston 1333MhzDDR3 C9, 16GB G.Skill Aegis 3000Mhz DDR4 C16, 16GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200Mhz C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 560Ti, ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1070 O8G OC, Sapphire Nitro+ RX Vega 56
    Monitor32" INSIGNIA 720p, 32" Samsung 1080p C32F391FWN, 32" ASUS 1440p VA32AQ
    Storage #1Seagate 150GB 7200RPM, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB 2.5" 6Gb/s Solid State Drive (X2)
    Storage #2Seagate 500GB 7200RPM, WD Blue 3TB - 5400 RPM SATA 6 Gb/s 64MB Cache 3.5 Inch
    CPU CoolerDeepcool GAMMAXX 300, Deepcool Lucifer V2, Wraith Spire
    CaseAntec Sonata, Deepcool Dukase V1, Deepcool Dukase V3
    Power SupplyATX 650, EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2 (X2)
    Keyboard Logitech K220, MSI Interceptor DS4200 (X2)
    Mouse Microsoft 1850, Microsoft 4500, Gamdias Erebos LE, MSI DS 100, Redragon M601 Centrophorus
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z313, Logitech Z506 (X2)
    OS Windows 10 Home X64, Windows 10 Pro X64 (X2)
    panzlock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    701

    You can install Windows 8.1, sure. But why you'd want to is what I would like to know.
    I'd like to deploy my troops in her country.

  3. #3
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    318
    Posts
    7,741

    I would not advise it. If you buy a modern machine with Windows 10 it has never been designed or tested for 8.1. It's possible some drivers may see 8.1 as incompatible and refuse to install. You may have to modify driver packages. New games are going to be primarily tested on Windows 10. And eventually 8.1 is going to be completely unsupported so you'll have to get used to 10 sometime.

    The best option would be to bite the bullet and just adapt to Windows 10. Use customization tools to fix the things you don't like.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array panzlock PC Specs
    panzlock PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS X553M, ASUS Zenpad 10 Z300M, ASUS X542BA-DH99
    MotherboardASUS P8Z68-V LX, ASUS Z170-A, ASUS ROG Strix B350-F Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i5-2500K, Intel i7-6700K, AMD Ryzen R7 1700
    Memory (part number)8GB Kingston 1333MhzDDR3 C9, 16GB G.Skill Aegis 3000Mhz DDR4 C16, 16GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200Mhz C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 560Ti, ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1070 O8G OC, Sapphire Nitro+ RX Vega 56
    Monitor32" INSIGNIA 720p, 32" Samsung 1080p C32F391FWN, 32" ASUS 1440p VA32AQ
    Storage #1Seagate 150GB 7200RPM, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB 2.5" 6Gb/s Solid State Drive (X2)
    Storage #2Seagate 500GB 7200RPM, WD Blue 3TB - 5400 RPM SATA 6 Gb/s 64MB Cache 3.5 Inch
    CPU CoolerDeepcool GAMMAXX 300, Deepcool Lucifer V2, Wraith Spire
    CaseAntec Sonata, Deepcool Dukase V1, Deepcool Dukase V3
    Power SupplyATX 650, EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2 (X2)
    Keyboard Logitech K220, MSI Interceptor DS4200 (X2)
    Mouse Microsoft 1850, Microsoft 4500, Gamdias Erebos LE, MSI DS 100, Redragon M601 Centrophorus
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z313, Logitech Z506 (X2)
    OS Windows 10 Home X64, Windows 10 Pro X64 (X2)
    panzlock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    701

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    ...You may have to modify driver packages...
    I ran into this problem recently with my mothers laptop after the HD failed. I swapped HD's from an older laptop with Windows 8.1 and could not update certain drivers because they were not supported on the newer laptop. Had to clean install Windows 10 to get wifi.

    Why do you prefer 8.1 over 10, btw?
    I'd like to deploy my troops in her country.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    30

    Thanks for the replies. To answer the question of "why" I am finding that 10 is actually slower to open folders, load games (I don't have modern games, my most modern is Gary Grigsby War in the East or Trainz A New Era) and is being a pain in the bum opening RARs and Zips even with my purchased WinRAR and 7zip. But as stated, that is why I upgraded my 8.1 in preparation of the forced switch over.

    If anyone knows any Win10 modding tools please let me know. Thanks.

    Chris
    Last edited by weasel65; 03-05-2019 at 10:01 PM.

  6. #6
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    318
    Posts
    7,741

    I have a recent laptop, running win10, with an SSD as the primary disk and I don't feel browsing storage is slow. Perhaps there is another process using the disk (check task manager) or there is a bad driver in the mix. A new machine would be designed and tested for Windows 10 so I don't see why you'd have any issues.

    You could also make a post in the laptop sub-forum and ask what SCAR owners think of the storage speeds.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    30

    Ultimate Windows Tweaker 4 gives access to lots of settings that are disabled by default, FYI. It is free.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Psycrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    253

    Get use to win 10 and install classic shell
    http://www.classicshell.net/

    Makes ur win 10 looks like 8.1 or how you want it..i even think there is a xp style also

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array panzlock PC Specs
    panzlock PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS X553M, ASUS Zenpad 10 Z300M, ASUS X542BA-DH99
    MotherboardASUS P8Z68-V LX, ASUS Z170-A, ASUS ROG Strix B350-F Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i5-2500K, Intel i7-6700K, AMD Ryzen R7 1700
    Memory (part number)8GB Kingston 1333MhzDDR3 C9, 16GB G.Skill Aegis 3000Mhz DDR4 C16, 16GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200Mhz C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 560Ti, ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1070 O8G OC, Sapphire Nitro+ RX Vega 56
    Monitor32" INSIGNIA 720p, 32" Samsung 1080p C32F391FWN, 32" ASUS 1440p VA32AQ
    Storage #1Seagate 150GB 7200RPM, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB 2.5" 6Gb/s Solid State Drive (X2)
    Storage #2Seagate 500GB 7200RPM, WD Blue 3TB - 5400 RPM SATA 6 Gb/s 64MB Cache 3.5 Inch
    CPU CoolerDeepcool GAMMAXX 300, Deepcool Lucifer V2, Wraith Spire
    CaseAntec Sonata, Deepcool Dukase V1, Deepcool Dukase V3
    Power SupplyATX 650, EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2 (X2)
    Keyboard Logitech K220, MSI Interceptor DS4200 (X2)
    Mouse Microsoft 1850, Microsoft 4500, Gamdias Erebos LE, MSI DS 100, Redragon M601 Centrophorus
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z313, Logitech Z506 (X2)
    OS Windows 10 Home X64, Windows 10 Pro X64 (X2)
    panzlock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    701

    Quote Originally Posted by Psycrow View Post
    Get use to win 10 and install classic shell
    http://www.classicshell.net/

    Makes ur win 10 looks like 8.1 or how you want it..i even think there is a xp style also
    The OP's issue is function, not aesthetics.

    However, after repairing my mothers laptop I found it to be more responsive with Windows 10 than her older laptop ever was running Windows 8.1. The old laptop having a 4C/4T Intel Pentium N3530 and the newer one having an 2C/2T AMD A9-9420 . The faster turbo clock on the AMD chip might be what is making the difference, here, along with DDR4 RAM. So not sure why Windows 10 would be operating less efficiently on the OP's PC. Maybe settings or a component drawback.
    I'd like to deploy my troops in her country.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    30

    So I dug up the specs for Scar 2 and every component has 8.1 drivers, so when I get it I will try a downgrade. Last night I decided to play a game, a game which never game me a bit of trouble in 8.1, but took me an hour to get working in 10 after I had played it the night before. Does compatibility mode ever work, doesn't seem so to me.

    I do find 10 is slower with just about everything, and it is a fresh install with new partition, which I always do when installing to make sure no left overs are left behind from the previous system. Don't misunderstand, I don't dislike 10 because of that, I mean we are talking 1 second vs 1.5 second for example, I just find the programs I run, which are older, work much better in 8.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •