cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USB 3.1 Gen 2 Case Cable to ASUS X299 Mark 2 USB 3.0 Socket

CraigJConrad
Level 7
Hi, I have a nice Cooler Master case that has USB 3.0 (3.1?) connectors on the front panel. It has a short (meaning it won't reach much of the MB) cable hanging down which I've identified as a USB 3.1 Gen 2 connector (20 pin). The ASUS motherboard doesn't have a matching connector, but has a "USB 3.1 Gen 1" socket (20 pin).

The case has ZERO information about this cable, and I can't seem to find anything that will adapt from the case's cable to the ASUS connector.

Can anyone point me to a cable/adapter that would let me connect the front panel USB to the motherboard?

Thanks!
8 REPLIES 8

davemon50
Level 11
Wow I just typed up a 4-paragraph response to you, and then the forum just gave me a lousy access-denied and wiped it all out! Let me try again.

First, are you sure that the case has a Gen 2 port? Gen 2 runs at 10 Gbps in lieu of the 5 Gbps with Gen 1 ports. Typically the Gen 2 is labeled with a 10 for that reason, or as SS10 for superspeed 10. Sometimes the Gen 1 ports have an SS next to them. There really is no 3.0 USB technically, it's just 3.1 Gen 1 according to the USB spec, they are the same thing.

In either case your motherboard has 2 USB 3.0-Gen 1 headers to connect to. Looks like the 3.0-type 20-pin connectors are what you might have from your case, so if you have two of the same type connectors from your internal case wiring just connect to those two headers on your board (one is on bottom front, and one is on the side). Or if you have one wire from the case that is a 3.0-type 20-pin connector and one that is the newer 3.1-type with the smaller form factor then you will need an adapter, something like THIS.
Davemon50

[QUOTE=davemon50;763695