Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Cache Ratio

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Cache Ratio

    I’m not familiar with this. What should I set this to?*

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    evry1lovel,
    You'll need to list your hardware for anyone to help answer your questions, and your other overclock settings

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    evry1lovel,
    You'll need to list your hardware for anyone to help answer your questions, and your other overclock settings
    9900k
    Maximus xi
    32gb trident royal
    150i pro cooler

    5.0gjz at 1.285 adaptive setting temps 78-88 degrees
    Lvl 7 LLC
    Xmp II
    Cache??*
    *

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    Overclocking Cache will increase memory bandwidth and performance by a small amount that probably isn't noticeable in daily use and may require a small increase in vcore voltage and or VCCIO and VCSSA voltage for stability, the amount you can overclock and the voltages need depends on your CPU sample, as a rule of hand I increase it to keep the the difference between core and cache ratio as factory defaults and may not require any voltage increase that generates additional heat for daily use.

    I have my 9900K set to 5.1 ghz @ 1.33 volts and cache at 4.7 with the same cooling as you but I have a 2 module 16 GB kit of memory which is less strain on the IMC

    You may need to retest stability as memory errors can corrupt an OS, follow the advice given in your other thread by Arne and ROB, especially about AVX offset
    Last edited by Menthol; 03-07-2019 at 04:50 PM.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    Overclocking Cache will increase memory bandwidth and performance by a small amount that probably isn't noticeable in daily use and may require a small increase in vcore voltage and or VCCIO and VCSSA voltage for stability, the amount you can overclock and the voltages need depends on your CPU sample, as a rule of hand I increase it to keep the the difference between core and cache ratio as factory defaults and may not require any voltage increase that generates additional heat for daily use.

    I have my 9900K set to 5.1 ghz @ 1.33 volts and cache at 4.7 with the same cooling as you but I have a 2 module 16 GB kit of memory which is less strain on the IMC

    You may need to retest stability as memory errors can corrupt an OS, follow the advice given in your other thread by Arne and ROB, especially about AVX offset
    I have the same as you. Do you mind sharing your UFEI specs? 5.1 is pushing it for me. Just 5.0 for me haha. What’s your LLC and avx set to?

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    So for some reason. Now I run 5.0ghz at 1.285 adaptive mode. Realbench stops saying instability detective. The only I’ve done was trying to go for lower voltage. Currently AVX is auto and 6 LLC

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    Sounds good, I have LLC 6, AVX -1

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    Sounds good, I have LLC 6, AVX -1
    how is it good lol realbench stops running due to instability.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array HisEvilness PC Specs
    HisEvilness PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus Hero XI
    ProcessorIntel i7 8086k
    Memory (part number)32gb G.Skill TrridentZ RGB
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG 1080ti
    MonitorAcer Predator 27Inch/Iiyama G-Master GE2488HS-B2/ProLite E2474HDS
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO x 2
    CPU CoolerCorsair 150i Pro
    CaseLian-Li Dynamic
    Power SupplyRMx 850
    Keyboard Roccat Vulcan 120 AIMO
    Mouse Roccat Kone AIMO
    Headset Sennheiser 58X
    OS Win 10 Pro 64
    Network RouterASUS RT-N18U
    HisEvilness's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    84

    For higher overclock do not use adaptive it might created instability's in the vcore, it has so with me anyway.
    But your ringbus(Cache Ratio) is basically the highway inside your CPU if traffic is to fast it might crash.

    Start with a Ringbus of 43 then see how far you can push the cores without generating to much heat and -3 or -4 AVX.
    Then increase the AVX i can do -1 on my 8086k for the 9900k that might be to much with generating to much heat.
    Got the AVX settled then do the ringbus but it is like a 1% performance thing so don;t sweet it even if you have to leave it at stock 43.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    Quote Originally Posted by evry1lovel View Post
    how is it good lol realbench stops running due to instability.
    Sorry I misunderstood. You may need to raise vcore to find stability, especially if you raise cache frequency.
    Check Silicon lottery binned vcore for 9900k, you may have a better sample CPU


    https://siliconlottery.com/collections/all

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •