Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    254

    9900K temps 5ghz - realbench temps

    Have an question. My 9900K is oc to 5ghz with Noctua NH-D15. Stable vcore 1.320v. During realbench stress 2hours run max temps are 80-93+-. But when i run next 2 hours stress tests ,temps are 80-97+- and i saw in realtemp peak to 99C sometimes. GREALTEMP shows in red LOG.

    Games temps are very low 60-70C.

    My question. Is this normal for that temps peak on realbench? Overall are 80-90+-C in realbench,but after very long run realtemp show max 99C.

    Can i use this cooler on games ? And i stop using realbench if all is stable.

    Mobo is: Asus Prime Z390-A

  2. #2
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,805

    Realbench incorporates x265 encode (Handbrake) and uses AVX instruction sets which pull considerably more current. If you do not plan on using the system for tasks such as video encoding then you can safely ignore those kind of conditions and tune for the workload that's relevant for you

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    254

    But why realtemp show log in red when temp peak to 99C? Is this because 99C is thermal point TjMax? or 100C is Tjmax?

  4. #4
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,405

    Probably because 99 degrees is really really hot for a CPU

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    254

    Ok is any way to crank up fan speed of Noctua NH-D15 to improve temps? My mobo Asus Prime Z390-A


    Also my gpu fan speed during test is 100% i have Aorus with 3 fan coolers. Should i lower fan speed is this important or doesnt matter?

  6. #6
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,405

    As Silent Scone said...those are stress test conditions. If you are using AVX software regularly you will have to cut the OC back...offset for AVX or drop clocks. If not using AVX much...tune for what you do use.

    BIOS options for fans are pretty straight forward...you can choose a fan level for PWM fans at various temperatures...

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    254

    ok testing actaully and watching temps. Report later thx

    I lower voltage to 1.315 i report later Watching temps and if will be stable i am praying . I guess i find sweet spot. Temps are now 95C no more higher in Realb.

    Anyway its weird. When i use manual : 1.320v. Voltage in windows was 1.315v to 1.323v on load.
    When i use manual : 1.315v. Voltage in windows is 1.305v to 1.314v. Anyway ok i guess its normal.


    LLC level 6. is ok of course?
    Last edited by lpiotrowski211; 03-07-2019 at 05:04 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    64

    Quote Originally Posted by lpiotrowski211 View Post
    ok testing actaully and watching temps. Report later thx

    I lower voltage to 1.315 i report later Watching temps and if will be stable i am praying . I guess i find sweet spot. Temps are now 95C no more higher in Realb.

    Anyway its weird. When i use manual : 1.320v. Voltage in windows was 1.315v to 1.323v on load.
    When i use manual : 1.315v. Voltage in windows is 1.305v to 1.314v. Anyway ok i guess its normal.


    LLC level 6. is ok of course?
    This is correct. This is idle voltage right?
    I am assuming if you run realbench at these settings, your load voltage will be about 1.265v, am I right?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •