Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Asus maximus apex ix - no display and no power

    Hi folks,
    If you read my last post.. I recently got another eps connector for my motherboard because I believed my motherboard was not receiving enough power to power the cpu. I believed this because there is no display showing and I have tried troubleshooting everything. Anyways... I plugged the connector in and click the power button and nothing happens. Its like the power supply isn't even plugged in. The motherboards lights are on but the led screen is not because the pc can't even turn on at this point. Could this be because I am a cheapskate and chose such an awful psu for these higher end parts? I got the CORSAIR CX650M. If anyone could help me out before I go and purchase a new higher end psu tomorrow, it would be much appreciated.

    P.S. The pc did it start up once when I powered it for the first time and after I installed windows I shut it down for 3 days (unplugged the whole time) *and went to power it up again there was no display which leads me to the statement above.*

    Thanks!
    Matt*

    MOTHERBOARD - ASUS MAXIMUS IX APEX
    CPU - I7-7700k
    Ram - RIPJAWS DDR4 3200mhz
    PSU - CORSAIR CX650M

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array 1mluer PC Specs
    1mluer PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus IX Apex & Maximus XI Apex's
    ProcessorI7-7700k & I9-9900k
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident Z RGB 4266 & 3200 DC
    Graphics Card #1MSI Sea Hawk 1080 & ROG Matrix 2080 ti
    Sound Cardbuilt in for both
    MonitorSamsung 27inch & ASUS Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro & Samsung 970 Pro
    CPU CoolerRyuo 240 & Ryujin 360
    CaseInWin 909 Black & InWin 909 Silver
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000w Titanium & ROG Thor 1200p
    Keyboard Corsair K95 & ASUS ROG Claymore
    Mouse Logitech G902 & ASUS Gladius II Origin
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 & ASUS ROG Baltheus
    Headset/Speakers Bose Computer Set with Sub
    OS Windows 10 Pro all around
    Network RouterLinksys EA 9500
    Accessory #1 Corsair LL / Commander Pro & TT Riing Plus
    Accessory #2 Blue Microphone

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    320

    Usually a bad or missing cpu I have found in the past. I just replaced an apex ix.
    Inwin 909 Black RGB build
    i7-7700k
    ROG Maximus IX Apex
    1080 Sea Hawk
    Gskill Trident Z RGB 4266

    InWin 909 Silver RGB build
    i9-9900k
    ROG Maximus XI Apex
    ROG Matrix 2080 ti
    Gskill TridentZ RGB DC 3200 64g

    Everything overclocked and love it.
    ROG Awesomeness !!!!

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by 1mluer View Post
    Usually a bad or missing cpu I have found in the past. I just replaced an apex ix.
    To be honest I don't think its the cpu. Its 6 months old and has never been overclocked and would be weird just to give out randomly like that. Also there is no post beeping. Wouldn't a cpu give you signs of failing before it just randomly craps out after being used for 1 hour in a fresh build.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array 1mluer PC Specs
    1mluer PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus IX Apex & Maximus XI Apex's
    ProcessorI7-7700k & I9-9900k
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident Z RGB 4266 & 3200 DC
    Graphics Card #1MSI Sea Hawk 1080 & ROG Matrix 2080 ti
    Sound Cardbuilt in for both
    MonitorSamsung 27inch & ASUS Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro & Samsung 970 Pro
    CPU CoolerRyuo 240 & Ryujin 360
    CaseInWin 909 Black & InWin 909 Silver
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000w Titanium & ROG Thor 1200p
    Keyboard Corsair K95 & ASUS ROG Claymore
    Mouse Logitech G902 & ASUS Gladius II Origin
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 & ASUS ROG Baltheus
    Headset/Speakers Bose Computer Set with Sub
    OS Windows 10 Pro all around
    Network RouterLinksys EA 9500
    Accessory #1 Corsair LL / Commander Pro & TT Riing Plus
    Accessory #2 Blue Microphone

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    320

    No not really. If you pulled your cpu and tried to start up your system you get nothing at all. the board stays dark and nothing starts.. I hope it's not that because that would be worst case.
    Inwin 909 Black RGB build
    i7-7700k
    ROG Maximus IX Apex
    1080 Sea Hawk
    Gskill Trident Z RGB 4266

    InWin 909 Silver RGB build
    i9-9900k
    ROG Maximus XI Apex
    ROG Matrix 2080 ti
    Gskill TridentZ RGB DC 3200 64g

    Everything overclocked and love it.
    ROG Awesomeness !!!!

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array jab383 PC Specs
    jab383 PC Specs
    Motherboard24/7 rig : Maximus VI Extreme
    Processori7 4790K
    Memory (part number)16GB Mushkin Redline 2400 10-12-12-28 + 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2400 10-12-12-31
    Graphics Card #1AMD Firepro W5000
    Sound CardM6E Supreme FX
    MonitorDell U2413
    Storage #1Kingston SH103S3240G SSD
    Storage #2Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom water loop, Delidded, Liquid Metal TIM
    CaseCoolerMaster HAF XM
    Power SupplyCorsair HX-750
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech M705
    OS Windows 7 64 Pro
    jab383's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    107
    Posts
    848

    So, I understand that you are getting standby power that lights the buttons and a few other LEDs. That usually indicates that the PSU is at least trying - no blown fuse.

    The 2-digit POST display would read 00 for most CPU failures. When that display stays dark, power is not coming from the PSU, but it might not be the PSUs fault. Any short circuit could put the PSU into current limiting.

    The next step is to remove storage components, video card and RAM one thing at a time. If the malfunction clears up, the one thing you removed is the likely cause.

    Another test would be: With the PSU switched off, remove the CPU from its socket. Then switch on the PSU - the same LEDs as before should light up on standby power. Press the START button. A 00 POST code would correctly say that there is no CPU, but that's bad because the CPU was causing the problem.

    Is the motherboard in a case? If so, the next step would be to remove the motherboard from the case and set it on the black inner box of the ASUS packaging - that's a good anti-static device for out-of-the-case testing. Look for anything that got under the motherboard and caused a short. With the CPU in and all other components disconnedted from mobo and power, connect 24- and 8-pin PSU cables and try to power on. BIOS POST progress up to memory steps would show correct operation. Correct operation outside the case means you are still looking for short circuits in the case, mobo mount or other components. Reinstall the RAM, reconnect the storage, reinstall the VGA, and try to power on -- all one at a time. If the malfunction returns at any point, you can tell which component caused it if the installations are done one at a time.

    Swapping the PSU would be the next step. Since you're considering a new PSU ayway, this step might come earlier for you. If the malfunction continues with another PSU, its down to the CPU and/or motherboard. To tell which, you'd have to replace one or the other. The CPU might have failed to a short circuit which would overstress the motherboard VRM, so it might be both. I've had that happen on a M9A - the magic smoke got out of a VRM phase and the big brown scorch saved me the need to troubleshoot.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by jab383 View Post
    So, I understand that you are getting standby power that lights the buttons and a few other LEDs. That usually indicates that the PSU is at least trying - no blown fuse.

    The 2-digit POST display would read 00 for most CPU failures. When that display stays dark, power is not coming from the PSU, but it might not be the PSUs fault. Any short circuit could put the PSU into current limiting.

    The next step is to remove storage components, video card and RAM one thing at a time. If the malfunction clears up, the one thing you removed is the likely cause.

    Another test would be: With the PSU switched off, remove the CPU from its socket. Then switch on the PSU - the same LEDs as before should light up on standby power. Press the START button. A 00 POST code would correctly say that there is no CPU, but that's bad because the CPU was causing the problem.

    Is the motherboard in a case? If so, the next step would be to remove the motherboard from the case and set it on the black inner box of the ASUS packaging - that's a good anti-static device for out-of-the-case testing. Look for anything that got under the motherboard and caused a short. With the CPU in and all other components disconnedted from mobo and power, connect 24- and 8-pin PSU cables and try to power on. BIOS POST progress up to memory steps would show correct operation. Correct operation outside the case means you are still looking for short circuits in the case, mobo mount or other components. Reinstall the RAM, reconnect the storage, reinstall the VGA, and try to power on -- all one at a time. If the malfunction returns at any point, you can tell which component caused it if the installations are done one at a time.

    Swapping the PSU would be the next step. Since you're considering a new PSU ayway, this step might come earlier for you. If the malfunction continues with another PSU, its down to the CPU and/or motherboard. To tell which, you'd have to replace one or the other. The CPU might have failed to a short circuit which would overstress the motherboard VRM, so it might be both. I've had that happen on a M9A - the magic smoke got out of a VRM phase and the big brown scorch saved me the need to troubleshoot.
    Thank you for the advice. I watched a video on YouTube with the guy who had the same problem and it ended up being the motherboard. I took out all the components, Ram, hard drives, etc and still received the 00. What he said is that if the ram is not in there the motherboard should show the code for having no ram. If it doesn’t then it’s most likely the motherboard. I’m gonna order a new motherboard and I believe that should fix it. I’m also going to try removing the cpu and clicking the start like you stated. But thinking about that, it probably won’t show the led numbers because there is no cpu so the power button won’t work to see *

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array 1mluer PC Specs
    1mluer PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus IX Apex & Maximus XI Apex's
    ProcessorI7-7700k & I9-9900k
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident Z RGB 4266 & 3200 DC
    Graphics Card #1MSI Sea Hawk 1080 & ROG Matrix 2080 ti
    Sound Cardbuilt in for both
    MonitorSamsung 27inch & ASUS Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro & Samsung 970 Pro
    CPU CoolerRyuo 240 & Ryujin 360
    CaseInWin 909 Black & InWin 909 Silver
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000w Titanium & ROG Thor 1200p
    Keyboard Corsair K95 & ASUS ROG Claymore
    Mouse Logitech G902 & ASUS Gladius II Origin
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 & ASUS ROG Baltheus
    Headset/Speakers Bose Computer Set with Sub
    OS Windows 10 Pro all around
    Network RouterLinksys EA 9500
    Accessory #1 Corsair LL / Commander Pro & TT Riing Plus
    Accessory #2 Blue Microphone

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    320

    Quote Originally Posted by MattLob View Post
    Thank you for the advice. I watched a video on YouTube with the guy who had the same problem and it ended up being the motherboard. I took out all the components, Ram, hard drives, etc and still received the 00. What he said is that if the ram is not in there the motherboard should show the code for having no ram. If it doesn’t then it’s most likely the motherboard. I’m gonna order a new motherboard and I believe that should fix it. I’m also going to try removing the cpu and clicking the start like you stated. But thinking about that, it probably won’t show the led numbers because there is no cpu so the power button won’t work to see *
    Probably the CPU socket ? I did this to one of my older machines by accident. dropped a screw driver right on the CPU socket when I had the CPU out. . I spent hours trying to straighten it out and got everything you got in the way of symptoms. I replaced the MB and back up. When you didn't mention doing anything with the CPU it said to me bad CPU or in this case most likely CPU socket. Sounds like you got it..
    Inwin 909 Black RGB build
    i7-7700k
    ROG Maximus IX Apex
    1080 Sea Hawk
    Gskill Trident Z RGB 4266

    InWin 909 Silver RGB build
    i9-9900k
    ROG Maximus XI Apex
    ROG Matrix 2080 ti
    Gskill TridentZ RGB DC 3200 64g

    Everything overclocked and love it.
    ROG Awesomeness !!!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •