Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    97

    Displayport on Maximus XI Hero @i9-9900K

    Hi,

    I've connected my Acer 144Hz 1440p monitor via Displayport onboard connector - it is not working in POST/BIOS nor in Windows 10 (no signal). HDMI works like a charm (but tested on other monitor; my Acer has only DP input).
    When connected via DP on my GTX 1080 Ti, everything goes ok.

    Do you have such experience? What's can be wrong?
    Last edited by cniedzi; 03-08-2019 at 09:51 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array gamersnom PC Specs
    gamersnom PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus A451LN
    MotherboardROG MAXIMUS XI APEX
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Trident Z RGB 2x16 GB F4-3200C14D-32GTZR @3800 17-17-17-32 2T
    Graphics Card #1ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti OC
    MonitorROG SWIFT PG279Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200 M.2 NVMe
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 2TB 7200 RPM
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i RGB PLATINUM
    CaseCM MasterBox TD500
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850x
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB MK2
    Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
    Headset Logitech UE 6000
    Mouse Pad Sades Skadi XL
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G 633 Artemis Spectrum
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    gamersnom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    maybe you should try with another DP connector..
    Last edited by gamersnom; 03-08-2019 at 11:06 AM.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    I also have an Acer 144Hz gsync monitor with only Displayport input. Same exact problem as you. It was very annoying when I first built my PC as I couldn't get displayport output on either motherboard or GPU in order to do the initial Windows install. I had to connect to my TV with hdmi to get past initial windows install.

    If you change monitor refresh rate to 120 Hz or lower, I think you'll be able to use motherboard Displayport. Probably intel IGPU or drivers don't support 144 Hz.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    97

    Quote Originally Posted by Luck100 View Post
    I also have an Acer 144Hz gsync monitor with only Displayport input. Same exact problem as you. It was very annoying when I first built my PC as I couldn't get displayport output on either motherboard or GPU in order to do the initial Windows install. I had to connect to my TV with hdmi to get past initial windows install.

    If you change monitor refresh rate to 120 Hz or lower, I think you'll be able to use motherboard Displayport. Probably intel IGPU or drivers don't support 144 Hz.
    Fortunatelly connection over DP from my GTX 1080Ti does work in BIOS.
    Is it possible to change refresh to specific rate inside Acer 144Hz only?

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Enter windows using displayport with your 1080ti, change desktop resolution to 120 Hz or lower (maybe 60 Hz just to be safe). Then power off, swap displayport cable to your motherboard graphics, and try powering back up. I think the monitor remembers the last refresh rate it was using and tries to do that next time you boot.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •