Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 18 of 18
  1. #11
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by Phillyflyer View Post
    Try updating to latest bios and apply manual settings as suggested...u have nothing to lose at this point...
    Have u removed the chip from board to inspect socket for possible bent pins ?
    Updated the BIOS. I can boot if I set the timings, voltage as you said and the DRAM frequence to 3333MHz.
    I didn't check the pins as the system is running if I turned on AI overclock. Currently I am running without that.

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Phillyflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    536

    Quote Originally Posted by SirHanselot View Post
    Updated the BIOS. I can boot if I set the timings, voltage as you said and the DRAM frequence to 3333MHz.
    I didn't check the pins as the system is running if I turned on AI overclock. Currently I am running without that.
    Can you run memory at rated 3600mhz ?
    Asus ROG Maximus XI EXTREME
    Intel i7 9900K OC'D @ 5.2 GHZ @ 1.345V (1.296V LOAD) LLC 6 PRIME 95 STABLE 8 HRS
    XSPC RX360 Rad (6)Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850 RPM Fans In Push/Pull @ 1500 RPMS
    Swiftech Drive II / Swiftech MCP35X Pump
    Enermax Platimax 1200 Watt Power Supply
    32GB G.Skill F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR 3866 MHZ CL18 1.35V (OC 4266MHZ 17-18-18-41-2T @1.45V)
    MSI GTX 1070 SEA HAWK EK X SLI WITH ASUS HB RGB
    (5)Samsung 840 Pro 128 GB In Raid 0
    (2) WD 1TB Black Edition
    Corsair 900 D

  3. #13
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by Phillyflyer View Post
    Can you run memory at rated 3600mhz ?
    Nope, but the Mainboard suggested/found working 3333MHz. Should I increase the DRAM voltage a bit more?

    After all, the system seems stable (for about 3h now) without AI overclocking turned on.

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Phillyflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    536

    Quote Originally Posted by SirHanselot View Post
    Nope, but the Mainboard suggested/found working 3333MHz. Should I increase the DRAM voltage a bit more?

    After all, the system seems stable (for about 3h now) without AI overclocking turned on.
    Making progress !!...
    Increase the memory voltage to 1.375 v for the moment..set frequency to 3600mhz
    Asus ROG Maximus XI EXTREME
    Intel i7 9900K OC'D @ 5.2 GHZ @ 1.345V (1.296V LOAD) LLC 6 PRIME 95 STABLE 8 HRS
    XSPC RX360 Rad (6)Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850 RPM Fans In Push/Pull @ 1500 RPMS
    Swiftech Drive II / Swiftech MCP35X Pump
    Enermax Platimax 1200 Watt Power Supply
    32GB G.Skill F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR 3866 MHZ CL18 1.35V (OC 4266MHZ 17-18-18-41-2T @1.45V)
    MSI GTX 1070 SEA HAWK EK X SLI WITH ASUS HB RGB
    (5)Samsung 840 Pro 128 GB In Raid 0
    (2) WD 1TB Black Edition
    Corsair 900 D

  5. #15
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Might be one of your memory modules is faulty. If possible, try to double-check on some other board, or test a 2x8GB config. The XMP default of 1.35V really should be fine for the rated frequency.
    A quick suggestion:
    Set primary timings manually, 3600 17-18-38-2N for this kit I think, vdimm 1.35V, everything else memory-related set to Auto, VCCSA 1.20 VCCIO 3 notches lower, it should work. Else return the memory, it appears to be faulty.
    Edit: And ignore my comment about LLC. It has no influence on memory capabilities, just some random rant concerning CPU overclocking...
    Last edited by vvoid; 03-15-2019 at 08:07 PM.

  6. #16
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by vvoid View Post
    Might be one of your memory modules is faulty. If possible, try to double-check on some other board, or test a 2x8GB config. The XMP default of 1.35V really should be fine for the rated frequency.
    A quick suggestion:
    Set primary timings manually, 3600 17-18-38-2N for this kit I think, vdimm 1.35V, everything else memory-related set to Auto, VCCSA 1.20 VCCIO 3 notches lower, it should work. Else return the memory, it appears to be faulty.
    Edit: And ignore my comment about LLC. It has no influence on memory capabilities, just some random rant concerning CPU overclocking...
    Sorry for the absence. I waited for my new case before testing the single RAM modules. As the build was finished, I started with two modules and switched to 3600 MHz and it worked, than I added the other two again and it's still working .
    No need to answer that question, but do you have any idea why this is working now. No other things changed, except for an AIO.

    Either way, many thx for the help! You are awesome!

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Phillyflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    536

    Quote Originally Posted by SirHanselot View Post
    Sorry for the absence. I waited for my new case before testing the single RAM modules. As the build was finished, I started with two modules and switched to 3600 MHz and it worked, than I added the other two again and it's still working .
    No need to answer that question, but do you have any idea why this is working now. No other things changed, except for an AIO.

    Either way, many thx for the help! You are awesome!
    Sometimes just by booting with 1 stick in the board and rebooting will be part of a training process...the board sets the desired XMP settings...if you then populate the remaining slots...info is already retained and board should boot with set frequency/timings etc...really not uncommon...it does happen.
    Last edited by Phillyflyer; 03-22-2019 at 08:40 PM.
    Asus ROG Maximus XI EXTREME
    Intel i7 9900K OC'D @ 5.2 GHZ @ 1.345V (1.296V LOAD) LLC 6 PRIME 95 STABLE 8 HRS
    XSPC RX360 Rad (6)Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850 RPM Fans In Push/Pull @ 1500 RPMS
    Swiftech Drive II / Swiftech MCP35X Pump
    Enermax Platimax 1200 Watt Power Supply
    32GB G.Skill F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR 3866 MHZ CL18 1.35V (OC 4266MHZ 17-18-18-41-2T @1.45V)
    MSI GTX 1070 SEA HAWK EK X SLI WITH ASUS HB RGB
    (5)Samsung 840 Pro 128 GB In Raid 0
    (2) WD 1TB Black Edition
    Corsair 900 D

  8. #18
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    I highly recommend loading the new 0903 BIOS that dropped last night and see if that cures your woes. I had exactly the same issue on my Formula XI and the new BIOS fixed everything.

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...ix-Z390-Gaming

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •